PDA

View Full Version : Help ! System shuts down in SLI mode


Lore
01-01-05, 10:55 AM
As soon as i play a game in SLI mode the PC shuts down after a few seconds of playing. Anyone having this trouble also ? Don't know what to do :(

shawn1998
01-01-05, 12:03 PM
It would really help if you posted your system specs. Sounds like either psu or heat related, though.

Shawn

Lore
01-01-05, 12:08 PM
ocz 520 powerstream
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe
2 x raptor 74 on raid 0
2 xfx 6800gt pci sli
1 GB ocz 3700 platinum
fx 55

It was crashing in 1280 x 1024 resolution, i dropped it to 1024 x 768 - seems fine at that. I dont know why it's struggling in that resolution tho, could be a driver issue

Lore
01-01-05, 12:24 PM
Darn, it's still doin it. Maybe a heat issue as you say but i got plenty of fans and that

Dazz
01-01-05, 02:18 PM
What drivers are you running?

Lore
01-01-05, 02:24 PM
Tried a few, does same thing - 71.20 at the minute.
Don't know what else to try, i've updated the bios, switched cards around - everything is connected, molex in ez plug etc.

BladeRunner
01-01-05, 03:23 PM
May not be related to your issue but I had installation troubles due to the system ram voltage being set to "auto" in the bios. Changed this to 2.75v and it solved my problems...

Lore
01-01-05, 03:30 PM
Thanks, i'll try that

Lore
01-01-05, 03:38 PM
I tried that but unfortunately it didn't work :( Thanks anyway

BladeRunner
01-01-05, 04:27 PM
Other things to try:-

Open the PC and set a desk fan blowing flat out at the card / NB area, to 99.9% rule out heat as a reason.

Check the event log to see if that has any errors listed for the crash / reboots?

Have you tried both cards separately under the same load conditions? Very important as it could have one bad or unstable card, (the one not in use when enabling SLI for instance). same applies to the sys Ram if you have more than one stick.

Remove & reseat all the cards, connectors, Ram, etc, etc.

Download rthdribl (http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/index.html) and run it windowed along with an app that reports your voltages, (not sure MBM supports this board now as it's dead), will see if I can dig out an app that will, not sure if the Asus supplied one does. This way you can see what your PSU rails are doing under SLI load.

Try another PSU if possible, If you only have a lower spec PSU you can run all peripherals from it as a test to take some of the load off your main one.

BTW.... Mine has been 100% stable with Bios 1002 / 66.93's / XP Sp2

Subtestube
01-01-05, 04:29 PM
Also, check for an updated BIOS. A while ago there was a fellow with a similar problem that was fixed purely by updating his MoBo bios.

Lore
01-01-05, 04:48 PM
The first primary card is running 10 degrees hotter than the other - 1st gpu 49 2nd 40. Thanks for your input fellas, much appreciated
I have put the latest bios in for the board, there was no report in the event log either.

Lore
01-03-05, 06:45 AM
It was the OCZ 520 that was the problem, it kept shutting down on me ; gotta be a faulty so i'm gonna RMA it. I put my other Tagan 480 in and it runs sweet now.
Thanks for your help

lee63
08-24-05, 06:59 AM
I have the same kind of problem but, my PSU should be able to handle 2 GTX's, Im realy lost here HELP!!!! :mad:

saturnotaku
08-24-05, 08:16 AM
I have the same kind of problem but, my PSU should be able to handle 2 GTX's, Im realy lost here HELP!!!! :mad:

But what it should do and what it actually is doing are two completely different things. Try everything suggested here, but start with the power supply.

jAkUp
08-24-05, 12:02 PM
What temps is your CPU running at?

lee63
08-24-05, 06:04 PM
What temps is your CPU running at? CPU temps are in the low 40's GPU's temp's are low 50's :confused:

jAkUp
08-24-05, 07:38 PM
Do you have a different powersupply that you can test?

lee63
08-24-05, 08:41 PM
Do you have a different powersupply that you can test? No I dont,is there a PSU testing softwear so I can test this one?

lee63
08-29-05, 07:06 PM
OK power supply is fine as is the rest of my hardwear. All temps are OK, mabey its somthing to do with Win XP 64 thoughts please :confused: