PDA

View Full Version : how much power for 2x6800gt's?


grimreefer
11-20-04, 02:45 PM
is it gonna take a monstrous amount of power?
or will normal psu's be able to handle it?
i have a raidmax 500w with 25a on the 12v
can i use it for sli?

anzak
11-20-04, 03:12 PM
is it gonna take a monstrous amount of power?
or will normal psu's be able to handle it?
i have a raidmax 500w with 25a on the 12v
can i use it for sli?

Depends on the CPU. For the new 90mn Athlon 64 im sure that would be fine.

grimreefer
11-20-04, 03:29 PM
uh oh i plan on getting a prescott......(sli was announced for intel yesterday)
i have one hardrive though, so it might run

JoKeRr
11-20-04, 03:39 PM
12V like is kinda weak.

u've got total of 25A on 12V, each GT needs like 4 to 5 amps, who know how many a prescott needs. Guess it should be ok as long as u don't OC.

Templar
11-21-04, 02:35 AM
www.pcpowerandcooling.com !!! MADE IN THE USA 34Amps sustained on the 12+ and 38Amps peak. Best PSU in the world and you can actually call the company, best service you can possible get!

Simon

mustrum
11-21-04, 02:43 AM
Depends on the CPU. For the new 90mn Athlon 64 im sure that would be fine.
Close call i'd say. As soon you OC that A 64 it will go down!
The .90 A64 uses less power than other A 64's but with higher vcore and the insane clocks theiy reach they are in the league of the P4 Prescott.
I'm running a 0.90 A 64 at 2.6ghz and a 6800 ULTRA and i am sure my PSU wouldn't be able to handle another card. I've got a 550w PSU with 24A on the 12v Rail.

Edit: People report that the antec 420w (the one with 20A on 12v) are going down badly wen you OC a .90 A64 and that's without a 6800 in the system allready!

Templar
11-21-04, 03:24 AM
You guyz talk as you can trust the rating. The fact of the matter is that most of the time you can't, the PSU won't ever be delivering those Amps unless it's the year of the rat and the stars are aligned correctly.

Simon

mustrum
11-21-04, 05:11 AM
You guyz talk as you can trust the rating. The fact of the matter is that most of the time you can't, the PSU won't ever be delivering those Amps unless it's the year of the rat and the stars are aligned correctly.

Simon
Wehehe yeah that counts in too of course. :D

khellandros66
11-21-04, 09:21 PM
Get yorself the new OCZ 620w it has Dual 12v+ rails at 18A and 18A IIRC or the new Zippy 700w PSU's (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-103-713&depa=0) as well this will garuantee an OC and stability. Plus if I was droping $800+ for video cards and $250-800 on CPU for use as SLI I would get the best possible.

~Bob

Warden13
11-21-04, 09:55 PM
Get yorself the new OCZ 620w it has Dual 12v+ rails at 18A and 18A IIRC or the new Zippy 700w PSU's (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-103-713&depa=0) as well this will garuantee an OC and stability. Plus if I was droping $800+ for video cards and $250-800 on CPU for use as SLI I would get the best possible.

~Bob

Lotta people having major issues with the OCZ 620. OCZ claims a shipment was dropped and that further shipments should be fine but personally. I'd wait on it. The OCZ 520, the new Zippy's and PC Power are all great. I also strongly suggest a Fortron 550 Waat... best PSU for the money by far.

Warden

Templar
11-22-04, 09:52 AM
The OCZ doesn't even have a PFC, there's no way I could recomend it to any one. That's like claiming a car is a sports car and it doesn't even have fuel injection. Totally unacceptable today.

Simon