PDA

View Full Version : ~<<The 939 90nm OC Thread>>~


Pages : [1] 2 3

ragejg
11-13-04, 12:44 AM
Let's use this thread to report our progress with overclocking 90nm Socket 939 A64 cpu's...

Now, before you look at teh pic below, please note :p that this was one of my first tries, and I NOW KNOW :p:p that the vcore does not need to be set that high. :D:D Ok, on with the thread...

http://img49.exs.cx/img49/4184/systemresults93924ghz.jpg

I'll have more numbers soon... and I'll run some Prime95 and see how she does... I just can't believe my RAM is having no problems @ cas2.5, 217mhz... with 2t command rate enabled, I do believe.... How's my core voltage? I can't seem to get stability out of anything lower, but I'll keep trying... More on this from me later...

:D:D 1.8 - 2.4ghz is always fun :D:D

Riptide
11-13-04, 02:05 AM
If you can do 1T your bandwidth will be significantly improved.

1.8-2.4 sure is nice though init? :)

strk
11-13-04, 10:57 AM
That's a very nice overclock i'll be happy if i can get my 90 3500 to 2.4 next week.I bought the OCZ Rev2 memory and MSI mobo.

nVestor
11-13-04, 02:23 PM
Nice job! :D I'm looking at the same CPU myself. :thumbsup:

Sazar
11-13-04, 02:28 PM
nice rage :thumbsup:

rip... I don't think he is really hurting wrt bandwidth as it is... the stability trade-offs with 1t v/s higher are worth it for benching but I am not sure if it is a good idea for day to day use if the mem is incapable of handling it... or am I wrong?

:confused:

Bill The Cat
11-13-04, 02:32 PM
That's funny, my 3000+ goes to that exact speed too when I need it rock solid.

However, my voltage is 1.425 at that speed, for reference. Perhaps our chips just have different personalities.

I can also run my chip at 275 FSB if I don't prime95 stable-test.

1.8 - 2.4ghz is always fun
Bwahaha, isn't it?

Congrats on the overclock.

Riptide
11-13-04, 02:42 PM
rip... I don't think he is really hurting wrt bandwidth as it is...Hurting hell no... Consider this though. At stock PC3200 clocks w/2-2-2-1T timings he should be pulling close to 6000MB/sec which is significantly more than what he's getting now.

2T really does hurt bandwidth significantly.
the stability trade-offs with 1t v/s higher are worth it for benching but I am not sure if it is a good idea for day to day use if the mem is incapable of handling it... or am I wrong?
Well if the RAM won't handle it then it won't handle it... TBH though I'm really kind of surprised people seem to be having problems with 1T @ less than 220FSB/HTT.

1T should be just fine @ stock FSB/HTT speeds even in dual channel. Typically it's only older dual channel pairs that have problems with 1T @ stock speeds, like the old Corsair XMS 2-3-3-7 stuff.

Ninjaman09
11-13-04, 02:45 PM
Yes, my RAM clocked at DDR500 2.5-3-3 2T has less bandwidth than the same ram clocked at DDR400 2-2-2 1T, and it shows in games and benchmarks. That's the fickle A64 memory controller for ya ;)

Viral
11-14-04, 05:00 AM
Do whatever you can to get a 1T command rate... that should come before anything else.

mustrum
11-14-04, 07:18 AM
My 3000+ runs at either 2.6ghz 1.55vco0re or 2.7ghz 1.6vcore.
:nanahump:
Holy crap you run a damn high vcore. Do you want to kill that CPU?

http://people.freenet.de/mustrum/cpuid.JPG
http://people.freenet.de/mustrum/cpuz.JPG

Edit: Try setting a memory ratio. Almost any 3000+ winchester can do better than that. I am sure your ram is holding you back.

Ninjaman09
11-14-04, 10:35 AM
That's an awesome overclock, mustrum :D

What motherboard do you have? I've recently discovered that my motherboard is responsible for my lack of luck with overclocking.

ragejg
11-14-04, 11:19 AM
I get a 2T command rate "enabled/disabled" switch in my bios... I'll try that... and I'm gonna replace my PSU, as sandra's reporting some funky voltages... after I screw with that stuff a bit, I'll probably do a bit better...

Laterz... :p:p

911medic
11-14-04, 01:09 PM
:D:D 1.8 - 2.4ghz is always fun :D:D
Don't the 3000+'s come at 2.0GHz stock? I thought the 2800+'s were 1.8GHz. Either way, nice OC. I'm getting my socket 754 3000+ within the next two weeks. Hopefully I'll be able to do something similar...

ragejg
11-14-04, 01:13 PM
yeah, I noticed a big jump in bandwidth disabling 2t... I'm also gonna try switching my sticks to slot 3 and 4, maybe get some more stability (I've heard a couple K8NSNXP-939 users benifiting from doing this)...

I switched BIOSes back to the K8NS Ultra-939 f4, and tried other PSU's, and Sandra's still giving me really funky voltages... I hate how my bios only has a voltage "OK", and doesn't mention the actual voltages. :mad:

I'm screwin around with one stick of 512 right now, and I'm @ 275 HTT, mem @ 177, cas2.5, 2t off... I HAD to give the cpu 1.6vcore or Windows would not load correctly... hmm, maybe this is part of the 90nm burn-in process? :p:p

ragejg
11-14-04, 01:13 PM
Don't the 3000+'s come at 2.0GHz stock? I thought the 2800+'s were 1.8GHz. Either way, nice OC. I'm getting my socket 754 3000+ within the next two weeks. Hopefully I'll be able to do something similar...

90nm 3000+ cpu's come @ 9x200 stock.

ragejg
11-14-04, 01:17 PM
I must also mention that Firefox and IE are doing a great job of notifying me that my OC isn't working so well... :D:D Previous rigs that I've overclocked have acted fine until I actually broke out Prime95, Halo, UT2k4 or stuff like that... This time, if I'm not set right, firefox and IE will close on me within a minute or so... :)

CaptNKILL
11-14-04, 01:31 PM
So how exactly does one overclock one of these things? Are there any with unlocked multipliers? Because if I finally do get one im going to be really pissed if I cant overclock because of my ram.

Is there some way to OC these things without OCing the ram?

ragejg
11-14-04, 01:35 PM
Yup, there is, but it's different for dang near every mobo...

Spend some time here (www.amdforums.com), they're very helpful...

Also Riptide and Glowstick and many others here will help ya out if you have any questions.

:)

ragejg
11-14-04, 01:37 PM
Are there any with unlocked multipliers?

My 3000+ has multi's unlocked, 9 and below... I do believe the FX series has the higher multi's unlocked, for the 53R10U5 84571DZ :p:p

nVestor
11-14-04, 02:03 PM
I should be posting my results in a few weeks. :D Getting rid of my P4C800-E, P4C 2.8 and 1GB DDR400 for $350. Can't wait, it's been so long since I've been able to tinker with new toys... lol.

Keep posting the goods, keeps me motivated. :)

mustrum
11-14-04, 03:07 PM
That's an awesome overclock, mustrum :D

What motherboard do you have? I've recently discovered that my motherboard is responsible for my lack of luck with overclocking.
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum. It's THE OC motherboard for S939 right now.
Btw: Multi isn't important with A64'S . You can OC over the HTT as high as you want. If the RAM can't go high enough you set a ratio. Running async is no problem with AMD 64's. I'm running 290x9 right now. With more vcore i can do 300x9 stable but 1.6vcore is a bit much for my liking.

ragejg
11-14-04, 06:03 PM
1.6vcore is a bit much for my liking.

May I ask why? I certainly don't wanna dust my cpu, but maybe I'm not learned enough on the voltage situation with these. Wouldn't the new 90nm chips also probably have different voltage tolerances than the 130's?

mustrum
11-15-04, 03:53 AM
May I ask why? I certainly don't wanna dust my cpu, but maybe I'm not learned enough on the voltage situation with these. Wouldn't the new 90nm chips also probably have different voltage tolerances than the 130's?
Yeah 90nm's come with 0.1 less vcore on stock and people believe that it also has 0.1v less than a NC you should give it.
Most probably it can run pretty safe on up to 1.65 but i don't wanna be the one to test this out.
I still can go to 2.7ghz and 1.6v (wich is 1.63 under load!) later on if i want.
The voltage you give it is on the high side even for a NC.

ragejg
11-15-04, 11:56 AM
After getting feedback at various sites regarding the Winchester voltage situation, I've determined myself that up to 1.7vcore is ok IF good enough cooling is present. @ 1.7 presently, I'm sitting @ 2.4ghz, 265 HTT, mem @ cas2.5 2t OFF, and can loop SuperPi like crazy while running fft heavy prime95, and no probs.... I also switched my dimms over to 3 & 4 like I've seen a couple 8knsnxp owners do, and i do believe anyway that I'm being rewarded with more stable performance.

:)

oh, and 40 minits into Prime95, and after looping 1M's in superpi for the past 20 minutes, my cpu temp never budged past 44c. :D

mustrum
11-15-04, 03:03 PM
1.7? Then i'm stable at 2700mhz. :D
I'd never run at 1.7 vcore though. That's damn high for a Newcastle allreadey and the winnies don't like as much vcore as the NC's i read.
With vapo cooling maybe but with normal WC i wouldn't run 1.7.

Here my CPU at 2.7ghz: :D
http://people.freenet.de/mustrum/2700.JPG
Gamestable and Benchmarkstable. For Prime i need a bit more juice.
http://people.freenet.de/mustrum/gcpu27.JPG