PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions: ram for A8N-SLI


rudedog
12-13-04, 03:07 PM
Should be receiving my A8N-SLI and FX55 tomorrow but I have no idea what I should be using for ram. My past gigabye MD had problems with my corsair matched ram. So I do not want to go through that again.

This is my first AMD / Nforce chipset in a very long time and would like some recommendations please, looking for high performance and low latency.

Any suggestions would be greatly welcomed


thanks

PaiN
12-13-04, 03:31 PM
The OCZ EL Platinum is about the best you can get for AMD A64 platforms...and why would you want to go with anything less?? ;)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-890&depa=1

rudedog
12-13-04, 03:34 PM
Thanks for the link

Dazz
12-13-04, 04:19 PM
Corsair, they are only tested on ASUS motherboards and have 100% compatiablity.

Slyder
12-14-04, 12:54 AM
Corsair gets my vote. Very stable, reliable and compatable

saturnotaku
12-14-04, 07:28 AM
Any of these (http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2226) should work fine.

rudedog
12-14-04, 07:39 AM
Thanks for all the feedback guys.

Now if I can only find a pair of 6800U pcie cards I should be all set.

Hell if I wanted to spend $1048 each I could just buy them from atacom.com right now LOL

FD76
12-14-04, 10:48 AM
yea.. i agree with saturn.. read that review completely when deciding on what to buy for my a8n and found that as long as you get memory with the samsung tccd chips on the "brain powered" pcb you should be more than fine..

with that said. Patriot had the cheapest when i bought.

now i just need a GD card to put in my rig.. =(

OCForums_Osirus
12-14-04, 07:25 PM
I would recommend the Gskill PC4400 TCCD Ram. I have that ram and its VERY good at running high speeds IE.. 275mhz and up.
With that FX-55 and the Gskill Ram, you could easliy overclock to 3ghz and run 1:1 at the same time.