PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3 Refresh Rate


Sox
11-13-04, 07:09 PM
This probably sounds dumb, but can anyone explain for me why I get different results in the Doom 3 timedemo when I use refresh rate override - using 61.77 so nothing to do with the bug in the 66xx series. Both runs at 1280 x 1024 High Quality

Vsync off
No refresh rate override (so at default 60hz)
79.8 FPS

Vsync off
Refresh rate override on (85hz)
65 FPS

Sox

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

P4C800 Deluxe
P4 3.4c
BFG 6800 Ultra OC (425/1100)
1Gb Corsair XL (2-2-2-5)
Audigy 2 ZS
Mitsubishi Diamond View 19"
Antec True Control 550

subbo
11-13-04, 07:26 PM
Yep its an old bug.. one of the few things nvidia hasnt got a clue about and EVERY CRT user is potentially suffering from.

Sox
11-13-04, 07:46 PM
If this is the case, can I ask - what settings are other CRT users using in Doom 3? Refresh override on or off?

Slammin
11-14-04, 08:06 PM
If this is the case, can I ask - what settings are other CRT users using in Doom 3? Refresh override on or off?

Definitely OFF

I hear though that if you enable triple buffering via Riva Tuner, the loss of fps doesn't happen. I need to try this sometime.

therapture
11-14-04, 08:28 PM
Yeah I had that issue too. That and stuttering in D3D games...but I fixed both problems at the same time. I got a different card...

Ninjaman09
11-14-04, 10:49 PM
Use RefreshForce (http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/). It sets the refresh rates permanently and doesn't interfere with games. I had the same problems with CS:S and Jedi Academy. Now my framerates are silky smooth :D

Sox
11-15-04, 03:00 AM
Ninjaman09 thanks! Refreshforce works a treat. Set a 85hz 1028 x 1024 and I get the same score in the Doom 3 timedemo as I did without the refresh rate override on in the Nvidia driver. Also - other games seem to have smoother, better framerates. Cheers!