PDA

View Full Version : So anyone got their SLI running yet?


Pages : [1] 2

BladeRunner
12-02-04, 07:10 PM
I guess it's still to early, but I thought someone with the right contacts might... (xmastong)

I'm waiting on the mobo, estimated for the 6th (but I wont hold my breath)

wanted a pair of ultras but as they are rarer that nuns with knackers, I settled for consecutive Leadtek GT's.

Soon as I get the board i can start to design of a way to watercool it all... fun :bounce:

http://www.zfz.com/pictures/temp/leadteksli_001.jpghttp://www.zfz.com/pictures/temp/leadteksli_002.jpg

Xplode
12-02-04, 07:32 PM
nice!!

retsam
12-02-04, 07:35 PM
basterd ..... (mikec) (xmastong)

FD76
12-02-04, 09:07 PM
where did you get.. ??

Xplode
12-02-04, 09:54 PM
where did you get.. ??

better yet...how much did you pay for it?

oh and isnt the fan a little too big...there isnt a much of a gap between the cards...

superklye
12-02-04, 10:07 PM
better yet...how much did you pay for it?

oh and isnt the fan a little too big...there isnt a much of a gap between the cards...
yeah, those fan's seem HUGE

-=DVS=-
12-02-04, 11:06 PM
Those GTs got two slot cooling !

jAkUp
12-03-04, 12:22 AM
Nice :) What kinda CPU are you pairing that with?

SH64
12-03-04, 12:23 AM
Man i hate you :cry:

heh anyone noticed a similarty between HL2 & SLI launches ?? you get both but you cant use 'em right away :D

GlowStick
12-03-04, 12:59 AM
Sweet!

I cant wait to take a dive into SLi my self :D
(xmassign2

einstein_314
12-03-04, 01:16 AM
better yet...how much did you pay for it?

oh and isnt the fan a little too big...there isnt a much of a gap between the cards...

If he's getting the Asus board, there is plenty of room. Asus put 2 1x PCI-x slots between the 2 vid card ones.

Subtestube
12-03-04, 01:49 AM
oh and isnt the fan a little too big...there isnt a much of a gap between the cards...

Wouldn't have thought so... all SLI mobos will have been put together with the possibility of 2 Ultras in mind, so all should fit dual slot cooling with ease. I'd be more worried about the heat dissipation from the top one.

Xplode
12-03-04, 01:56 AM
Wouldn't have thought so... all SLI mobos will have been put together with the possibility of 2 Ultras in mind, so all should fit dual slot cooling with ease. I'd be more worried about the heat dissipation from the top one.

ye that was another thing...bottom card fan will be really close to the top one my guess is....I guess you can put fans somehow on top of them ...

Dazz
12-03-04, 02:29 AM
Thats why i am getting the ASUS board as there is more room between the two cards :)

BladeRunner
12-03-04, 03:02 AM
Yes I'm getting the Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe, to go with all the other parts I have ready & waiting.. an FX53, 1gb Crucial Balistix, a pair of Raptors, the Leadtek 6800's, and I was going to get a OCZ 600 watt PSU until I read it's habit of not working, and taking hardware out with it!! (omg)

I have a Globalwin 520 watt (http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&number=3&artpage=417&articID=110) that I'll try with it and see how it goes...

This is my first major upgrade other than 3d cards since I got an NF7 V2 a few years back......

As I've always complained the cards are behind the games if you want to run the latest at a decent res & good frame rate with all the details, I'd look silly if I didn't put up or shut up when a higher performance option is finally available :tongue2:

I'm in the UK and the cards came from OCUK (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_6800_Series.html). I Visited the shop in person and requested consecutive numbers. It shouldn't make any difference but if it's possible I'm sure it wont hurt to have two from the same batch run, of course I wanted Ultras but such is life.. (xmasgrin)

As for cooling I'll be using extra fans initially if required, but the intention will be to watercool it all. I have a Cascade SS for the CPU, and I'll have to design and make something for the cards and Chipset that's lurking in between them.

subbo
12-03-04, 12:27 PM
I cant help but cry a tear for the absent leaf-blower solution. It would make SLI cooling so much easier, and help ventilate the case aswell (both cards sucking air inside).

BladeRunner
12-03-04, 01:13 PM
HIS don't do nvidia do they? of course it won't exactly break the bank in the scheme of what SLI costs to fit a couple of NV silencer 5's to the cards if air cooling is your thing ;)

larsc
12-03-04, 08:23 PM
Buy two NV5s.

ragejg
12-03-04, 10:00 PM
I hope some 6800NU PCIe's show up, with SLI connectors to boot... :firedevil

...if not I suppose I'd settle for 2x 6800GTO...

DMA
12-04-04, 10:53 AM
Gainward is selling "SLI packs" with two cards in the box. (xmasmile)
2x6800 Ultra "Goes Like Hell" (http://www.komplett.se/k/ki.asp?sku=305573&cks=PRL)
12250 SEK though, so nothing for me. (xmasgrin)

Not a bad idea selling the cards as a pair though. If they would sell 2x6800 GT's for $700 i'd start thinking about SLI. :)

BladeRunner
12-04-04, 11:12 AM
I kind of thought they would start doing SLI packs and yes it would be nice. I wonder if they will be consecutive serial numbers or match tested, (I very much doubt it).... also cheaper would be nice (xmasmile)

The only downside I can see to a boxed set is if you have a failure of one you'll most likely have to RMA the pair, leaving you to have use that old S3 card you've got in a draw somewhere....... At least buying them separately will allow you to still have one, assuming they don't go out together. The other thing is selling them again. separates maybe easier to sell, especially if they are consecutive as it covers both angles..

That store hasn't actually got any though, so this is why I went for the cards that were there. I did search about and no one else I looked at had even PCI-E 6800 GT's in stock except OCUK.. so go on UK people prove me wrong.. (xmasgrin).

I'm now waiting on a mobo, but i would be more annoyed if I'd waited until the mobo arrived and then couldn't get any cards... if a product refresh comes along after xmas, (6850 or 6900 ultra?) I'll update to that most likely, but it's probably unlikely as they can't seem to get any PCI-E 6800 Ultras out there atm..


(xmastree)

GlowStick
12-04-04, 11:21 AM
I love the idea of a dual pack! However right now my SLi plan is to buy a board and one Ultra, then wait untill i can sell off my current ultra to buy the second one! I am kind of worrried that they may not pair together well but I think i have to take that chance.

(rudolf)

BladeRunner
12-04-04, 11:36 AM
Lets hope these PCI-E cards are reliable because, there is a potential RMA minefield looming. If the cards turn out to be fussy and only work well with same revisions / batches, then that will be an arse ache if say one of my match pair dies. I'd get a new RMA one but find it is unstable or wont work with the other.... (omg)

As these were bought separately specifically for SLI would I be able to have them both swapped out under RMA? I doubt it... so a dual pack should cover you there.

You may think cards aren't that unreliable, but I had four 5800 Ultras that crapped out a Ti4600, (gainward GS) the same, and a 5900 that's suspect, all ram related I think. No dead ATI cards yet but I've owned at least 4 times more nvidia cards so not that surprising really......

Gator
12-04-04, 03:39 PM
How many amps do you have on your +12V rail? And does it divide the +12V rail like the Antec Neo? And considering how much juice 2 x 6800GT's are gonna use I sure hope you don't have too many hard drives. Have you considered a dual PSU solution or would that be an overkill?
(snowcool)

BladeRunner
12-04-04, 05:57 PM
Yeah, PSU choice is hard atm........

As said earlier in the thread I did intend getting a 600 watt OCZ powerstream but I'd not chance it now. read HERE (http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5473) IMO best thing OCZ can do is can the 600 watt, then make 110% sure the problem is fixed and release a new 610 watt model.

Another thing with PSU's. I have had a 300 watt Aopen PSU, (that came in a HX04 case), for over 5 years. It's never failed to run every system I have thrown at it including one with a 6800 GT, (bios flashed to ultra), and a system that a 400watt Q-Tec wouldn't run. Conversely I bought a very expensive 600 watt server rated PC power & cooling PSU a few years back and it not only buzzed horribly when on, but was unstable on my NF7-S system with various 3D cards ATI & NVIDIA, rebooting, not powering up etc. It just shows name and specs mean very little......

The Globalwin is here now, so I'll try it before looking elsewhere, as PSU's go it looks nice and seems well built, and the fans are quiet. If it's not quite up to it I'll probably dual it with another one, below are the specs..

http://www.zfz.com/pictures/temp/globalwin1.jpg
http://www.zfz.com/pictures/temp/globalwin.gif

http://www.globalwin.com.tw/products/power/sapphire.html