PDA

View Full Version : Gefo 6600gt Pixelview and sentinel nvidia alert


wild_henry
11-12-04, 04:18 AM
My configuration is:
Power Supply Thermaltake 480W
Intel 925XCV
P4 3,oGhz
512MB DDR2 Kingston 2x 256MB
2 WD Raptor 36GB in Raid
1 Lg DVDRW 4120b
Windows XP SP2
Driver 66.72

The NVIDIA Sentinel give me an alert message because i haven't connect the
supplementary power on board, the problem is:
Pixel view 6600GT 128MB has not a supplementary power supply!!!!!!!!
It is possible disable sentinel nvidia?
I have tested another driver but the problem persist

ChrisRay
11-12-04, 05:18 AM
Is there anyway you could post a picture of the card?

harl
11-12-04, 05:45 AM
http://www.prolink.com.tw/2003/english/products/vga/PCX/GeForce%20PCX%206600.htm

http://www.prolink.com.tw/image/products/vga/PCX/6600/geforce6600mix.jpg

I supoues it's on of this (the GT its on the top right corner)

I thougt 6600 PciE doesn`t have an extra conectero but this has one

psychogmv
11-12-04, 06:37 AM
If yours is the GT, I think that this little black thing is the power conector.

harl
11-12-04, 06:42 AM
http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/143/6/

see the last photos,
ther is the conector and the adaptor (if your PSSU does not have
the PciE power conector)

wild_henry
11-12-04, 11:28 AM
the link report a picture of 6800, is not for 6600gt.
The auxiliary power isn't on board

msxyz
11-12-04, 12:27 PM
http://www.prolink.com.tw/image/products/vga/PCX/6600/geforce6600mix.jpg

The GT portrayed here looks like it has an auxiliary power connector. It's that black thing in the top right corner.

harl
11-12-04, 04:29 PM
the link report a picture of 6800, is not for 6600gt.
The auxiliary power isn't on board

I konw that but as msxyz in the picture the pixelview 6600 GT
seems to have one like this (so I post that picture so you can confirm that)

I f you say there is any power conector to your card ...
you have seen card so you should known
(so whats tha black thing in the corner?),

http://www.gamestar.de/layout/java/leer_gamestar.html
http://www.gamestar.de//graphics/bild_db/11300/11359/PopUp_800x600.idg

wild_henry
11-13-04, 08:49 AM
in my card there is't a black attack for auxiliary power

Rytr
11-13-04, 10:06 AM
Tthe GT has a connector since it needs the extra power. The regular 6600 does not.


The GT has GDDR3 ram clocked at 500/1000 or 500/1200 (GPU/memory). The regular has GDDR1 SDRAM and is clocked at 300/550.

harl
11-13-04, 12:48 PM
http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/160/

not all 6600 GT have power conector, this one has not one...

subbo
11-13-04, 03:59 PM
I'm sure nvidia will support the connectorless GT's in their next foceware, in february :P

Rytr
11-13-04, 05:19 PM
http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/160/

not all 6600 GT have power conector, this one has not one...

Well, you are apparently correct and it is a departure from the reference design but for what reason I have no idea. Maybe someone has an answer.
Given the choice I would readily take the extra power but maybe the extra power is not needed for stability like the 6800GT and Ultra. If that is the case it would definitely make the SLi option of the GT look even better by not having to use up the extra power drops from the psu.

55illinois
11-13-04, 05:25 PM
I was under the impression that the 6600GT did NOT require aux. power at all. I'm surprised to see the pic of the card with one.

rohit
11-17-04, 02:44 AM
Well, you are apparently correct and it is a departure from the reference design but for what reason I have no idea. Maybe someone has an answer.
Given the choice I would readily take the extra power but maybe the extra power is not needed for stability like the 6800GT and Ultra. If that is the case it would definitely make the SLi option of the GT look even better by not having to use up the extra power drops from the psu.


http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/160/

Sumthins wierd, 1st of all, its titled, 6600GT with 256mb ddr3, but wen they review the card, theyve written 128mb ddr3

So if its a 256mb card, it shld b a 6600vanilla, without power connector.

but the pic. is opposite..pcb is printed with 6600GT,128mb but it still doesnt hav a molex connector, :rolleyes:

SUMTHINS FISHY!!!! (mag)