PDA

View Full Version : On The 333 Boards Does Anyone Run At 166fsb


john19055
07-28-02, 07:57 AM
I was just wondering how many people with say the A7V333 run there processor at 166/166 instead of 133/166 and do you get a big increase running it that way.I was thinking of unlocking my XP1900 and running it at 10*166 so it would be running the same as my memory.and would it run hotter that way.

demonized
07-28-02, 10:14 AM
I wanted to do the same thing with my MSI KT7 ultra.
i have a 1.2 athlon thunderbird and tried 7.5x166 but it didnt work. my system crashed. im not sure though if it would work on an athlon xp.. I've seen people having their fsb at 166 and more at madonion.com. but i dont know how they do it.

SavagePaladin
07-28-02, 01:01 PM
I'd guess its rather simple....water cooling :p

fasedww
07-28-02, 01:25 PM
Some people can but the new chip on most 333 capable boards ain't the better one so most are unstable at that high of buss;)

SsP45
07-28-02, 09:07 PM
On my KT3 ULTRA (KT333) I run at 167/167. I run this 24/7 rock stable.

demonized
07-28-02, 10:16 PM
r u using athlon xp?

NeoGeo
07-29-02, 05:26 AM
well using a 333 chipset such as the KT333 does allow you to run at 166/166 with no problems, as the chipset was designed in this way. So providing you have 333 memory, the only problem lies in the processor.

If i was to upgrade my memory to PC2700 I would definitely try for the 166 outta my XP1800, and im sure with good cooling it would be acheiveable. I mean my old Duron could be pushed upto 145 fsb and thats with a KT133 :)

demonized
07-29-02, 06:03 AM
If i go for a 7.5x166 multiplier setting for my 1.2 athlon will this increase my pci,hd,agp bus frequency?

NeoGeo
07-29-02, 09:28 AM
it will increase your PCI frequency which may cause some devices to react poorly to the overclock, however, the newer 333 boards have a split, in order to choose how much bandwidth goes to each part of the system.

166 on a 133 based board is gonna be rather tricky. Your chipset and CPU are not designed for this speed! I would aim more like 140 - 150 FSB on that board, and thats with good ram to keep up!

john19055
07-29-02, 11:33 AM
I have The Asus A7V333 witch when you set it at 166 the PCI and AGP run at there normal speed 33pci 66 agp,and I have 333DDR ram I just need to unlock my processor,I was just wondering how many people here with a KT333 chipset have done this and is it stable.

demonized
07-29-02, 05:13 PM
How did you make it ur PCI and AGP run at normal bus speeds.
Is this possible with my MSI K7T ultra..

john19055
07-30-02, 04:11 AM
On the A7V333 Asus board when setting the bios for overclocking when you hit 166fsb the pci goes back to 33 and agp goes to 66 this is part of the new KT333 chipsets witch allows you to run it that way.

SnakeEyes
07-30-02, 08:48 AM
I'm running 161/161 with my KT3Ultra-ARU and an XP2100+ (unlocked, 11.5 multiplier). The limitation in my system appears to be the processor, though I actually managed to get as high as 179/179. Problem with that was that the system was actually slower overall than the current 164/164, since I had to lower memory timings (CAS2.5, 5, 3, etc. vs. CAS 2 , 4, 2, etc.). From my tests, running a lower FSB but being able to turn those memory settings down (lower numbers, faster response) makes a bigger improvement. Also, for some strange reason, even if I lower the multiplier to the point that the processor is underclocked with the higher fsb setting, the system gets unstable. The RAM itself handles 166 and aggressive memory timings fine (as proven by using the default asyncronous 133/166 with aggressive timings just fine- indicating that it's the increase on the processor's side that causes the issues).

Ironically enough, the processor has just once completed a 3DMark2k1SE run at 1904Mhz, for my highest result ever (the GF4 4600 was unoverclocked), but the system hung not long after recording the results at Madonion's site. I was planning to play with overclocking the card until that happened (trying to break the 12k barrier, lol. Oh well, I'm content with 11-11.5k).

randsom
07-30-02, 09:25 AM
check out my sig

at this point my ram is the limiting factor
my 3dmark score is 125xx(i think it should be alittle higher)
my sandra scores 2998/2765
the box is completly stable,@2262 1t fast cpu decode, max voltages, time to v-mod i think

NeoGeo
07-30-02, 09:35 AM
13500 christ thats high!! and u want more?? what for?! :confused:

randsom
07-30-02, 09:59 AM
its 125xx actually, that was a type-o
im gonna skip the t-bred, unless the get a awesome new stepping thatll do 2.2-.3

NeoGeo
07-30-02, 10:29 AM
yeah id skip the t-bred.. although its got a smaller die, it gets hotter than the palomino due to the lack of heat disippation!! no heat speader :(

randsom
07-30-02, 10:40 AM
my next system will be a hammer, or maybe a p4(highly unlikly but possible). i had originally had high hopes for the t-bred, but amd didnt really do much with it, and i was way disappointed with the oc abilities of the first stepping,they obviously had or have problems w/.13um process
that and abit kinda dropped the ballw/t-bred support,unless you unlock, the 1.0 kx7 wont support the t-bred unles you send it to abit for a mod. im not really keen on sending in a good oc board for a new one.

NeoGeo
07-30-02, 10:44 AM
really :O? surely a BIOS update will change this???? Abit only have one type of KX7-333 / R bios on their site.. and the newer one i have allows support for the t-bred.

SnakeEyes
07-30-02, 11:36 AM
Nice overclock. I haven't managed to get my setup stable over around 179MHz fsb, but I don't think it's the RAM, since I actually had asynchronous timings with the fsb at 166 (+33 = 199 for memory). But for some reason performance at those settings was actually quite a bit lower than with the current synchronous 161 for me. I know that the automatic PCI/AGP divider kicks in at some point (1/5). This resulted in an initial drop in performance in my rig too as I bumped up fsb +1 at a time. Oh well. 12500 is nice, and I had an 11900+ run complete before the system became to unstable (and had to reset the bios to boot after that).

If I attempted the voltage mod on the KT3Ultra's bios (involves a variable resistor, if I recall right), so that I could get 1.9 - 2.0v for the processor, I could probably hit 2GHz on this 2100+. I actually have a score for 1904MHz in the MadOnion database, which is currently my highest, at 11800+, and I managed to boot into WinXP Pro 1 time only at 2000+MHz, though my astonishment lasted only as long as it took XP to freeze entering 3DMark2k1SE (I had forgotten to decrease my multiplier by .5 as I increased the fsb another notch, resulting in the higher total MHz).

Oh well. 1845 (1846, depending on the boot, as the clock gen varies a tad) is okay, considering it's over 2200+ speeds. :D

randsom
07-30-02, 12:02 PM
nope the kx7 needs a mod from abit to support the locked t-bred
heres a link to read up on it

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=139387

snakeeyes if you do the v-mod could post the results, and tell us how hard it was and your results

NeoGeo
07-30-02, 12:14 PM
thats gay! :(

ive only just bought this board! like a week or two ago!! i was thinkin bout buyin a 2200 at the time instead of the 1800 i was gonna go the full hog.... oh well :mad:

randsom
07-30-02, 08:39 PM
you can still use the t-bred you just have to unlock it, about 95%
of people that have this board unlock theyre cpus, to take advantage of the oc capability of this awesome motherboard