PDA

View Full Version : GF6800 and 3DMark05 Pro issues


LoneWolf15
12-14-04, 09:16 AM
Hey,

My PNY 6800 has an issue with 3DMark05 Pro. In the Fill-Rate tests, I'll get corruption partway through the first Single-Texturing test and sometimes a hard-lock followed by a blue-screen STOP error that indicates a problem with nv4_displ.dll. The other tests all run fine. 3DMark03 runs fine. Doom 3 runs fine. At first I thought it was an issue with the 70.90 beta drivers but I've backed down to 66.93 WHQL and have the same issues. I know it isn't overheating either, because I've added an NV Silencer 5 which has brought temperatures down 5-7 degrees on idle alone, and more yet under load. The card is not overclocked, it is running the standard number of pipelines/pixel shaders, and I've now also tried 71.20 drivers as well. The corruption is a little reduced and the test continues, but I'm concerned that either 3DMark05 Pro is causing problems when writing to video RAM, or that this is exposing a problem with graphics memory on my card (though I find that hard to believe when all the games I play and the 3DMark01SE/03/05 game tests all run fine).

Has anyone else had this problem with their GeForce 68xx? I'm reluctant to point the finger at the card when everything else works (and yes, all the capacitors are there, none missing).

LoneWolf15
12-14-04, 11:24 PM
Okay. Disabled AGP Fastwrites. Disabled AGP Sidebanding. Reset AGP Aperture from 128MB to 256MB. Ensured NV/ATI Speedup was disabled in my BIOS. Upped RAM voltage slightly to 2.65v. Upped AGP voltage slightly to 1.55v. Even tried disabling System BIOS cacheable. Still having problems. Bump.

Diamond_G
12-14-04, 11:52 PM
I'm having the same problem... I don't get hard locks though, it just doens't want to work right. But al the other test run just fine. I am not sure if there is an issue with 3dmark05 or if it is the video card.

LoneWolf15
12-15-04, 12:58 PM
Thanks, I appreciate your reply. Hopefully we'll also see some BFG 6800OC owners who can tell us if the same problem exists, as well. I'd like to gather more data on this, and I'd feel a lot better if I could chalk this up to an issue with nVidia drivers or Futuremark, then I'd know where to point to next.

(And, I really don't want to have to go through an RMA process...)

Diamond_G
12-15-04, 05:55 PM
I honestly think it is a futuremark issue... I will post something on nVidia forum and Futuremarks forum about it in a sec.

hectorsm
12-15-04, 06:00 PM
BFG 6800 OC with 16/6 enabled. Ok...no texture corruption. Temperature around 54 degrees. However, any overclocking(GPU or memory) over the stock setting causes texture corruption and sometimes lockups.

Tried 370/740 setting in 3dmark2003 and had no problem. Maybe the extra workload in 3dmark2005 is causing the problem.

THE VIKING
12-15-04, 10:46 PM
I don 't seem to have any problems with my system and 3DMark 2005. I did have some artifacts with 3DMark 2001.

Zetto
12-15-04, 11:26 PM
Doesn't sound normal, I'd RMA it if I were u. BTW, did u enable all the pipelines or not? if u did, try resetting it back to default, and run 3dmark05 again

Diamond_G
12-16-04, 03:37 AM
Actually setting things back to normal fixes nothing. That was the first thing I thought of. I recall reading that futuremark changed the way they did thier texturing test, am I wrong on this one guys?

Joe Public
12-16-04, 04:05 AM
I've run '01, '03 and '05, and they're just fine here. Using 67.02 drivers, but I remember 66.93 working as well in 3DM for the short time I used those.

LoneWolf15
12-18-04, 03:58 PM
I decided it was "about that time" anyway and reloaded my OS drive from scratch. Now running XP Pro SP2, clean install, same problem, so I know it's not something left behind in the registry causing the issue. Don't know what else to do.

Diamond_G
04-27-05, 03:44 AM
Has anyone found a fix for this issue?

ATiMan
04-27-05, 05:06 PM
Has anyone found a fix for this issue?
76.44 drivers got rid of a blue screen error that i did get with 71.89 on Colin Mcrae 05, everytime on the same stage on the same corner(Japan,Stage 03). If the problem happens only and solely on 3dmark 05 then it is either a conflict with some other program running on the background, or incompatible versions of 3dmark 05 and nvidia drivers. Try the latest version for 3dmark 05 and latest nvidia drivers.

patrickjs89
04-27-05, 07:21 PM
Try going into BIOS and set your AGP to 4x instead of AUTO. This worked for me, but I get around a 3800 score with the BFG 6800OC. Try enabling it to 8x only, but then the sideband addressing is automatically on and you can't change it. Anybody know of how to change it? Seriousley though, try changing in BIOS from AUTO to 4x. It might work as it did for me.

aZn_plyR
04-27-05, 07:37 PM
Try going into BIOS and set your AGP to 4x instead of AUTO. This worked for me, but I get around a 3800 score with the BFG 6800OC. Try enabling it to 8x only, but then the sideband addressing is automatically on and you can't change it. Anybody know of how to change it? Seriousley though, try changing in BIOS from AUTO to 4x. It might work as it did for me.

dang u beat me to it....i get corruptions in cs:s using agp 8x....I bumped it down to 4x and eevrything is perfecct and smooth..and those of u that are about to go in and say agp 4x is slower than 8x....yeah maybe .5 fps and 10 points in 3dmark's...

decoy7
06-30-05, 02:02 AM
Has anyone learned any more of this issue? I'm running into the same problem with my PNY 6800 and came across this thread. I've tried everything listed in this thread and more, including setting AGP to 4x and nothing worked.

This is the only test that gives me corruption. I've run multiple benchmarks, demos, and games and none of them give me any trouble. But this one test will always give me at least a couple flashes of corruption, and once in a while it might even cause a crash or reboot.

Russ_64
06-30-05, 06:15 AM
If you have nforce3 / 4 MB, try to install the newer GART 4.40 driver from the latest beta packages - I used 6.53

decoy7
06-30-05, 04:20 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, but I have an Intel 865 chipset (with the latest drivers).

I wish I knew what could be causing this same problem on that one specific test for several users.