PDA

View Full Version : BFG 6800GT OC Default clock?


DaShadow
12-24-04, 06:31 PM
Just got my BFG 6800GT OC and installed Coolbits as was suggested, one question I have is that when I open up the Freq. tab and delect "Restore Defaults" it sets the clock at 350MHz. I thought the BFG's were defaulted at 370, are they really Default since it's the standard 6800 Proc at 350 and BFG just did the OC at the factory to 370, but if I hit Default it should go to 350 per Nvidia's spec?

Thanks, just want to make sure this is performing as expected!

And BTW: (xmassign2) to me.

NemesisChild
12-24-04, 08:45 PM
I have the same card, it should detect 370 as the clock frequency default.
I use Riva Tuner and don't have much experience with Coolbits.
However, this card does come overclocked out of the box, 370 core clock.
Try using Riva Tuner, then detect the defaults through it.

DaShadow
12-24-04, 09:13 PM
Ok, since I'm new to this whole RiveTuner thing, here is what I did, and where I think I should be....

I start up RivaTuner, go to the "Main" tab, select the "Target adapter" and select "Customize" on the top selection (not the Driver settings where is says "Forceware detected"). I then select the first tab when it expands the "Low-level system settings".

This is where I see the "Core clock" set at 351.0 and the "Memory clock" set to 1113.8.

Is that what yours reads?

If I go to the fourth icon over the "Graphic subsystem diagnostic report" this is what I get....

"$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Northbridge information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0400000000 Description : unknown
$0400000001 Vendor ID : 8086 (Intel)
$0400000002 Device ID : 2578
$0400000003 AGP bus : revision 3.0
$0400000004 AGP status : enabled
$0400000005 AGP rate : 4x 8x supported, 8x selected
$0400000006 AGP SBA : hardwired, enabled
$0400000007 AGP FW : supported, enabled
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0000000000 Description : NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT
$0000000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
$0000000002 Device ID : 0045
$0000000003 Location : bus 1, device 0, function 0
$0000000004 Bus type : AGP revision 3.0
$0000000005 AGP status : enabled
$0000000006 AGP rate : 4x 8x supported, 8x selected
$0000000007 AGP SBA : hardwired, enabled
$0000000008 AGP FW : supported, enabled
$0000000009 Base address 0 : fd000000 (memory range)
$000000000a Base address 1 : a0000000 (memory range)
$000000000b Base address 2 : fc000000 (memory range)
$000000000c Base address 3 : none
$000000000d Base address 4 : none
$000000000e Base address 5 : none
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (16x1,6vp)
$0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0045 (ROM strapped to 0045)
$0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
$0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 07)
$0100000004 Memory amount : 262144KB
$0100000005 Core clock : 351.000MHz
$0100000006 Memory clock : 556.875MHz (1113.750MHz effecti...
$0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
$010000000b HW masked units : none"

Appreciate feedback if you could look into your settings to see if they match...

I currently have the card OC'd to 411/1117 and things are stable, so it's all good, I just thought that the default would read 370 and not 351.

Thanks again!

Salamandar
12-24-04, 09:29 PM
Wait I'm a little confused here, the BFG supposed to have an overclocked core and not memory, in your case it's the opposite !! :alien:

DaShadow
12-24-04, 09:53 PM
I dunno, this is just what it says. I just got the card tonight...

superklye
12-24-04, 10:05 PM
What would be better? OCed memory or core?

Salamandar
12-24-04, 10:18 PM
What would be better? OCed memory or core?

BOTH (xmasgrin)

NemesisChild
12-24-04, 11:57 PM
DaShadow, I'm out of town until after the 1st and don't have access to my 6800GT rig. I have made a note to check my Riva Tuner data when I return and will report my results back to you later. That's really odd that Riva Tuner is reporting your core clock at 351. I checked my default frequencies through RT when I got my card three weeks ago, it confirmed the core at 370. Try setting your frequencies back to default, restart your rig and then run the subsystem diagnostic report again.

bkswaney
12-25-04, 12:15 AM
That is strange. All BFG GToc cards are 370/1000.
Where did u get your card?

I wonder if it was a returned card
that someone had been screwing around
with the bios?

I would do some more checking to
make sure it's really at 351.

Also what drivers do u have installed?
Are you using coolbit's 3d or what?

superklye
12-26-04, 01:43 AM
BOTH (xmasgrin)
well yeah, but what, if you could only do one, would offer a bigger/better performance gain?

superklye
12-26-04, 07:30 PM
well yeah, but what, if you could only do one, would offer a bigger/better performance gain?
.

rewt
12-26-04, 07:33 PM
well yeah, but what, if you could only do one, would offer a bigger/better performance gain?


Overclocking the Core by 75 MHz will give better results than overclocking the Mem 75 MHz.

But beware of CPU bottlenecks. If CPU bottlenecks the graphics card, then overclocking the GPU will do no good unless you run maximum AA/AF settings.

zilla
12-27-04, 02:20 AM
There were some cards shipped that were not overclocked by mistake.....you can call bfg or email them and they will take care of it

DaShadow
12-27-04, 09:56 AM
There were some cards shipped that were not overclocked by mistake.....you can call bfg or email them and they will take care of it

Ok, I think I have some of this figured out and need someone with a BFG 6800GT to verify for me...

First off in response to 'bkswaney', yes I bought this from an individual who had OC'd it....

When I OC the card (411/1100) stable.... and save the changes, reboot and go back into the OC tab in the driver settings and hit "Restore defaults" it drops the GPU down to 351 but leaves the memory OC'd. It restores the GPU defaults but not the memory.

In speaking with the person that I bought the card from hit the "Restore defaults" it dropped the GPU down but he didn't check the memory clock which stayed the same OC as before.

Sooooo.......

Can someone with a BFG 6800GT verify on their OC'd board this same type of behavior, ie: hit the "Restore defaults" and see if just your GPU resets to the default but the memory stays the same and also, let me know what the default speed of our GPU is, if yours defaults to 370, then I'll contact BFG to get a replacement.

Although, not sure if that would be wise since I have a verified OC'er to 411/1100. (xmasgrin)

Thanks for the help guys!

DaShadow
12-28-04, 11:46 AM
Nobody have a BFG 6800GT that can check this out?

Slammin
12-28-04, 04:08 PM
He most likely modded the bios dude. Doesn't matter since you are getting an excellent OC, right? Why take it back?

If you really want it back to default, mod the bios like he did, or just set it manually. One thing you SHOULD be concerned with though since the bios was modded, is the voltage levels. Your huge clock rates to me, indicate that the card was modded for 1.4v 3D. Lot's run that way, but personally, I don't think it's a great idea.

DaShadow
12-29-04, 10:21 PM
How do I check if it has been volt modded or update the Bios with the 370 information, which BTW has anyone with a BFG 6800GT that their defaults is 370 and not 350?

bkswaney
12-29-04, 11:10 PM
Nobody have a BFG 6800GT that can check this out?


I just did it 3 times and mine always goes back to 370/1000.
I would say he flashed the bios.
You need to reflash it to the factory bios. I would anyway. :)

DaShadow
12-29-04, 11:44 PM
I just went to BFG's website and I didn't see a BIOS I could download, do you happen to know where I can get a stock BIOS?