PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia 2D quality?

Melhisedek
12-05-04, 03:07 PM
Hi mates!
Well I just started playing Planescape:Torment and everything is so blurry somehow. I wonder should I disable AA/AF when playing 2D games ? I remember playing BG on my GF2 and all the colours were crisp and everything was sharp but now it's pretty bad :/

This is on 6800GT and Win XP SP2. 67.02 drivers.

Thank you for your time!

jAkUp
12-05-04, 03:13 PM
Have you tried the official 66.93?

msxyz
12-05-04, 03:55 PM
Planetscape Torment works at a fixed resolution of 640x480, if I recall correctly. It was not until Baldur's gate 2 that Bioware enabled its Infinity engine to use other resolutions as well.

If you have a flat panel monitor the upsampling from such low resolutions is usually not very good, unlike analog CRTs that are able to support any resolution natively. If you still have a CRT, then it's a different matter...

Melhisedek
12-05-04, 04:15 PM
Well it turns out it was AA that was enabled and created blurry image :/ Problem fixed =P Thanks God for profile manager embeded in drivers !

ynnek
12-05-04, 05:34 PM
really? I just disabled AA and it looks the same to me.... I just picked up this game at Fry's for 5 bux... one of those games that i never got around playing..

640x480 is brutally pixaleted on my 19" monitor.. On a 17" monitor it looks better, simply cause the image is smaller..

superklye
12-05-04, 07:50 PM
PS:T is one of the greatest games ever made.

ynnek
12-05-04, 10:06 PM
Unfortunatnly, the graphics are primitive... the pixilated 2d sprites and "painted" background.. especially when they try to make it look 3d.. but its still painfully obvious that its just sprites ontop of a "painting".. I can't believe I was fine with this 5 years ago.. although I had a smaller monitor and was more used to look at pixilated images i guess.