PDA

View Full Version : checkered screen = high temps? (pic included)

Pages : [1] 2

bluefire7
12-14-04, 02:51 PM
hi, this is my first time in this forum. so far as i know, this is an isolated problem. i figure this is probably the gpu heating up too much? but i was just trying to get a few more opinions here. when i encounter this problem, it's playing either doom 3 or half life 2 or even cs source. the screen basically freezes as you see below, but sometimes you can still see the outline of the last frame through the colored boxes. the sound starts to skip and eventually i have to restart my comp =\ any clues as to what may be causing this if not the heat and how to troubleshoot? my videocard oc= 420/1100, temps in windows right now are 70 gpu and 53 ambient, but that's running at 370/1100. after playing a game, i've seen the gpu temp at 76. your thoughts?

look:
http://www2.newpaltz.edu/~wang889/crappy.jpg
Temps were up to 86 when playing hl2 for 30 min.. but still way below the default threshold of 120 in coolbits

wEEt
12-14-04, 02:59 PM
70 in idle is really bad (53 ambient aswell). One problem is defenitely the high temperature. If this has something to do with strange pattern on the screen - I have no idea...

rflair
12-14-04, 03:12 PM
You card is probabbly overheating, 70c idleing in Windows is way to much, I idle at 45c. In games I would think your in the 100c or more range, considering you said you had a temperature of 79c after finishing a game, and you can expect a 10-15c temperature drop within a second of finishing anything 3D (and in your case i would say 15-20c+).

That being said I can replicate the exact same screen on my card by flashing a 1.4V BIOS and overclockcing to 400/1100, which is fine at 1.3V. And for me its not a heat issue as the idle and load temperature rise 2c and 4c, its probably the mosfets overheating and/or not being able to supply enough current at the same clock speeds.

But for you its most likely HEAT.