PDA

View Full Version : Possible 6800GT STOCK Underperformance?? Help!


JohnPhys
12-01-04, 07:06 PM
I just bought a completely new system, and my performance in DOOM3 and Far Cry seems to be below what it should be!

System

Abit AV8 Max3 - Newest bios (ends in 16)
One stick of 512 MB Corsair RAM (CMX-3200PT)
Athlon 64 3200+ 939 pin 90 nm (runs at 2.04 GHz)

Gigabyte 6800GT 256 Mb
mobo AGP aperture set to 128MB

My system is NOT overclocked in any way, shape, or form.

I'm only getting about 60 fps in DOOM3 on the "high" settings (1024x768) with most options turned on (no AA).

My monitor has a max res of 1280x1024, which is what I run it at. Refresh is 60 Hz.

Is my monitor the bottleneck? is it the fact that I dont' have another stick of ram to take advantage of the dual channel?

I've seen websites give benchmarks of this card on slower systems, but with more ram, and they seem to beat my fps by about 20-30 depending on the settings.

Is there an obvious bottleneck I'm missing?

Fresh install of WinXP SP2 with newest nvidia drivers, also. Doom3 and Far Cry also patched to latest versions.

Thanks!

--John

JohnPhys
12-02-04, 12:05 AM
Or is this how it is supposed to perform? It seems that on comparable systems (usually less powerful, aside from the RAM), fps of 90 can be achieved in doom3.

Are my numbers accurate? Is there a performance bottleneck somewhere?

I'd appreciate ANY ideas on this one.

--John

JohnPhys
12-02-04, 12:33 AM
Seriously, I'll even take a "that's what it's supposed to run at, ****head".

Throw me a bone here.....

--John

Caleb187
12-02-04, 12:43 AM
Well, I believe Doom3 has a cap of 60 fps. It is possible to remove it, might want to check on that. Plus your monitor refresh rate is 60Hz, so you shouldn't be able to see more frames than 60 fps anyways. Try removing the 60 fps cap on Doom3 and upping your Hz by changing the res or using Reforce and see if that works.

JohnPhys
12-02-04, 12:47 AM
hmm, ok. thx for the info.

I turned the AA up to 8x and my framerate took a dive down to 30-40fps.

Normal??

Caleb187
12-02-04, 12:52 AM
Not sure if it's normal, though I do know that after 4xAA the performance really starts to take a hit, which is why many people choose to stick with 4x. It usually gives the best quality to performance ratio in most cases. Also, make sure your vertical sync isn't on, that can limit or even cut your frames in half if not set properly.

JohnPhys
12-02-04, 12:57 AM
alrighty, thanks.

Not that I'll have a chance to play anytime soon......2 weeks of hell until finals... :P

Thanks again for the info though.