PDA

View Full Version : 3dc Working on NV4x hardware.


Pages : [1] 2

ChrisRay
12-06-04, 02:35 AM
http://www.beyond3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18749


I am testing it myself right now with the 67.02 drivers. Dont do this if you're not familiar with regedit.

1) Load up regedit and do a search for

D3D_54082152

2)Delete it.

3)Restart

And now run 3dc on the Humus Demo, And ATIS newest demo from crytek. It would seem the memory impact is similar to a V8U8 texture solution so it would still benefit the Nv4x hardware but wont compress as well as ATIS method. I managed to get this working on Humus's demo, The Project, and apparently Far Cry 1.3 supports it as well. I want to try Ruby as well.

ChrisRay
12-06-04, 02:53 AM
Tested Humus's demo. Working fine..

Zetto
12-06-04, 03:03 AM
All bow to Ray's dancing ass :D NIce find too :thumbsup:

mustrum
12-06-04, 03:52 AM
Now that's interesting.
Thanks for the info. Will give it a go.

PeterJensen
12-06-04, 04:00 AM
uhmmm nice

rohit
12-06-04, 04:31 AM
AWESOME FIND..
U r too GOOD!

racingx
12-06-04, 06:12 AM
OMG! Leave it to a "Sooner" to figure this stuff out. Nice work ChrisRay (urock) . Now stop wasting your time with this and get EQ2 running better J/K.

|MaguS|
12-06-04, 06:37 AM
Anyone on a NV40 able to show some comparison shots?

Chippy
12-06-04, 06:51 AM
http://www.beyond3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18749


I am testing it myself right now with the 67.02 drivers. Dont do this if you're not familiar with regedit.

1) Load up regedit and do a search for

D3D_54082152

2)Delete it.

3)Restart


This key is not in my registry. (I am using 67.02 drivers.) Yet I can run Humus and toggle the 3dc switch.

What does this mean?

Chip

EDIT: I should add, toggle 3dc in the Humus demo appears to make no difference to either visuals or frame rates. Does this mean its not working or not?

Ruined
12-06-04, 07:39 AM
from my own testing:

A) the key was not in my registry

B) 3dc was enabled

C) In the humus demo, the quality looked as good as 3dc, and the speed was the same as dxtc5

Uken
12-06-04, 08:19 AM
i tried both of the demo (humus and crytek) both seems doesn't work.

i'm using 67.02 on my 6800 GT

anzak
12-06-04, 08:47 AM
This is very good news for ATI. Now that both ATI and nVidia support the format it will be more widly used, but ATI will have the advantage. The X800 is the only card to support it in hardware thus improving performance rather than hurting it. It appears that the NV40 can do it in software without a performance hit, thats not bad IMO.

Im at school right now, I'll try it when I get home.

maxbero
12-06-04, 09:10 AM
It appears that the NV40 can do it in software without a performance hit, thats not bad IMO.


two keys to reading: No performance hit (in software) / no performance boost (in hardware) (xmastong)

IMHO, 3Dc is useless as we're going to 512mb videocards

Chippy
12-06-04, 09:18 AM
IMHO, 3Dc is useless as we're going to 512mb videocards

I can't agree with that. It doesn't matter how much memory you have, 3Dc will always allow better quality (i.e. larger) textures than if they are not compressed.

To say its useless is a bit like saying "Jpegs are useless now we have broadband and big disks and lots of ram..... we should just carry on using uncompressed .bmp's". No-one would ever say that: Jpegs are just more efficient and make .bmp's look large and cumbersome.

Same thing with 3Dc. It doesn't matter how much videocard memory you have: 3Dc compressed normal maps are a more effecient use of texture space and bandwidth than uncompressed maps.

Chip

Skinner
12-06-04, 10:55 AM
The 7041 gave me 3dc, without any regediting.

terror_adagio
12-06-04, 11:04 AM
two keys to reading: No performance hit (in software) / no performance boost (in hardware) (xmastong)

IMHO, 3Dc is useless as we're going to 512mb videocards

3Dc useless?

What you find useless allows for over 450mb of RAM, instead of 256mb.

Ruined
12-06-04, 11:34 AM
some pics:

no aa/no af
not identical shot in terms of lighting as the light constantly moves through the scene

GeForce 6800GT 3DC
http://www.reflectonreality.com/images/NV403DC.JPG

*****

GeForce 6800GT DXTC5
http://www.reflectonreality.com/images/NV40DXTC5.JPG

Lfctony
12-06-04, 11:49 AM
The 3Dc shot looks better to me. They do look different.

monly
12-06-04, 12:10 PM
hmm the only difference i see is the lighting

Richteralan
12-06-04, 12:24 PM
the banding in DXT5 is probably due to normalization in cubemaps as we talked before(either in here or in beyond3d)

Lfctony
12-06-04, 12:24 PM
Take a look at the bricks infront of you, they are smoother with 3Dc apparently.

pahncrd
12-06-04, 12:24 PM
hmm the only difference i see is the lighting


Check the banding in the blocks close to the screen.

Lfctony
12-06-04, 12:34 PM
Just tested on mine, it's definitely working.

maxbero
12-06-04, 12:50 PM
Hard to say using jpegs.

ChrisRay
12-06-04, 03:12 PM
If you have installed drivers such as the 7x.xx and the reinstalled the 6x.xx over them. You shouldnt have to find/delete the key. By default if you havent the key exists in your registry to delete.