PDA

View Full Version : Doom III *real* demo. important question.


Pages : [1] 2

***CENSORED***
11-15-02, 07:04 PM
when will the real authorized Doom III demo come out :confused:

don't any of you have an idea? :(

thcdru2k
11-15-02, 07:16 PM
around the time doom 3 is actually released. either right before, right after, or months after.

StealthHawk
11-16-02, 02:46 AM
not for many months. i'm going to guess sometime around May for the demo.

Nutty
11-16-02, 07:30 AM
May?!
What crack you been smoking?

I read somewhere that the test demo will be released early 2003. Prolly mid feb at the latest.

marqmajere
11-16-02, 09:19 AM
Hey. Ease off Nutty. Stealthhawk said that he was GUESSING. So I guess that makes you the Doom 3 expert then, eh? Ok. How bout some info on the game then. I want all the details, Nutty.

Marqus

The Baron
11-16-02, 11:09 AM
Real demo will be out May or so.

Demos are always out after the final game is out.... :p

LORD-eX-Bu
11-16-02, 11:47 AM
Actually, I kinda think Nutty is right. I don't remember where, but it was a while back that stated Doom 3 test will be available late this year or early next. But then again, its me, I'm no [H] so I wouldn't know...hehehe.;) :D

***CENSORED***
11-16-02, 12:19 PM
I mean availible to the public.

Will test be avalible to public?

alex.burm
11-16-02, 03:38 PM
many ppl need decent hardware first before a demo comes out.

i mean how many of u get 1-2 fps when a monster attacks? lots i presume.

***CENSORED***
11-16-02, 03:43 PM
I get 20-40fps!

Just answer the above question.:mad: :( :(

pelly
11-16-02, 03:52 PM
A Beta test will likely not be released to everyone...Instead, it will be released to a specific number of selected "beta" testers. You can bet that a copy of this will also make it onto the net though....

As for alex.burm's quesiton...he made a point to say "when a monster attacks"....

Having used a 9700 Pro with an XP2400+ and 512MB of Corsair PC3200, I saw my frame-rate typically drop below 10fps when a monster entered the picture...especially as I raise resolutions...

I assume your 20-40fps refers to typical gameplay?

:confused:

***CENSORED***
11-16-02, 04:10 PM
yah. . . :(

alex.burm
11-16-02, 11:16 PM
the alpha demo is a sloppy first compile i bet...
lots of room for improvement.

and 16-bit mode should help too.

the doom3 engine will be extremely scalable.

skipparoo
11-16-02, 11:26 PM
It's not so much when a monster attacks but instead when you're in the middle of shooting an attacking monster that the frames start to dip. I can be moving backwards with the zombies hopelessly attacking me and see no drops, but when I start firing, especially with the shotgun it seems, that's when frames fall to the single digits. I assume this is due only to unoptimized gameplay issues though, and not an indication of what Doom's actual performance will be like when it's done.

-Skippy

The Baron
11-16-02, 11:45 PM
I assume this is due only to unoptimized gameplay issues though, and not an indication of what Doom's actual performance will be like when it's done.

that's the uncompressed sound files...

StealthHawk
11-17-02, 02:48 AM
Originally posted by alex.burm
the alpha demo is a sloppy first compile i bet...
lots of room for improvement.

and 16-bit mode should help too.

the doom3 engine will be extremely scalable.

ick, 16bit color :(

16bit definitely went out upon the introduction of the GF3. games just look terrible now in 16bit.

Nutty
11-17-02, 07:08 AM
Hey. Ease off Nutty. Stealthhawk said that he was GUESSING

Sorry, I didn't mean for it to sound like it did.. I should've prolly put a smiley on or something. :)

So I guess that makes you the Doom 3 expert then, eh? Ok. How bout some info on the game then. I want all the details, Nutty.

Sure, no problem. Ask away.

alex.burm
11-17-02, 11:52 AM
u sure its just the uncompressed WAVs that slow down so much??? any way to disable sound then?

nothing wrong wiht 16-bit. i mean colour depth, not textures, i agree 16 bit textures are horrible, but 16 bit depth at high enough res u cant even tell the difference, 16-bit is just 'dithering', most dont even notice dithering anyway.

The Baron
11-17-02, 12:33 PM
nothing wrong wiht 16-bit. i mean colour depth, not textures, i agree 16 bit textures are horrible, but 16 bit depth at high enough res u cant even tell the difference, 16-bit is just 'dithering', most dont even notice dithering anyway.

you're obviously not running in 16-bit then.

16-bit is why 3dfx failed. 32-bit REALLY DOES look THAT MUCH BETTER.

Yeah, it's dithering. Go look at explosions in 16-bit. They look like CRAP!

It's Doom 3. It's supposed to look better than everything else. No point going back to 1997 to accomplish that.

and what the hell does the res have to do with 16-bit? it's still 16-bit if it's in 320x240 or if it's in 2048x1536.

skipparoo
11-17-02, 01:19 PM
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
that's the uncompressed sound files...

Hmmm....well I've tried running with sound disabled before and the effect still seemed to occur. After a few level loads it seems to get better but that's normal anyways..

-Skippy

alex.burm
11-17-02, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
you're obviously not running in 16-bit then.

16-bit is why 3dfx failed. 32-bit REALLY DOES look THAT MUCH BETTER.

Yeah, it's dithering. Go look at explosions in 16-bit. They look like CRAP!

It's Doom 3. It's supposed to look better than everything else. No point going back to 1997 to accomplish that.

and what the hell does the res have to do with 16-bit? it's still 16-bit if it's in 320x240 or if it's in 2048x1536.
well doom3 should have an option to use 16bit, 16bit is still faster than 32bit, no matter which way u look at it.

The Baron
11-17-02, 08:26 PM
Originally posted by alex.burm
well doom3 should have an option to use 16bit, 16bit is still faster than 32bit, no matter which way u look at it.

no, it REALLY shouldn't have an option to.

Think about it. What do you think people would say about the next Matrix movie if it was intentionally shown at half the theaters in the country completely grainy and out of focus?

The same argument applies to D3.

thcdru2k
11-17-02, 08:28 PM
its gonna be there of course..every game has 16bit but i too would never both playing at 16bit. i would buy a new card before playing at 16bit.

StealthHawk
11-17-02, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by thcdru2k
its gonna be there of course..every game has 16bit but i too would never both playing at 16bit. i would buy a new card before playing at 16bit.
amen to that.

16bit just isn't practical anymore. unless you play at the highest resolutions with FSAA 16bit and 32bit are going to perform the same on newer cards.

alex.burm
11-18-02, 07:04 AM
well if it only had 32 bit colour support, maybe even 64-bit in future patches, and no option for 16-bit, then their wouldnt really be a problem since theres nothing to compare performace with.

if 32 bit is the way to go, then game developers shouldnt include an option for 16 bit, and just force 32 bit upon us just like everything else marketing people do.