PDA

View Full Version : A64 Woes


Sem
12-04-04, 12:47 AM
Hi Iím having some problems with my A64 & MSI Neo2 :(

First off for some reason I canít go past 235FSB on my board

My CPU is a 3200+ Winchester and I tried running it at 8x 250FSB HTTx4
And the system wonít
My memory Corsair XMS 3200XL @ 208 MHz 2-2-2-10-1T 2.85
Using the 1.41 bios

Also my IDE performance is very poor
it takes ages to copy files and my Sandra 2005 HDD score is only 14MB/s with all the other single drives getting at least 29MB/s

It also seems very poor at multi-tasking

If I am listening to an mp3 in tunes and then open an mpeg in WMP10
The mp3 stutters terribly
That never happened with my P4 system

currently using the latest nvidia drivers

MUYA
12-04-04, 12:49 AM
I think that the K8s and some mobos are touchy with Corsairs memory. Do a search on the forums mate.

saturnotaku
12-04-04, 09:08 AM
I think that the K8s and some mobos are touchy with Corsairs memory.

This man speaks the truth. OCZ and G.Skill are your best choices for the A64 Socket 939, with Crucial Ballistix not being too far behind.

PaiN
12-04-04, 09:19 AM
I had trouble with MSI K8 Neo2's :(
Sem, if you're using the K8N ...make sure you set the AGP clock to 67mhz, if its left at 66mhz it won't "lock" which could be a cause of your issue.

kawaii gocchin
12-04-04, 02:01 PM
Some of the older Neo2's utilised a taiwan chipset that couldn't OC if it's life depended on it. A lot of people had these boards and had very poor OCing. I'm lucky to have the Korean make of the chipset.

It's mentioned on this Neo2 thread at XS:

neo2 tips and tricks (http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=43033)