PDA

View Full Version : What would you rather have?


gate1975mlm
12-30-04, 12:41 PM
What would most of you rather have?

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ with 2GB Dual Channel Memory 2.5.3.3.6
or
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ with 1GB Dual Channel Memory 2.2.2.2.5

Both DDR400

|JuiceZ|
12-30-04, 01:13 PM
Anything over 1gig is overkill unless you do a lot of graphics works and/or 3d rendering.

GamerGuyX
12-30-04, 01:20 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ with 1GB Dual Channel Memory 2.2.2.2.5 without even a doubt.

ynnek
12-30-04, 02:31 PM
depends how much ram your using..

Does stuff like EQ2 and a few games access more than 1 gig now?

Marcos
12-30-04, 02:37 PM
are you mad get the 3500+ !!!!11111

dsessom
12-30-04, 03:29 PM
There is only a $50 difference between the 3200+ and 3500+ (socket939) on NewEgg. Why not get the 3500+ AND 2GB memory?

Nutty
12-30-04, 05:05 PM
2nd one definitly.

Sazar
12-30-04, 05:10 PM
Anything over 1gig is overkill unless you do a lot of graphics works and/or 3d rendering.

what he said...

SH64
12-30-04, 06:03 PM
3500+ wizout a doubt (xmasgrin)

jAkUp
12-30-04, 06:04 PM
3500+ :)

wrugoin
12-30-04, 06:40 PM
EASY!!!! Get the 3500+. You won't have a memory bottleneck for at least a year or so for gaming and you could always add more in the future. Think of it this way, if you want a better CPU, you have to get rid of the old one, if you want more memory, you can always add more to your original investment. The beauty of multiple memory slots.

Toss3
12-31-04, 06:00 AM
Get the 3500+ :)

and omg, multiple cpu sockets would be nice :) they could work in SLi or something :D

Fahim
12-31-04, 05:05 PM
I'd take A64 3500+ package. 1GB is enough (presently) for games and other apps.

JRepin
01-01-05, 05:43 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ and 1 GiB of memory.

rewt
01-01-05, 08:15 PM
Anything over 1gig is overkill unless you do a lot of graphics works and/or 3d rendering.

or unless you plan on running a game server.

_Thanatos_
01-02-05, 11:15 AM
3500+

-=DVS=-
01-03-05, 10:52 PM
In your case id go with faster CPU , but more ram is always nice :drooling:

zoomy942
01-03-05, 10:57 PM
i would do the 3500+, but why not get 1.5 gb of ram for now?

1337_Like_ThaT
01-04-05, 07:10 PM
F*** it, go FX-55 :D

JK, You'll see a more noticable difference in performace with the 3500, rathen than with 2GB of Ram. Especially if you OC that bad boy ;)

CaptNKILL
01-04-05, 07:46 PM
What would most of you rather have?

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ with 2GB Dual Channel Memory 2.5.3.3.6
or
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ with 1GB Dual Channel Memory 2.2.2.2.5

Both DDR400
Why not just buy a 3000+ 90nm and overclock it? The 3500+ 90nm will cost you more than twice as much (newegg has the 3000+ for $152 and the 3500+ for $329).

As far as I know, they have similar overclocking results.

I say, go for 1gig and a 3000+ and overclock it (most people get 2.5Ghz out of them easily). Put the extra money toward really nice cooling or a great PSU or video card.