PDA

View Full Version : I see half-life 2 different now


Pages : [1] 2

DJMONDY
12-21-04, 08:04 AM
Ive finally got what ive been after for months: 22" crt 2048-1536 res.

The first game i had to try on it was half-life 2 and it was totally a new look on the game.

The colour and the sharpness was amazing and its was totally playable at 2048-1536 8xAF 4xAA and everything else on max. Everything was so clear i felt as tho i was really there.

I agree that im maybe stupid for not going for a lcd but i couldnt get one that could do that res and the same size for the price.

I thought half-life 2 looked great before but now im speechless.

(xmassign2

Ninjaman09
12-21-04, 08:34 AM
Heh, I actually switched out a 17" LCD (Samsung 712n) for my CRT and I felt the same way. The pixel clarity is unbelievable. I wish I had gone to LCD sooner! But yeah, a 22" CRT running 2048x1536 is really awesome. I'd like to see that in action sometime, as I've never seen a monitor larger than 19" up close.

DJMONDY
12-21-04, 09:41 AM
It really has to be seen to be believed, this thing is HUGE. Its so big i have to rearrange my pc desk to fit the monitor on.

I read plenty of reviews and even tho the text onscreen isnt the best at 2048-1536, pictures, graphics packages and games are perfectly clear!(which is what its made for) Not that im bothered as im not exactly gonna be writing books or anything.

Ive never seen anything over 16" at 1280-1024 so you can imagine how i felt when i plugged it in and turned it on (xmasgrin)

I need to find out more about RGB (or BNC i think) cables as ive read they give even better image quality. The only problem i might have is getting one with a DVI connection to plug into my BFG 6800U.

(xmassign)

superklye
12-21-04, 10:31 AM
How much does that monitor weigh? 60lbs? 70lbs?

LiquidX
12-21-04, 10:40 AM
I have a 2070 and its about 70Lbs. To bad I hear they wont make them anymore. When I first got mine I was floored because I had never seen anything larger that 17" or a game running above 1280x1024. Gaming has not been the same since I got mine. I know for a fact I cant go anything below 22" if I get another monitor.

superklye
12-21-04, 10:51 AM
I have a 2070 and its about 70Lbs. To bad I hear they wont make them anymore. When I first got mine I was floored because I had never seen anything larger that 17" or a game running above 1280x1024. Gaming has not been the same since I got mine. I know for a fact I cant go anything below 22" if I get another monitor.
Good God that is crazy. I'd love to see one of those monitors AND see a game cranked up to 20x15. That would rule!

Rakeesh
12-21-04, 11:22 AM
Ive finally got what ive been after for months: 22" crt 2048-1536 res.

The first game i had to try on it was half-life 2 and it was totally a new look on the game.

The colour and the sharpness was amazing and its was totally playable at 2048-1536 8xAF 4xAA and everything else on max. Everything was so clear i felt as tho i was really there.

I agree that im maybe stupid for not going for a lcd but i couldnt get one that could do that res and the same size for the price.

I thought half-life 2 looked great before but now im speechless.

(xmassign2

How do you get HL2 to go to that high of a resolution? I can set my desktop to 2048x1536, but HL2 wont allow anything above 1600x1200. Also what video card are you using? I can't seem to do 4xfsaa at anything above 1600x1200.

superklye
12-21-04, 11:27 AM
How do you get HL2 to go to that high of a resolution? I can set my desktop to 2048x1536, but HL2 wont allow anything above 1600x1200.
I remember someone else here being able to do it and they posted screenshots of it. They were pretty impressive to say the least.

CaptNKILL
12-21-04, 11:36 AM
DJ what are your specs? 2048x1536 runs like crap in HL2 DM on my system, and thats with no AA. I cant believe you are running at that with 4x AA and getting good framerates. I guess its playable on my system, but not smooth at all (where 1600x1200 gives me 45fps, 2048x1536 gives me 35 or less, despite my CPU limitation).

Rakeesh
12-21-04, 11:43 AM
DJ what are your specs? 2048x1536 runs like crap in HL2 DM on my system, and thats with no AA. I cant believe you are running at that with 4x AA and getting good framerates. I guess its playable on my system, but not smooth at all (where 1600x1200 gives me 45fps, 2048x1536 gives me 35 or less, despite my CPU limitation).

It's quite playable at 1600x1200 here if I max out everything except FSAA (I have to turn that off or else theres major stuttering, although the framerate is somewhat ok)

I can't figure out how to adjust the res higher than 2048x1536 though. I searched the forum and found one 2048x1536 screenshot but nobody gave any instructions on how to enable it.

OWA
12-21-04, 11:49 AM
Ive finally got what ive been after for months: 22" crt 2048-1536 res.

The first game i had to try on it was half-life 2 and it was totally a new look on the game.

The colour and the sharpness was amazing and its was totally playable at 2048-1536 8xAF 4xAA and everything else on max. Everything was so clear i felt as tho i was really there.

I agree that im maybe stupid for not going for a lcd but i couldnt get one that could do that res and the same size for the price.

I thought half-life 2 looked great before but now im speechless.

(xmassign2
That's impressive! BTW, do you need 4xAA at that resolution or have you tried it with and without to see how much of a difference it makes at that res?

Rakeesh
12-21-04, 12:14 PM
Hmm...I tried a bit of registry hacking in an attempt to force HL2 to go to 2048x1536 but that didn't work. It just shows the valve logo video then gives me this error box:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=9344&stc=1

registry key
"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\Source\hl2\Settin gs"
ScreenWidth and ScreenHeight values

(doh, for some reason vbulletin insists on putting two spaces between the n and g)

There don't seem to be any config files that allow for this adjustment either. If I were to guess I would say that the screen geometry is hardcoded into the binary, which means that you'd need some kind of video card driver based method.

I'll test that theory in a minute.

EDIT: Nevermind, can't. The HL2 binary appears to be either encrypted, compressed, or both (at least part of it anyways.) Probably some kind of anti-cheating or anti-piracy measure, oh well, can't say that was to be unexpected.

EDIT2: Running a unix grep on all of the files in the steam directory yields nothing. I am stumped as to how you guys managed to allow higher resolutions in HL2.

I also tried adding the -width 2048 -height 1536 parameters and I get the same error box.

LiquidX
12-21-04, 02:32 PM
Well at 2048x1536 4XAA, 16AF everything maxed it runs for me with no problems and its very playable but not as fluid as 1600x1200. And the truth is you cant really see any graphical differences other than its not as smooth as lower resolutions even though playable. Also no tweaks needed to get that resolution.

CaptNKILL
12-21-04, 02:45 PM
2048x1536 works fine for me. I had to use Refresh Force to allow my monitor to do it (i didnt think it was supposed to but at 60hz, it does it just fine) but it works in just about any game as well as windows.

I play the game at 1600x1200 with 8xAF (high quality)and max ingame settings (no AA)and it runs ok most of the time. Its wierd though... maybe im just spoiled by playing older games, but 40fps no longer seems smooth to me. Not at all. I wish it did, because I can do benchmarks and end up with pretty respectable min\avg framerates, but HL2 still seems to run like crap to me.

I hope a CPU upgrade will help out.

Rakeesh
12-21-04, 05:09 PM
That is annoying because I can switch the desktop to a lot more resolutions than what is shown in the dropdown list in HL2.

Add that to another thing about HL2 that pisses me off. I ought to make a list of 101 things that make HL2 suck. I haven't really even started to play the game yet and I find a new bug or annoyance every day.

anzak
12-21-04, 05:36 PM
My 17" Viewsonic P70f CRT does 1920x1440 @ 60hz. Half Life 2 is totally playable at that res but its overkill IMO. I use 1280x960 w/ 6xAA and 16xAF because of the 85hz refresh rate.

DJMONDY
12-22-04, 02:27 AM
Wow this is a great response (xmasmile)

I dont understand why many of you are having problems putting half-life 2 at 2048-1536. I didnt even know that was a problem?

All i did when i first attached my new screen was startup half-life 2 and select the highest resolution. No problems at all??

superklye: 30.5 kg.

AlphaWolf_HK: I have a BFG 6800U oc.

CaptNKILL: Nothing special. p4 3.2, 1gig of ram and my bfg.

OWA: I honestly didnt notice a hugh difference in the way the game looked with or without AA. Maybe i should leave it off as i would probably get better fps.

AlphaWolf_HK: You shouldnt need to do any of that. I dont understand why you cant select that res ingame??

Another great thing about this monitor is it does 2048-1536 @79hz.

I hope i got most questions answered. Sorry i didnt post earlier!

I would be happy to show this monitor to anyone interested but i dout you live close enough.

(xmasgrin) (xmassign)

Marcos
12-22-04, 09:49 AM
steamisgay.exe -width 2048 height 1536

Rakeesh
12-22-04, 10:34 AM
steamisgay.exe -width 2048 height 1536

It doesn't work.

rewt
12-22-04, 03:06 PM
-width 2048 -height 1536 -refresh 60

Rytr
12-22-04, 04:53 PM
Interesting guys! I plan to pick up a 22" NEC monitor after the 1st. Hate to hear the 2070 is out of production. Oh well, the NEC 2114 and ViewSonic P225 still appear to be available and the possibility of gaming at resolutions above 16x12 is appealing to me. I would like to see if there is a reason to even use FSAA above 16x12. I see very little reason to use AA on my ViewSonic 19" crt at 16x12. Although I mostly use 1280x960, 4xAA, for gaming with my GT or 2xAA with my 6600.
Looks like the big crt's may not be available too much longer. I like my 17" NEC LCD but there is one resolution and little or no viable option.

superklye
12-22-04, 05:17 PM
I never understood why/how people could use 1280x960...it just makes the screen even MORE of a widescreen-esque picture and It annoys me to no end. Characters looks so much fatter, it's terrible. Why do those of you that use it use it?

Rytr
12-22-04, 05:23 PM
Probably depends on your monitor. I use it or 1280x1024, both look good. I mainly started using it after the 6600 review as performance seemed to be enhanced while maintaining surperb graphic quality with that card.

I am trying to ween myself from the long used 1024x768. (xmasgrin)

anzak
12-22-04, 07:11 PM
I never understood why/how people could use 1280x960...it just makes the screen even MORE of a widescreen-esque picture and It annoys me to no end. Characters looks so much fatter, it's terrible. Why do those of you that use it use it?

You have it backwards. 1280x960 is a normal 4:3 aspect ratio (such as 1024x768 and 1600x1200), where 1280x1024 is not. The image is distorted with 1280x1024 because there are to many pixels high. That res is designed for LCDs which do not fit the normal 4:3 aspect ratio.

WeReWoLf
12-22-04, 07:35 PM
Then why does it look fine on CRT and 1280x960 doesn't?