PDA

View Full Version : are you REALLY happy with 3d performance?


Pages : [1] 2 3

Mud
12-11-04, 05:15 PM
ok, maybe this is just my barton talking, but games are hardly running flawlessly. i've just upgraded to a 19" VX912b tft so i've hiked up all my resolutions to 1280x1024 (from 1024x768), but smooth gameplay at this resolution at high settings is hard to find. my 6800 is essentially a GT (350/1000@16x1,6vp) and i get over 11k in 3dmark03 (*sigh*). h/w below anyway.

hl2: 4xAA, 8xAF everything up and on except vsync (causes purple tartan on all textures) fine except occasional judders, most likely the infamous audio stutter.
doom3: high settings, 2xAA, 42fps on timedemo (nocache'd)
far cry: 20-30fps ingame
painkiller: smooooooth
MOH:PA: juddery
COD:UO: juddery'er
vampire bloodlines: much much worse than hl2

just expecting too much or are you A64/highly clocked P4 owners getting a better experience? i realise everything is a tad cpu limited at the moment, but a XP3200+ ain't all that bad...sometimes the gap between frames is so large all there is to do is stare at my partially lit red pixel (mikec).

circuitbreaker8
12-11-04, 05:40 PM
I feel your pain, but its not the hardware. Valve just cant code very well. Doom 3 is very stressful on videocards, even the NV40.

superklye
12-11-04, 05:47 PM
I feel your pain, but its not the hardware. Valve just cant code very well. Doom 3 is very stressful on videocards, even the NV40.
I have no problems running Doom 3 at 1280x1024 with 4xAA and 16xAF...30+ FPS

|MaguS|
12-11-04, 05:52 PM
Im extremely happy. No game yet has given me ANY problems... wether it be HL2 or EQ2, no stutter or low frames...

Mud
12-11-04, 06:07 PM
I have no problems running Doom 3 at 1280x1024 with 4xAA and 16xAF...30+ FPS

i'm sure that's great IQ (and my system performs similarly on that one), but it is a noticable dip in battle...not ideal.

being cpu limited, the IQ seems irrelevant though. ugly slideshow/pretty slideshow...no contest, but not the perfect experience you might hope for with such expensive hardware.

i wish i had the mental fortitude to delay playing games until a year after release. any top spec game right now seems like a 100% fluid experience is out of the question.

Vagrant Zero
12-11-04, 06:48 PM
I run D3 at 1600x1200 HQ 2xAA, smooth as a babies backside. 4xAA is playable but it will dip into the tweens every once in a while. Don't think the IQ trade-off is worth it, especially since D3 doesn't need copious amounts of AA in the first place. I find Far Cry to be just about as taxing as D3, though I do play it at 4xAA 8xAF and it more playable than D3 at those settings. This is with a stock GT, CP set to High Quality with all opts turned off.

However both Source Engine games and MoHPA are simply poorly coded games. That's not the fault of your hardware. Pray for patches.

photophreak314
12-11-04, 07:18 PM
That doom score is weird. I get 58fps @ 1280X1024, 4XAA/ 8XAF, High Quality. Unless by saying "not cached" you mean you just ran it once, in which case it's not really what you're getting. IN game I'm usually maxed out at 60 fps (vsync ON).

Make sure your vsync is off when you run the doom3 timedemo as it will cap your frame to 60, thereby lowering your average, which is your score.

useless nvidiot
12-11-04, 08:45 PM
no i hate the gt with it's crappy half life 2 performance and rubbish image quality. so i am currently "evaluating" the x800xtpe and so far so good. nvidia got me with pixel shader 3 but i am well impressed with the x800. does well for what nvidia calls "old" technology. man that jen hsuan hang whatever his name is needs a slap.

Mud
12-11-04, 09:55 PM
by "nocache" i meant i ran 'timedemo demo1 nocache', it avoids running it twice.

i guess what i'm getting at is how frustrating it is to play games that look absolutely spanking at low framerates...video cards have never really played contemporary games at full settings flawlessly, but this seems like the cpu is the bottleneck for a change. if it isn't one thing its another...they dangle the eyecandy infront of you, albeit one frame per second at a time...;)

the detail settings in games should be timelocked!

bkswaney
12-11-04, 10:41 PM
Im extremely happy. No game yet has given me ANY problems... wether it be HL2 or EQ2, no stutter or low frames...


Same here.. :)
Everything runs smooth. (snowlol) (xmastree) (xmassign2

MUYA
12-11-04, 10:59 PM
smooooooooooooOOOooThhhHH!
thats all I can say. (rudolf)

TacT
12-11-04, 11:12 PM
ok, maybe this is just my barton talking, but games are hardly running flawlessly. i've just upgraded to a 19" VX912b tft so i've hiked up all my resolutions to 1280x1024 (from 1024x768), but smooth gameplay at this resolution at high settings is hard to find. my 6800 is essentially a GT (350/1000@16x1,6vp) and i get over 11k in 3dmark03 (*sigh*). h/w below anyway.

hl2: 4xAA, 8xAF everything up and on except vsync (causes purple tartan on all textures) fine except occasional judders, most likely the infamous audio stutter.
doom3: high settings, 2xAA, 42fps on timedemo (nocache'd)
far cry: 20-30fps ingame
painkiller: smooooooth
MOH:PA: juddery
COD:UO: juddery'er
vampire bloodlines: much much worse than hl2

just expecting too much or are you A64/highly clocked P4 owners getting a better experience? i realise everything is a tad cpu limited at the moment, but a XP3200+ ain't all that bad...sometimes the gap between frames is so large all there is to do is stare at my partially lit red pixel (mikec).

I'm very drunk and it's very early in the morning but by the sounds of things, you're cpu limited and it's in need of upgrading (snowman)

ifusayso
12-11-04, 11:31 PM
I could not be happier with a computer. I bought a Compaq Gamer X with a 6800 ulta in it and can really play games now
FS 2004, Madden 2004, IL2 forgotten Battles. F1 2002 with the GT patch 30+ cars. No matter what game i have tried it keeps going with great frame rates.

I have never been happy with a video card and computer.

Lfctony
12-12-04, 03:16 AM
After having initial bios problems with my card, I am very happy now. Blazing fast I must say.

Lfctony
12-12-04, 03:18 AM
by "nocache" i meant i ran 'timedemo demo1 nocache', it avoids running it twice.

i guess what i'm getting at is how frustrating it is to play games that look absolutely spanking at low framerates...video cards have never really played contemporary games at full settings flawlessly, but this seems like the cpu is the bottleneck for a change. if it isn't one thing its another...they dangle the eyecandy infront of you, albeit one frame per second at a time...;)

the detail settings in games should be timelocked!

It's not "nocache", its "usecache" in order to run it once only. Try it again. (xmasmile)

Drax
12-12-04, 03:25 AM
I switched over to a X800XT PE from a 6800 Ultra and for HL2 it's much much better. But know that Vampire: Bloodlines runs dog slow in city areas on either card. I think it's texture thrashing or just poor level building (lack of vis areas or something). And there's a set of drivers around here (not the Extreme G the other ones) that has better image quality in HL2 then the Omega's I'm currently using. Those drivers are frigin amazing.

rohit
12-12-04, 03:45 AM
"MINDBLOWING" is all i can say abt my 6800GT. got 58FPS in doom3all hi, 1024 res with 4x aniso., didnt get to play hl2(poor thing died), donno bout vampire blood...never played it, FAr-Cry rocked, Painkiller glided.

lmetza
12-12-04, 03:53 AM
i have a 6800nu (no unlocked pipes) and stock speeds and i get 50fps in doom3 at 1152x864 with 4x AA on high quality. Thats alright.

ChrisRay
12-12-04, 03:57 AM
Man I love my 6800GT, Probably the best piece of hardware I've ever owned.

Morn
12-12-04, 04:43 AM
3dmark 05 and fs2004 are the main games I am not happy with, the rest I can mostly run at 1600x1200 no problem, including HL2 which I get 104FPS at 1600x1200 in the CS:S stress test. Source is just a great engine, and the 6800GT is about as fast as the x800pro is on it, my GT is overclocked to Ultra speeds though.
But Fs2004, flying in a thunderstorm with 100% 3d clouds and high autogen detail, the FPS can go down to 15FPS, microsoft can't code properly.
Far Cry doesn't run so well at 1600x1200 though, so I run it at 1280x960.
Rome Total War doesn't seem to like more than 1154x864, must be all the pixels in all the hundreds of soldiers.
My CPU is an Athlon 64 3400+ however... Maybe your CPU is holding you back.
http://graphics.tomshardware.com/graphic/20041123/sli-performance-24.html Here are some HL2 benchmarks.

Mud
12-12-04, 08:48 AM
It's not "nocache", its "usecache" in order to run it once only. Try it again. (xmasmile)

try it my way man, both work! definately no caching stutters with "nocache".

a lot of satisfied people and a few who're a little less satisfied...this gen of graphics cards seems like a fairly big jump, we'll see what the shelf-life on them is before we're forced onto the next gen i guess! tbh, until doom4, hl3 and far cry 0 (or whatever it'll be called) there doesn't seem to be much on the horizon. i'm happy with 3d performace, just not ecstatic.

ifusayso
12-12-04, 05:13 PM
I still say its the best card. I have every had. And after I molexd the fan to its on power source and not depend on the drivers to monitor my fan. Its never had any more problems no stutter no over heating nothing but power. I can over clock it to a nice 450/1250 but I only did that for a bench mark. I run 420/1200 most of the time.

On the ATI side I had a radeon 9800 pro with 256 megs ram. I was upset by that card I returned it for a 5900xt at almost half the price I got about the same speed. That was last year. For some reason the ATI cards I owned would just hang in a game without warning. The 9500 and 9800 both. But this is Not an ATI bash post Im glad they have knocked Nvidia on its butt a few times its better for us gamers.

francisD
12-13-04, 10:37 AM
I get a lot of stuttering, flat out, half life2 and doom3 is horrible, I am going to try formatting and putting the games on from scratch. I have a system with a 9700pro that plays smooth, but the 6800gt is WAY faster, but stuttering, very frustrating.

Morn
12-13-04, 11:41 AM
Probably you have some parts of an old driver on your windows install that are messing up the driver, I had that problem and used a program that cleared away all the nvidia driver files.

holmes
12-13-04, 12:14 PM
This 6800GT is awesome.... pretty much 1280x1024 4xAA/8xAF in anything (except Doom3 @1280x1024 0xAA/8xAF). I couldn't be happier! (snow=D)