PDA

View Full Version : Advice on new CPU


pigfukerd
01-01-05, 08:44 PM
I am upgrading my pc that I use for music applications and word processing and would like to know which would be the best cpu to but, and athlon xo, or a sempron. I am looking to spend somewhere int the $70-80 range for the new cpu and options are limited. So, would it be better to get something like an athlon xp 2400+, and a sempron 2500 or 2600?

I will be using this cpu to run apps like cubase, audition, band in a box, guitar pro, etc.
My motherboard does support 400mhz cpus, and ddr3200. The chipset is sis746.

lol, I am sure about anything would be better than this old 900mhz tbird i have in here, but I wanted to ask you guys so that I can get the best band for my buck, because I know some of you have probably had experience with both cpus.

I have heard that the athlon xps multitask waaaay better than the semprons. Is this true?

superklye
01-01-05, 08:51 PM
well, the Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core has 512KB L2 cache whereas the Semprons only have 256KB. And the 2500+ OCs like a mofo.

pigfukerd
01-01-05, 09:49 PM
Thanks for the quick reply superkye.

I now have another question. In my gaming pc I have an xp 2400+ Thoroughbred. This cpu is plenty fast enough to do what I want concerning music apps and stuff, and I was thinking about taking it out and putting it in my other pc and upgrading mymain pc to a barton 3200+ 400mhz.
This way I can kill 2 birds with one stone so to speak. (xmastong)


Anyways, my question is, would I be able to tell a lot of improvment in my games and stuff if I upgraded from the 2400+ to a 3200 barton 400mhz?
My videocard is a 9700pro.

superklye
01-01-05, 09:55 PM
Yeah, as I said before, the Bartons have 512KB L2 cache, the Tbreds only have 256KB (like the Semprons) so there would be a noticeable improvement in speed from that, not to mention higher clock speeds.

However, I suggest you save the money that you would be spending on a 3200+ and just get an XP 2500+ M (it runs on much lower voltage than the standard 2500+) and then set the FSB to 200 and the CPU multiplier to 11. That is 2.2GHz which is what the 3200+ runs at.

That's basically what I did with my setup except I have a 2600+ desktop.

pigfukerd
01-02-05, 01:19 AM
lol, I have one more question. I have now decided to to break down and upgrade my mobo and everythign and goto an athlon 64 2800 or 3000.

My simple question for those fo you who have used the 64bit cpus, is how noticable is the difference between them and the xps?

I have looked at all the benchmarks and stuff, but I just wanted some opinions from some of the board members. Thanks!

superklye
01-02-05, 01:31 AM
make sure you go socket 939 (758 or whatever it is is dead).

jAkUp
01-02-05, 01:37 AM
Yes definetely go 939, and yes, an A64 is quite a performance upgrade from a standard XP.

rewt
01-02-05, 01:38 AM
My simple question for those fo you who have used the 64bit cpus, is how noticable is the difference between them and the xps?

Athlon XP 2500+ overclocked can beat Athlon64 2800+. If thats any indication of the speed difference...

I'd go with the 2500 and save some cash. I got mine for 85 bucks brand new. And like superklye says, they overclock like monsters!