PDA

View Full Version : Dam Zonealarm...


Vanzagar
12-09-04, 11:00 AM
I'm not sure exactly what going on with Zonealarm but there seems to be a conflict between Zonealarm and HL2 (Counter Strike) and it's really starting to piss me off... grrr.. When ever I play counter strike I try to remember to disbale Zonealarm, but about 1/3 of the time I forget. I enter the game and there are these 1/2 to 2 s pauses that crop up once in awhile. When I remember to disable Zonealarm these pauses are gone. Nothing more annoying then sneaking up behind someone, lining your sites up for a nice hs, then .... pause.... they completely disappear...

So I thought the problem may be that Zonealarm is trying to auto update itself and that's what's causing the issue, but I have looked EVERYWHERE in Zonealarm now and disabled everything and anything that referres to any kind of "auto" or "update". This does not solve the problem. The other thing is that if I forget to disable Zonealarm you may be saying to yourself - just alt-tab out of cs and disable it and come back. I do this ... but then these wierd colors appear in the game. Many textures appear pitch black or sometimes a checkered purple. For axample you may see a crate and 6 sides look wooden but 2 sides are pitch black and this is throughout the entire game which ends up being confusing and uplayable.... you really have to see it...

Anyways, when I try other online game with Zonealarm installed everything seems fine, although I haven't reall y played anything else in a few months so it could be the lastest few updates of Zonealarm .... orrrr it's a direct conflict between Zonealarm and HL2?? But wtf, how can this be Zonealarm is such a widely used program...

What are you guys doing about this? Are you having good success with another firewall program (I use Zonealarm and the WinXP built in firewall - which seems to create no problems). Or have you found a way to make these programs live together amicably. I have been accepting this problem for weeks now, but this is really starting to get annoying and usually requires a full reboot....

Thanks for any info you can offer....

rhuala

superklye
12-09-04, 11:42 AM
Don't use ZA

GamerGuyX
12-09-04, 12:08 PM
Don't use ZA

I use it and I think its great!

rewt
12-09-04, 12:28 PM
I use it...

What for?

GamerGuyX
12-09-04, 12:42 PM
What for?

I'm not answering that. I already know anything that I say you will just contradict and try and make it look like I'm an idiot for using it. I like ZoneAlarm. Plain and simple. And there is nothing that you can do or say that will ever change that.

superklye
12-09-04, 12:44 PM
I'm not answering that. I already know anything that I say you will just contradict and try and make it look like I'm an idiot for using it. I like ZoneAlarm. Plain and simple. And there is nothing that you can do or say that will ever change that.
I used to use it, too, but there just isn't any need to, really. As long as you have a good anti-virus and the Windows updates, you'll be fine. If you really feel as though you need a firewall, get a router. ZA is just so intrusive! Even when you close the program, it still runs, blocking stuff. I just grew to hate it. And everything after 4.5 was buggy as ****. It was terrible.

ricercar
12-09-04, 05:41 PM
ZoneAlarm: Don't leave home without it.
Actually ZoneAlarm prevents ET from phoning home, and logs every unauthorized outbound communication attempt. This is not something that anti-virus or Windows updates prevent. I am very pleased whenever ZoneAlarm prevents properly-licensed software from calling the mother ship to see if I'm as honest as I claim. It's also useful to test new shareware for unauthorized network activity.

On topic:
Hasn't ZoneAlarm notified you when HL2/CS is trying to communicate? Can't you issue an "always allow" permission for HL2/CS?

The color change is because the color tables used by the game are not the same color tables used by ZoneAlarm. I'm quite surprised this happens; color table changes are rare with video cards settings above 256 colors. I assume your video card is set at 65K (16-bit) or 1.6M (24/32-bit) colors?

OWA
12-09-04, 05:48 PM
Yeah, I love ZA and even pay for the Pro version. It has also come in handy for keeping Steam from accessing the internet. I just block it so that I don't have to disable internet access just to play in offline mode.

superklye
12-09-04, 05:51 PM
I just hate the level of intrusion...I used to have to restart my computer all the time with games when I would try to play online because ZA would pop up when they attempted to connect to the internet the first time and the game would freeze, not allowing ALT+TAB.

And, as I said, a hardware based firewall is much better than a software firewall. You can block Steam's access from there, too, and don't have to have intrusive software getting in the way of everything.

-=DVS=-
12-09-04, 07:11 PM
I use Zone Alarm also, never realy had problem with it , i don't feel secure without it :eek: oh and yeah Pro version gives alot more protection.

As for color problem i don't get any no matter how many time i alt-tab , what video card you got ? Used to have alt-tab problems with ati card in opengl games long time ago :p

Vanzagar
12-09-04, 08:21 PM
[QUOTE]On topic:
Hasn't ZoneAlarm notified you when HL2/CS is trying to communicate? Can't you issue an "always allow" permission for HL2/CS? QUOTE]

Of course it's set to this or I wouldn't be able to play. Even if it wasn't set to this it would still grant u complete access for the session or it wouldn't get an internet connection. This has nothing to do with the game pausing every few seconds...


superklye ,
Are you using something else like BlackICe or are u just relying on WinXp. I really like the fact that zonealarm asks me for permission of programs. In the past I have had software that I was unaware of trying to call out that Zonealarm caught and asked me about. It may have been a virus or adaware or something else. I'm not sure cause I didn't spend the time to trouble shoot what prog was doing it. I don't even like when I install a new game having it call home, it has no business doing this and I'm glad Zonealarm stops it...

rhuala

superklye
12-10-04, 12:03 AM
I use Zone Alarm also, never realy had problem with it , i don't feel secure without it :eek: oh and yeah Pro version gives alot more protection.

As for color problem i don't get any no matter how many time i alt-tab , what video card you got ? Used to have alt-tab problems with ati card in opengl games long time ago :p
At the time I still used ZA I had a Ti4400. Another reason I don't trust it is because we have a comptuer protection disc that our office puts out at school for the students to use. We used to distribute ZA on it, but when the high-ups at IT tested it, it turned out to be rather holey...it's not as good as it is made up to be. I can't give you any specifics, but they said we couldn't distribute it due to it not being all that much better than the Windows firewall.

superklye
12-10-04, 12:04 AM
superklye ,
Are you using something else like BlackICe or are u just relying on WinXp. I really like the fact that zonealarm asks me for permission of programs. In the past I have had software that I was unaware of trying to call out that Zonealarm caught and asked me about. It may have been a virus or adaware or something else. I'm not sure cause I didn't spend the time to trouble shoot what prog was doing it. I don't even like when I install a new game having it call home, it has no business doing this and I'm glad Zonealarm stops it...

rhuala

I don't use any firewall other than the one on my router.

-=DVS=-
12-10-04, 01:24 AM
At the time I still used ZA I had a Ti4400. Another reason I don't trust it is because we have a comptuer protection disc that our office puts out at school for the students to use. We used to distribute ZA on it, but when the high-ups at IT tested it, it turned out to be rather holey...it's not as good as it is made up to be. I can't give you any specifics, but they said we couldn't distribute it due to it not being all that much better than the Windows firewall.

Mmm i would not make a decision on some ITs opinion or old time event , anyone could tell you something is holy for whatever personal reason ,think im still sticking with ZA , just out of curiosity what did they recommend only Router Firewall ? haveing both can't hurt :cool:

Im not hardcore specialist but don't all/moust software firewalls work the same intercept incoming out going calls and let you choose what to block or not , and can close any ports to. ? what could possibly be holy ?? :eek2:

What router you got superklye ? i got Linksys don't recall model <- at work right now.

superklye
12-10-04, 02:03 AM
Mmm i would not make a decision on some ITs opinion or old time event , anyone could tell you something is holy for whatever personal reason ,think im still sticking with ZA , just out of curiosity what did they recommend only Router Firewall ? haveing both can't hurt :cool:

Im not hardcore specialist but don't all/moust software firewalls work the same intercept incoming out going calls and let you choose what to block or not , and can close any ports to. ? what could possibly be holy ?? :eek2:

What router you got superklye ? i got Linksys don't recall model <- at work right now.
I have a Motorola. I didn't buy it, one of my non-computer savvy roommates bought it before consulting anyone and bought it in May, 3 months before he moved in. Couldn't return it. It seems to be working alright, though.

And I don't see any point in having a software firewall when i've got a hardware one...The software just takes up valuable system resources whilst gaming and it's pain to turn it on and off all the time.

And I would trust the opinion of the IT guys considering it's their job to test and make sure whatever firewalls are being used are safe. They are in charge of keeping a SQL farm of 50+ computers safe from hackers. If they say ZA is holey, then I'll believe it.

rewt
12-10-04, 11:54 AM
It has also come in handy for keeping Steam from accessing the internet. I just block it so that I don't have to disable internet access just to play in offline mode.

I like that idea ;)

superklye, one major issue with hardware firewalls is that they don't protect your computer from sending out data to the internet. For example if you downloaded a malicious program and it secretly sent out some valuable information about you and/or your computer. It could be sent by e-mail or even easier to another computer on the net. Your computer (or network of computers) could just as easily be used by a hacker to attack someone elses system. Sure the threat is not great but it is still there nonetheless. With a good software firewall like ZA you won't have to worry about it.

Fahim
12-10-04, 12:54 PM
I never had any problems with ZoneAlarm. It does its job nicely.

superklye
12-10-04, 01:38 PM
I like that idea ;)

superklye, one major issue with hardware firewalls is that they don't protect your computer from sending out data to the internet. For example if you downloaded a malicious program and it secretly sent out some valuable information about you and/or your computer. It could be sent by e-mail or even easier to another computer on the net. Your computer (or network of computers) could just as easily be used by a hacker to attack someone elses system. Sure the threat is not great but it is still there nonetheless. With a good software firewall like ZA you won't have to worry about it.
I'd only have to worry about that if I was some n00b that shouldn't have a computer. My day-to-day job is keeping said morons from infecting others. I remove spyware and viruses on a day-to-day basis, and two of my 3 roommates work in the same place, doing the same thing. The fourth, well, we keep him in line.

But security issues that you mention are only an issue for people who don't know what they are doing. I keep up on what I download and install on my machine. I block all ActiveX controlls from being installed, and with Enterprise VirusScan 8.0i, it has a running on-access virus AND spyware scanner, buffer-overflow protection, and the general A+ protection that McAfee Enterprise offers. I'm not worried about even having a firewall period. The Motorola keeps stuff from getting in, and I keep stuff from getting in AND out.

wickfut
12-10-04, 01:41 PM
kerio works for me - just a pain in the arse when u install stuff and it asks u if its ok on every lil thing

superklye
12-10-04, 01:50 PM
kerio works for me - just a pain in the arse when u install stuff and it asks u if its ok on every lil thing
Yeah, exactly...that's what I hate it about those firewalls. I remember everytime I updated WC3, it was a "new program" and that was what was causing me so much frustration...at first, you had to install EVERY patch from 1.0 >1.13. So that was 13 patches, and thirteen times you had to re-allow WC3 through in Zone Alarm.

It just wasn't worth the headache.