PDA

View Full Version : 6800 Ultra Graphics Corruption concern!!!


Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 06:05 PM
I would like to know why my applications look like this???
I'm using Microsoft Digital Image Suite 10 and Microsoft Office Picture Manager 2003. Any suggestions? It's happens off and on...But, I have to say that it happens 90% of the time with a 10% chance that it might not. The odd thing is...When I use Adobe Photoshop 8 CS or any Adobe software, I don't have these graphic display problems.....What could it be????

Ruined
12-25-04, 07:30 PM
What is the BIOS version of your 6800U in the Nvidia control panel? Also, what chipset is your motherboard?

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 08:59 PM
What is the BIOS version of your 6800U in the Nvidia control panel? Also, what chipset is your motherboard?



My 6800U bios version is BFG 6800U (OC) 256MB - Rev 04
Version : 5.40.02.15.12 I edited the bios with OmniExtremeEdit
and increased the voltage from 1.3v to 1.4v then flashed!!!
It was and still is a PNY 6800U originally. I would also get random reboots while just working on my desktop or doing html on a server to update some
websites I consult for. I lowered my 2D Settings from 425MHz in Core Clock to 400MHz. And I also lowered my 3D Settings from 425MHz in Core Clock to 400MHz. So far, I've not incoutered anymore display problems or system crashes while using Microsoft Photo editing software or working on an active ftp server.........knock on wood)))) Any suggestions??? =)

rewt
12-25-04, 09:07 PM
I edited the bios with OmniExtremeEdit
and increased the voltage from 1.3v to 1.4v then flashed!!!

What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 09:58 PM
What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?


If your referring to the default voltage for a BFG-OC Bios it's 1.4v
correct me if I'm wrong anyone?
I'm not sure on what the default voltage would be on my PNY 6800 Ultra.
Would anyone know if it's suppose to be 1.3v or 1.4v??? Any suggestions???

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:00 PM
What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?


If your referring to the default voltage for a BFG-OC Bios it's 1.4v
correct me if I'm wrong.........anyone?
I'm not sure on what the default voltage would be on my PNY 6800 Ultra.
Would anyone know if it's suppose to be 1.3v or 1.4v??? Any suggestions???
My current voltage is set in my bios as 1.4v since I modded it before flashing.
So it's still at 1.4v and set at default with no problems so far.......

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:01 PM
What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?


If your referring to the default voltage for a BFG-OC Bios it's 1.4v
correct me if I'm wrong.........anyone?
I'm not sure on what the default voltage would be on my PNY 6800 Ultra.
Would anyone know if it's suppose to be 1.3v or 1.4v??? Any suggestions???
My current voltage is set in my bios as 1.4v since I modded it before flashing.
So it's still at 1.4v with my 2D/3D settings at default with no problems so far.......Oh, this is creat research and I hope we can Micro manage the
problem soon!!! =)

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:05 PM
What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?


If your referring to the default voltage for a BFG-OC Bios it's 1.4v
correct me if I'm wrong.........anyone?
I'm not sure on what the default voltage would be on my PNY 6800 Ultra.
Would anyone know if it's suppose to be 1.3v or 1.4v??? Any suggestions???
My current voltage is set in my video card's bios as 1.4v since I modded it
that away before flashing it. So it's still at 1.4v with my 2D/3D settings at default with no overclocking. Not having those problems ever since I lowered the clock core....only time will tell.

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:06 PM
What is supposed to be the default core voltage on a 6800U?


If your referring to the default voltage for a BFG-OC Bios it's 1.4v
correct me if I'm wrong.........anyone?
I'm not sure on what the default voltage would be on my PNY 6800 Ultra.
Would anyone know if it's suppose to be 1.3v or 1.4v??? Any suggestions???
My current voltage is set in my video card's bios as 1.4v since I modded it
that away before flashing it. So it's still at 1.4v with my 2D/3D settings at default with no overclocking. Not having those problems ever since I lowered the core clock....only time will tell.

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:08 PM
Sorry for flooding the board! It was a typo I had to fix. Please continue!!! =)

Digital_Maximus
12-25-04, 10:41 PM
I've taken the liberty of creating a few screen shoots.
This will give you an over all idea of the voltage default settings.
Note: Nothing was modded or changed, these are bios file images
of PNY 6800U and BFG 6800 (OC).



Question, The BFG bios shows by default that the voltage is set at
1.1v Would it be okay to set the 2D to 1.4v or would this creat problems down the road??? Same goes for the PNY bios 2D 1.1V Any suggestions???

Please view attachments........