PDA

View Full Version : Freezes every few minutes with Half Life 2


Mithan
11-17-04, 04:25 PM
I am getting these weird "freezes" where the sound kinda loops for a few seconds, then everything goes back to normal.

Does anybody have any idea whats up or how to fix it?

Thanks.

crainger
11-17-04, 05:55 PM
Well from what I hear, its either the autosave feature or the sounds being loaded for that section of the game. It seems to affect almost everyone and at the moment there is no fix, but Valve are working on it.

brady
11-17-04, 06:06 PM
grrrr...this freezing stuff is driving me mad. i get it in far cry and half life. basically every d3d game

Peacemaker
11-17-04, 06:28 PM
Hi !
I was got the same problem last night, but today i change my AGP Aperture Size from 256 to 128 (i'm still thinking to drop it to 64 :) ), and there is no problem anymore (or maybe there is no so frustraiting, becouse is not so much of this freezes), try to manage Yours AGP AS.

greetings :)

(Leadtek A400 GT)

btw... HL2 is sooo beautyfull !!!

myshkinbob
11-17-04, 08:16 PM
Adding -heapsize 256000 to the hl2 launch options in steam fixed this issue for me.

steved_np3
11-18-04, 05:29 AM
I get the same freezing problem in Doom 3 and Far Cry

My AGP size is 128mb and I have Vsync off and it still does it

Driving me nuts !!!

AMD 3400+
Gainward 6800GT
1GB DDR400

Faster
11-18-04, 08:35 AM
Yep after all this my friends overclocked 9800pro and 3Ghz P4 runs HL2 same if not better then my BFG 6800GT overclocked to Ultra. ....dam.

red_star
11-18-04, 12:47 PM
With 512MB of Ram...dude don't expect anything

The game here is running really smooth :) No jerkiness at all...