PDA

View Full Version : A larger, heavier Zalman CPU HSF


911medic
11-10-04, 11:29 AM
Anybody seen this yet? The new CNPS7700-Cu (http://www.zalmanusa.com/usa/product/view.asp?idx=145&code=005009), with a 120mm fan (vs. the CNPS7000-Cu's 92mm fan). It weighs 918g (vs. the 7000's 773g)!!

ragejg
11-10-04, 11:35 AM
Its competitor from SilenX (a review of this with a 90nm 3000+ coming soon , an nVnews exclusive!! Stay tuned!!):

http://www.3dcool.com/Details.asp?cid=24&id=1075

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=8515

Dimensions: 140mm x 140mm x 60mm
Weight: 785g
Noise: 12~24dBA
Rated Voltage: 12v
Speed: 1000~2200RPM
Air Flow: 37.5~77.5CFM
Rated Current: <0.20Amp
Bearing Type: Hybrid Bearings

ragejg
11-10-04, 11:38 AM
differences: The SilenX is quite a bit lighter, and uses ruffled fins instead of flat ones...

911medic
11-10-04, 11:43 AM
Look forward to your review! Any chance of a comparo w/the Zalman?

ragejg
11-10-04, 11:45 AM
/yells for mikeC

:p

Riptide
11-10-04, 11:47 AM
I'd rather have more copper even if the 7700 is a behemoth.

911medic
11-10-04, 11:50 AM
I'd rather have more copper even if the 7700 is a behemoth.Motherboard: CRACK! >.< LOL

Riptide
11-10-04, 11:53 AM
Nah, it wouldn't crack. It'd be fine. Unless you go knocking your computer over or you move it around a lot (ie, a lan party machine) then I doubt you'd have to worry.

911medic
11-10-04, 12:08 PM
Yeah, I'm sure it'd be fine. I don't move mine much. Just picturing the MB bowing under the weight or hearing a sickening sound when I do move it. (I've got a 7000 on the way right now for my new A64 system.)

Riptide
11-10-04, 12:19 PM
I understand the concern and agree that you would best be very careful when you install this massive object in your computer. :)

Even my 7000 causes the motherboard to bow a bit. Another 200grams probably won't be the straw that broke the back so to speak but some additional care is definitley a must there.

Damn computers are so fragile... :D

911medic
11-10-04, 12:58 PM
How are your temps with that OC'd FX and the 7000? Just curious.

Riptide
11-10-04, 01:06 PM
Well if my temp reporting is to be believed it's 48c @ load and 28c @ idle. This is with a little extra voltage (1.6v vs. stock of 1.5v).

@ Stock voltages it gets down to 38-40c @ load and 22c @ idle. Which seems a bit low... Makes me think my actual temps are closer to 50-54c @ load and 34-35c @ idle right now.

Stupid temperature reporting... I wish they would get that to be a bit more accurate/standardized.

911medic
11-10-04, 01:10 PM
In my research of A64 boards, inaccurate temp reporting seems to be (by far) the most common problem. Thanks for satisfying my curiosity.

Riptide
11-10-04, 05:03 PM
As a matter of fact the only board I know of for skt939 that hasn't had some sort of temperature reporting issue from the get-go is the A8V. The Abit AV8, Gigabyte NF3, MSI NF3.. they all had temp issues.

911medic
11-11-04, 07:15 AM
Yeah, I'm getting S754, and every one I've looked at, the users are complaining of inaccurate temp reporting. Oh well, if that's the biggest problem they have, I'm not too worried.

Riptide
11-11-04, 06:22 PM
Yeah, I'm getting S754, and every one I've looked at, the users are complaining of inaccurate temp reporting. Oh well, if that's the biggest problem they have, I'm not too worried.
IMO they seem picky about memory, especially when overclocking. That's a bigger issue then the temperature reporting problems.

911medic
11-11-04, 10:04 PM
It certainly would be. Here's hoping my board and memory get along.