PDA

View Full Version : No AA in BloodRayne 2

BENCHMARKMAN
11-17-04, 08:57 PM
I just started playing BloodRayne 2 demo and there are jaggies everywhere. Does AA not work in this game?

mike20599
08-30-05, 01:48 AM
I have the game and still jaggies all over the place. :(

agentkay
08-30-05, 08:44 AM
I just started playing BloodRayne 2 demo and there are jaggies everywhere. Does AA not work in this game?

Yup, the same problem here, with a 6800nu and the 77.77 drivers. I´m not exactly sure why, but I assume its because Bloodrayne 2 has a bloom effect and maybe it uses the OpenEXR technology on the 6x00 cards that doesn´t support AA. Can anyone with a non-6x00 card try to activate/force AA?

Deus EX 2 also used a bloom effect that when activated, disabled any AA (on my 6800nu) and NFSU2 also has a bloom/HDR effect that disables the AA setting.

Shouldn´t the new 7800 cards be able to use SS (Supersampling) with hardware HDR or bloom effects? I read somewhere, I think the (H) GTX review that they were able to activate SS with HDR in SCCT.

|MaguS|
08-30-05, 08:46 AM
Make sure that your setting it in the driver default and not a profile. Seems like profiles are broken...

Downloading the demo now to test it out...

TierMann
08-30-05, 02:26 PM
It's a port from console, right? Probably doesn't support AA at all.
I noticed that too when playing the demo. It's played the same from 67.66 32-bit until this current 77.79 64-bit set.

Some more info..

The only way to run AA with BR2 atm, is to force super sampling AA. Multi sampling wont work cause game uses render targets & the control panel only forces AA for the frame buffer, not for the targets.

The only way to add AA to this game is with a patch.

I hope they add FSAA & 3D sound fix in the patch.

http://majescoentertainment.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2314&highlight=antialiasing

I'll check that out a little later with different modes in nhancer.

Update: