PDA

View Full Version : Unlocking pipelines? (eVGA 6800)


SDPlissken
12-24-04, 07:41 AM
Hi, I just ordered an eVGA geforce 6800 video card. (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=14-130-202&depa=0)

In alot of the reviews on the card, people were talking about how they unlocked from 12 to 16 pipelines. I'm guessing the default setting on the card is 12 and you can OC it to 16.

When I get my card how can I OC it to 16 pipelines? (I don't usually OC but I'm interested in getting the most out of my new 6800. First video card I have ever bought)

also, I currently have a geforce 4MX 420 64MB video card. I just installed coolbits yesterday. What are safe clock frequencies I can put it too?

also 1 more question, it says the 6800 is 8x AGP (although newegg claims it has an 8x/4x AGP interface). Will it still work on my 4x AGP mobo?

thanks.

|MaguS|
12-24-04, 07:49 AM
It will work fin on a 4xAGP board, Im currently using my GT at 4xAGP.

Unlocking pipelines is not OCing, It's a softmod. You need to get Rivatuner. After that I really don't know the steps since I don't own a vanilla 6800.

Actually OCing a card is a luck of the draw, some cards can reach awsome speeds while other can barely get 5 more hz. Just be carefull and test good since OCing can be fatal.

SDPlissken
12-24-04, 07:51 AM
Thanks for the reply egbtmagus.
More questions:
1. What is a vanilla 6800?
2. Does softmodding come with the same risks as OC'ing? More, less, same?

I'm a newb when it comes to this stuff because I've been using a geforce 4 64mb card for such a long time...round 2-3 years I think.

saturnotaku
12-24-04, 07:55 AM
If you search through the forums here and at www.guru3d.com, there is a lot of information about unlocking the pipelines and the software needed to do it (RivaTuner). Keep in mind that overclocking and unlocking the extra pipelines and vertex processor are two completely different things. Often times, a card will successfully unlock but you will lose most of the card's ability to overclock because of the extra strain placed on the GPU with the unlocked features. This isn't typically a problem because the extra performance realized by unlocking is greater than the results you achieve by overclocking alone.

As far as overclocking, the best way to test is to increase the core and memory frequencies by 5-10 MHz at a time and use graphically intense programs to test. 3DMark 2003 works well. If your system hardlocks during any test, your core is overclocked to high. If you get artifacts (you'll know when you see them) back off on the memory.

Vanilla 6800 is the card you ordered. The softmod has pretty much the same risks as overclocking. It can be undone without permanent damage if the card does not work properly.

SDPlissken
12-24-04, 08:29 AM
Thanks for the info.

Just curious....why is it called vanilla?

Edge
12-24-04, 08:41 AM
Thanks for the info.

Just curious....why is it called vanilla?

Generic term meaning plain/standard.

Pantherman
12-24-04, 09:28 AM
Softmodding a 6800 is definitely hit or miss. If you get artifacts after unlocking the four extra pipes, they are probably damaged. I've heard that regular or "vanilla" 6800s have damaged pipes that have been disabled or they won't run at GT or better speeds. All 6800 GPUs are the same. Those that will run at higher speeds become Ultras or GT's Those that have a damaged pipe or won't run at high speeds become 6800s.

shabby
12-24-04, 11:02 AM
My 6800 was definetly a hit, it clocks upto 375 with a nv5 silencer and is fully unlocked.
Sometimes company's use higher binned gpu for lower end parts simply because they dont have any cores that are damaged.

Subtestube
12-24-04, 03:55 PM
Just so's you know - newer 6800s are locked against RT 15.2's method of unlocking them, however there's a new release (15.3) coming out on Dec 30th that'll fix that issue.

Lfctony
12-28-04, 01:41 AM
I just got my hands on a 6800GE, PC keeps locking up when I use RT 15.2, maybe 15.3 will do better.

Pantherman
12-29-04, 12:15 AM
There's no such thing as a 6800 GE.

Cota
12-29-04, 01:43 AM
Generic term meaning plain/standard.

Damn, to think I licked the card and it didn't taste like vanilla at all.

Well I like cherry better

(xmasgrin) (xmasgrin) (xmasgrin) (xmasgrin) (xmasgrin)

Subtestube
12-29-04, 05:11 AM
There's no such thing as a 6800 GE.

Yes there is - it's an ASUS product. 6800 Gamers Edition. Same as a 6800 GT, 'cept with a standard 6800 Core clock speed and pipe config. Or, (you could say) 6800 NU with 256 Megs of DDR3 Ram.

Edge
12-29-04, 05:55 AM
Just so's you know - newer 6800s are locked against RT 15.2's method of unlocking them, however there's a new release (15.3) coming out on Dec 30th that'll fix that issue.

Cool, I'm definatly looking forward to trying that out tomorrow! I wanna see what kind of a performance boost I can get from (hopefully) unlocking the extra pipelines on my 6800, Farcry with HDR is one of the first games I've come across where I'm actually GPU limited rather than CPU limited.

r2d2d3d4d5
12-29-04, 06:32 AM
Cool, I'm definatly looking forward to trying that out tomorrow! I wanna see what kind of a performance boost I can get from (hopefully) unlocking the extra pipelines on my 6800, Farcry with HDR is one of the first games I've come across where I'm actually GPU limited rather than CPU limited.
RT 15.3 came out yesterday.

http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/

PeterJensen
12-29-04, 07:35 AM
Hmm 3 of my friends have the Asus 6800GE and all of them can unlock all the pipes with no problems.

Mr. Tinker
12-29-04, 05:51 PM
In short, I think Evga is having to use all it's GT and ultra worthy chips to fill the demand for those parts. I've gone through 5 vanilla evga 6800's and these are my results: 3 had perfectly functioning vertex pipes but bad shader quads that rendered flashing poly's. 2 showed cyan and black snow whether I unlocked the shader quad, the 6th vertex pipe, or both. The first one had the snow pretty badly. The one I kept barely shows any at all, maybe 30 specs at a time @1024x768. I'm hoping it might be something I can tweak out. This one also overclocks wonderfully. I'm at 395/836 on stock @1.4v and planning on watercooling @1.5v once I get my new case next week.

Jethro
12-30-04, 08:51 PM
me evga 6800NU is a modding beast! fantastic card. getting same scores as my BFG GT @ 440/1200 and the EVGA card with its DDR1 just feels smoother in games! Perhaps lower latency rams?