PDA

View Full Version : How's this sound for a barebones (Neo2 Plat)


Am_I_Evil
12-29-04, 11:58 AM
Pre-Tested and Setup AMD Athlon 64/FX (939) Barebones System - $18.00

Case - No PS - Thermaltake VA3000BWA Tsunami Dre - $110.00

Power Supply - PS 500W - Ultra X-Connect ULT31558 ATX 12 - $92.00

Motherboard - MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Audio/GB-LAN/USB/IE - $139.00

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 512K 90nm (939) - $259.00

Heatsink Fan - Thermaltake A1772 AMD Recommended - $35.00
(will eventually get a XP-90, but this is the best one they offer at MonarchComputer where i am getting the barebone system)

Thermal Grease - Shin-Etsu G675 Thermal Grease - $14.00

Memory - 1 GB (2 pcs 512) DDR (550) PC-4400 Corsair (TWINX1024-4400C25PT) - $269.00

Order Total: $936.00


not getting this until probably Feb./Mar. so the prices will probably be pretty different, but how does that sound as of this point...


i already have the HDs and everything, but i may add a 300GB Maxtor with a 16MB cache....

and i already own a BFG 6800 Ultra OC that i am not looking to replace/or buy a new card any time soon....

Am_I_Evil
01-01-05, 07:12 PM
so....no opinions then....

i'm most likely going to get this....but i was just checking to see if anyone had any better recomendations, or maybe horror stories with 1 of the parts put with another....

jAkUp
01-01-05, 07:50 PM
Can't go wrong :) Only thing I would change is thermal grease... I would take Arctic Silver 5

Am_I_Evil
01-01-05, 08:40 PM
Can't go wrong :) Only thing I would change is thermal grease... I would take Arctic Silver 5


that's all they offer....eventually i will get an XP-90 and use AS5 but until then it will be this....

AthlonXP1800
01-01-05, 09:11 PM
Can't go wrong :) Only thing I would change is thermal grease... I would take Arctic Silver 5

I guess Arctic Semen 5 wont work. (snowlol)

jAkUp
01-02-05, 12:12 AM
I guess Arctic Semen 5 wont work. (snowlol)

Apparantly its conductive (xmastong)

john19055
01-02-05, 04:12 AM
The sound is alright but it does not compare to a Audigy even if you have cheap 2.1 speaker set up.IMO

1337_Like_ThaT
01-02-05, 04:34 AM
The sound is alright but it does not compare to a Audigy even if you have cheap 2.1 speaker set up.IMO

I agree, get yourself a nice SoundBlaster Live or even an Audigy 2 ZS and you'll notice a difference. Believe me i noticed a difference going from onboard to a SoundBlaster Live. Clarity was cleaner and the audio had a stronger output allowing for better, more powerful sound. If the Neo Platinum board you were getting had SoundStorm, which unfortunately only few NF2 boards did, I would say stick with onboard Audio, but in this case, upgrade!

Am_I_Evil
01-02-05, 11:34 AM
i was going to take the audigy from my old computer (the one i am replacing) and then just use the onboard on the old computer.....

jAkUp
01-02-05, 11:53 AM
I agree, get yourself a nice SoundBlaster Live or even an Audigy 2 ZS and you'll notice a difference. Believe me i noticed a difference going from onboard to a SoundBlaster Live. Clarity was cleaner and the audio had a stronger output allowing for better, more powerful sound. If the Neo Platinum board you were getting had SoundStorm, which unfortunately only few NF2 boards did, I would say stick with onboard Audio, but in this case, upgrade!

Its an NForce3... Soundstorm is now dead, he has AC97 :(