PDA

View Full Version : Lockups - Ram? Drivers? BIOS?

shivexx
11-14-04, 02:36 PM
Hello all.

I am a bit of a tech newb so bear with me.

Here are my system's specs -

All stock speeds minus 6800 which is OCd out of the box by 20 mgz.
AMD 3500 (135 nm)
Asus A8V Deluxe
BFG 6800 GT
Seagate Barracuda 120
430 W Antec
Win XP Pro SP 2
RAM - see below

I have been having constant lockups. with seemingly no pattern (surfing and gaming). I also get BSODs while gaming with this NV4_DSP.dll error, not to be confused with the ever-more popular NV4_disp.dll error.

I have reseated RAM, video card. Installed a dozen drivers, using Driver Cleaner (most recent version) in safe mode between every change. Checked all cables. New mobo drivers (4 in 1). Memtest86 and MemDiag all report 0 errors. No overheating problelms per Everest. Ran 3d Mark2003 6 times no lockups. (11,500 score).

My RAM is 2 x 512 OCZ DDR 400 3200 EL DC K. I realized after I bought this RAM that it is not on ASUS's "tested RAM" list. However, this is pretty much top of the line RAM, so I did not think it would be an issue. Anyone have problems with this?

Also, I only have BIOS 1006. Would it help to upgrade? I would rather not mess with the BIOS as I have been told that there is a 15-20% chance of messing it up doing it your first time, and, well, this would be my first time. :)

Thank you very much for any advice!!!

Idoru
11-15-04, 03:51 AM
1. Tried downclocking GPU to stock speeds?

2. Could try flashing the GPU BIOS to a newer version - go here for a look: http://www.mvktech.net/

3. What revision is your mobo? I have a 1.02 (early) revision and have stuck with the 1003 BIOS - I understand from posts on other boards that the 1006 BIOS and above are better suited for the 2.0 rev boards. ASUS boards have built-in software to make BIOS flashing a little easier...