PDA

View Full Version : Problematic new Leadtek 6800GT


Database Freak
12-28-04, 05:51 PM
Bought a Leadtek 6800GT at eBay from a relliable seller (170+ 100% positive feedback posts and PayPal Buyer protection up to $1000).
Installed it and it gave these strange stripe-blocks all over the screen:

http://img62.exs.cx/img62/817/g122700741jp.jpg

http://img52.exs.cx/img52/2249/g122700858cb.jpg

http://img52.exs.cx/img52/1374/g122700872dz.jpg

I am using it on an Iwill MPX2 (1 XP2600 installed 1 HD, 2CD's, Antec 550W), but had the same problem with it on a A7M266D. My old 9800SE runs with no problem on it.

I have tried many things:
Set video bios and system cache on disabled, set AGP fast writes on disabled, set AGP bus to 1x/2x and 4x. Tried different power connector to the external power connector; Nothing helped. The Leadtek 6800GT shows a BIOS startup screen (that my old 9800SE didn't). Can I enter the 6800GT Bios with it? Should I change some setting here? Is there a jumper setting that is set wrong on either the 6800GT board or the MPX2?

RivaTuner showed this:

$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Northbridge information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0400000000 Description : AMD 762
$0400000001 Vendor ID : 1022 (AMD)
$0400000002 Device ID : 700c
$0400000003 AGP bus : revision 2.0
$0400000004 AGP status : enabled
$0400000005 AGP rate : 1x 2x supported, 2x selected
$0400000006 AGP SBA : supported, disabled
$0400000007 AGP FW : not supported
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0000000000 Description : Standard VGA Graphics Adapter
$0000000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
$0000000002 Device ID : 0045
$0000000003 Location : bus 1, device 5, function 0
$0000000004 Bus type : AGP revision 3.0 (AGP 2.0 mode)
$0000000005 AGP status : enabled
$0000000006 AGP rate : 1x 2x 4x supported, 2x selected
$0000000007 AGP SBA : not supported
$0000000008 AGP FW : not supported
$0000000009 Base address 0 : f8000000 (memory range)
$000000000a Base address 1 : e0000000 (memory range)
$000000000b Base address 2 : f9000000 (memory range)
$000000000c Base address 3 : none
$000000000d Base address 4 : none
$000000000e Base address 5 : none
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (4x1,1vp)
$0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0045 (ROM strapped to 0045)
$0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
$0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 07)
$0100000004 Memory amount : 262144KB
$0100000005 Core clock : 199.500MHz
$0100000006 Memory clock : 299.250MHz (598.500MHz effective)
$0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
$010000000b HW masked units : none

So it appears that the 6800GT has trottled it self back to 200/300mhz from its default speeds. The fan does run though and the cooler appears to be in touch with the GPU and memory modules.

I have tried in other forums, but without reply. You (nVidia-experts)-guys here are my last hope, does this problem looks/sounds familiar to you?

rflair
12-28-04, 06:10 PM
The card is most likely dead, I don't think a GT could throttle below 350 core, which is what the BIOS defaults to.

Just my opinion, it looks like the guy flashed the card with low clocks to see if he could hide a fried card.

Does the card boot into windows at 350/1000 though?

This from my Leadtek 6800GT


$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (16x1,6vp)
$0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0045 (ROM strapped to 0045)
$0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
$0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 07)
$0100000004 Memory amount : 262144KB
$0100000005 Core clock : 401.625MHz
$0100000006 Memory clock : 573.750MHz (1147.500MHz effecti...
$0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
$010000000b HW masked units : none


Some glaring difference in the first line.

rflair
________
marijuana joint (http://howtorollajoint.net)

Database Freak
12-28-04, 06:21 PM
The card is most likely dead, I don't think a GT could throttle below 350 core, which is what the BIOS defaults to.

Just my opinion, it looks like the guy flashed the card with low clocks to see if he could hide a fried card.
Yes that my feeling as well, well I have PayPal Buyer Protection on the eBay deal and can always order Visa to credit the payment.
Do you know how I can check if a bios reflesh has been performed?. How can you read out which BIOS (+default core settings) are currently on the card?

Does the card boot into windows at 350/1000 though? Don't know, when I can start Riva it shows 200/300.

$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (16x1,6vp)

Some glaring difference in the first line.

rflair
Yes I switched off all other pipelines and vertex shaders to see if that would help but it didn't.

rflair
12-28-04, 06:54 PM
Two ways to check,

Get Nvflash and dump the cards bios, then use Nibtor to view the dumped file and it will show you the default clocks.

If you don't have the files needed get them at,

http://www.mvktech.net


OR

Install Coolbits and go to the overclocking tab, tell it to set defaults, and it will go to what the BIOS defaults to.

Looks like the card is screwed though, but check if you will. It is plugged in? (just checking)

rflair
________
sc2 replay (http://screplays.com/)

Database Freak
12-28-04, 07:12 PM
No it isn't plugged in, I can hardly work with it and it completly blanks with nVidia drivers at 1280*1024. I have repplied the eBay seller that he is getting his card back and I am now thinking to either go into the eBay/PayPal refund proces (with all the risks of not conforming to the refund rules) or that my creditcard company could get it back.
Thanks for your reply, I will try it tommorow to get full conformation of the ripp-off this eBay seller sold me. It's 1 o' clock in the night here in the old world, I am going to bed.

AthlonXP1800
12-28-04, 09:14 PM
$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (4x1,1vp)

Your card not only underclocked, it much worse than that, your card have 4x1 pipeline and 1vp, that about as fast as Geforce 6200. Geforce 6800 GT have 16x1 pipelines and 6vp, I think the guy sold you Geforce 6600 GT card that look similar to Geforce 6800 GT card and flashed 6800 GT BIOS to it.

rohit
12-29-04, 06:00 AM
loox to be a bad/dead card...i still cant understand how does this come "NV40 revision A1 (4x1,1vp)"

anyways, can u return the card or sumthin?

mike2h
12-29-04, 12:58 PM
i know this seem silly & given what you have shown probably is not the problem but would you try hooking it up to another power lead that has nothing else hooked up to it. i am sure you have this setup already, but it just might be a faulty power connect.
imo i would NEVER buy something like a video card from ebay. you ahve no idea what has been done to it & the chances are that since somebody is getting rid of a brand new top of the line(almost) card in a forum like that, whatever was done to it was not pretty. i know that is not helping your situation, just some friendly advice.
anyway as stated above, get rid of that turkey & make sure you give the seller a nice negative rating. good luck.

Database Freak
12-29-04, 01:35 PM
Regarding the pipelines and vertex shaders: I switched off all other pipelines and vertex shaders to see if that would help but it didn't.

but it just might be a faulty power connect.
imo i would NEVER buy something like a video card from ebay

I have a 550W PWS so that couldn't be the bottleneck.
There are a lot of Graphic cards sold through eBay and since the seller had BuyersProtection it looked like a safe deal.

mike2h
12-29-04, 04:11 PM
Regarding the pipelines and vertex shaders: I switched off all other pipelines and vertex shaders to see if that would help but it didn't.



I have a 550W PWS so that couldn't be the bottleneck.
There are a lot of Graphic cards sold through eBay and since the seller had BuyersProtection it looked like a safe deal.
i was not talking about the psu itself but the connecting cable. i actually had one that was bad a while back. (imagine it was something in the psu itself).
did not seem to effect fans, but as soon as i hooked it up to hd's started having problems. switching took care of it.
about 99% sure that is not your problem but i figured i'd suggest it anyway.
imo some things are suitable buying through ebay. electronics ain't one of them. know to many people who have had issues. not to say this a majority, but enough to steer me away.

BioHazZarD
12-29-04, 04:27 PM
That sucks but you can never know if the card will work or not until you get it... still this should not happen.

Database Freak
12-29-04, 06:51 PM
rflair:
couldn't get Coolbit to work, the nVidia drivers only operated in safe mode (Hardware accelleration: none) which disables the special nVidia tabs in the display settings.

Nibitor showed:
Core Memory
3D 350 500
Thrtl -- --
2D -- --

Voltage is set at 1.3V is that enough/too much?
Timings are all -
Temperaturs, Core Slowdown is shows -- C

While powerstrip confirmed the 598 memory /199 core speed.

rflair
12-29-04, 11:17 PM
Very Strange, return it and be done with it.

You tested it in two computers, so you know its a bum card.

rflair
________
CT110 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Honda_CT110)

wrugoin
12-30-04, 01:13 AM
If the card is already smoked, why not try to flash the bios and and see if that's the problem. Try to find your bios for a Leadtek GT on http://www.mvktech.net and flash it, if it still doesn't work, then no further loss, but flashing the bios may solve your problem. But mvktech.net has a database of many different cards and you just might get lucky.

webmal
12-30-04, 11:27 AM
well I have PayPal Buyer Protection on the eBay deal and can always order Visa to credit the payment.

FYI PayPal Buyer Protection does cover situations where the quality of the product is questionable.

Database Freak
12-30-04, 06:39 PM
FYI PayPal Buyer Protection does cover situations where the quality of the product is questionable.

Yes I have read that on the PayPal site as well. Just phoned PayPal up and they helped me file a complaint. According to the guy on the phone I would get my money back, whether they could get it back from the Seller or not. I just have to wait now for further instructions, either I have to get a statement form a computer shop that the card is disfunctional or send the card back to the Seller or send it back to PayPal so that they check wether it works or not.

Thanks all here, you have helped me a lot, especially rflair.