PDA

View Full Version : Antec True 430 not enough for a A64/6800 GT?


circuitbreaker8
11-18-04, 10:31 PM
Hey guys, i'm having some problems OCing my 6800 GT with my A64 system. Before I had this system, this card would do 400/1100 with no problems on my Intel P4C 2.6 @ 3.3 / Abit AI7 i865pe / 1GB (4x256 ) PC4000 @ 500. I got some cash and decided to ditch intel and go AMD ( again! ) So I ordered an A64 3400 CH/ DFI LP UT NF3 250Gb / 1GB ( 2x512 ) OCZ EL r2 3200. I'm using the same Antec True 430 PSU ( had it for a year and 2 months ) Now, this PSU was great, but according to my mb BIOS, the 12v is only getting 11.83 and the 5v is getting 4.8 or something. I'll have to recheck. Do you guys think this is the reason why I cant OC my GT anymore? I heard you need atleast 30a on the 12v rail, and this one only has 20a. What do you guys think?

Daneel Olivaw
11-18-04, 10:42 PM
All I can say is I think the 12V rail is fine since an Athlon typically uses a bit less than a 100W P4... as for the rest I'm not sure.

Maybe (very maybe) the heat is different in your case (though a A64 is usually a bit cooler than a P4) or maybe the voltage for the AGP slot is a bit lower on that mobo.

What clockspeeds do you achieve now on the card? (I also have a Truepower 430, but my system may be a little less power hungry (for sure))

Rytr
11-18-04, 11:13 PM
The 430W TruePower's have been good units for me in the past. I have run the 6800GT with one and never experienced any problems and the +12V rail was not as good as yours under load.
I now use a 480W with the same board and processor as yours and I think my +12V rail is only 0.1V higher so the psu should not be the problem.
First I heard of the +12V needing 30A. I have never needed that much nor people with Ultras that I know. 18A is getting close to minimum depending on your system requirements, course it does not hurt any to have more.

circuitbreaker8
11-18-04, 11:22 PM
I cant overclock this card at all without some game crashing anymore. No artifacts, just crashes. The AGP voltage is at 1.5v also, FW is turned off, and AGP freq is at 67

Rytr
11-18-04, 11:34 PM
Does sound like a power problem. Guess you use a dedicated drop from the psu for the GT. If not, might give that a try plus check your connection real good.
I ran mine at 410/1.1 for a couple of months then backed off to default timings as the games ran just as good.

circuitbreaker8
11-19-04, 04:42 PM
I think i'm gonna just go for it and get an OCZ 520 and a NV5, cant be to carefull.

qballshalls2002
11-19-04, 08:56 PM
What do you guys think?

I got a Barton 3200+, oc'ed 768 ddr ram, BFG 6800gt OC, 2 cdrom drives, 2 hard drives, 7+ fans and more with my Truepower 430watt unit and never had any trouble pushing the 6800gt at 420/1.1ghz.

If you are still having trouble oc'ing I would probadly check out getting a better psu with more watts.

john19055
11-20-04, 06:17 AM
The Antec 430w truepower was'nt enough power for me ,I kept getting reboots and my games droping to windows.IT ran my other system fine but when I got this 6800ultra and my A64 3400+ I had to get a OCZ PowerStream and it rock solid now.

circuitbreaker8
11-20-04, 10:31 PM
The Antec 430w truepower was'nt enough power for me ,I kept getting reboots and my games droping to windows.IT ran my other system fine but when I got this 6800ultra and my A64 3400+ I had to get a OCZ PowerStream and it rock solid now.

Sounds exactly like my problems...and you have about the same comp as me. Aw well, I'm gonna bite the bullet and get the OCZ 520 :D

Cyrris
11-20-04, 10:54 PM
Well crap. Here I was looking at the True430 for my next PSU upgrade. Looks like I'll have to shell out some extra and get a bigger one if I want it to last.

Bill The Cat
11-21-04, 02:21 AM
I don't know what the problem is, but my God, man, 30 A on the 12 V rail is far too much power for any computer.

I run my 6800GT @ 400/1100 with an A64 3000+ @ 2.4 all on a 240W 14 A PSU. With two hard drives and a DVD-RW.

I honestly don't see why people buy such high-rated power supplies. In my opion buy a quality (Key word quality) small-wattage power supply, and save some money.

circuitbreaker8
11-21-04, 11:07 AM
I have no idea how you can run those 100% stable on a 240w PSU, but mine is crapping out with a 430. My +12v is @ 11.4...

ricercar
11-21-04, 11:15 AM
Look at his rig. Shuttle SFF power supplies are optimized for SFFs. (See sudhian.com forums for recent discussion). You can't run an ATX desktop motherboard rig on a 240W PSU, but 240 can get by with a SFF.

However, for any graphics cards with a power connector, I run a larger PSU even for a SFF. The 350 watt minimum PSU recommended by ATI and NVIDIA is not arbitrary. My 5800 Ultra/SN41G2 SFF testing showed a 15% improvement in 3DMarks at each upgrade increment from 200 > 250 > 300 > 350 > 430 watts. There was about a 3% increase from 430 > 510 watts.

circuitbreaker8
11-21-04, 01:11 PM
Interesting....

ricercar
11-21-04, 02:55 PM
Yeah, I was fascinated (hence the detailed experiement). The Shuttle's Achme brand PSU would not power the 5800U in 3D above 800x600. Whenever I tried 1024x768, I'd get a bluescreen blaming an nvidia dll.

This went away with a 200 > 250 watt psu upgrade. 800x600 benchmarks also improved with this 200 > 250 watt upgrade, so I tested each PSU i had on hand. Most of the PSUs were the same brand (Antec TruePower), so I feel the results are validly and applicable across the wattage ranges.

The absolute best benchmark I had with that rig was with a 330W Antec powering the SFF (mb, cpu, hd, optical, fans, etc) and a 250W Forton powering only the video card.

Despite having a greater respect for the power draw of video cards with molex connectors, I have a hard time believing the thread title though. An Antec 430 should be plenty to power that system. Most "experts" seem to claim that a 12V line is OK as low as 11.80 and the 5V is OK to 4.80.

However, I do agree that a 30A rail is going to do more for overclocking than a 20A rail. Perhaps a 430 > 550W PSU would give more than 3% increase to the thread starter's rig.

circuitbreaker8
11-21-04, 04:30 PM
Yeah, I was fascinated (hence the detailed experiement). The Shuttle's Achme brand PSU would not power the 5800U in 3D above 800x600. Whenever I tried 1024x768, I'd get a bluescreen blaming an nvidia dll.

This went away with a 200 > 250 watt psu upgrade. 800x600 benchmarks also improved with this 200 > 250 watt upgrade, so I tested each PSU i had on hand. Most of the PSUs were the same brand (Antec TruePower), so I feel the results are validly and applicable across the wattage ranges.

The absolute best benchmark I had with that rig was with a 330W Antec powering the SFF (mb, cpu, hd, optical, fans, etc) and a 250W Forton powering only the video card.

Despite having a greater respect for the power draw of video cards with molex connectors, I have a hard time believing the thread title though. An Antec 430 should be plenty to power that system. Most "experts" seem to claim that a 12V line is OK as low as 11.80 and the 5V is OK to 4.80.

However, I do agree that a 30A rail is going to do more for overclocking than a 20A rail. Perhaps a 430 > 550W PSU would give more than 3% increase to the thread starter's rig.

Well yeah, everything is fine when the computer is stock, but OCing is another story. How is the Ultra X-connect? Its quiet a bit cheaper than the OCZ and has a little more amps on the 12v line.

Bill The Cat
11-22-04, 12:44 AM
Look at his rig. Shuttle SFF power supplies are optimized for SFFs. (See sudhian.com forums for recent discussion).

You have a link? Don't see it on SFFtech (Which I assume you're talking about, rather than Sudhian). I don't see how you can "optimize" a power supply, as an amp is an amp and a watt is a watt, but I'm no electrical engineer. I'd be interested to read more about it.

john19055
11-22-04, 12:46 AM
The OCZ is worth the extra money IMO ,The 470watt has the same power rating as the 520w on the 12v rail 33amps.the 520w has more amps on the 5v rail 40amps compared to the 34amps on the 470w.all the rest is the same.
Well it seems that the 470w is not going to be made no more They have a 600watt but it has two 12v lines one has20amps and the other has 18amps.Now they have the 420w and 520 watt and now a 600watt.I guess the 470watt and 520watt was to close of being the same.