PDA

View Full Version : How does one-sided PC133 256 mb SDRAM work?


Treason
01-03-05, 07:07 PM
It retails as 256 mb PC 133 SDRAM CL3, but the ram chips are on one side only. Boot up bios mem-check and windows control panel system properties report 128 mb.

CPU-Z and other similar programs report it as 256 mb. The fact that the ram chips are on one side only makes me suspicious it was mislabeled, but apparently that's how they're sold. The SDRAM is Azenram brand.

Starscream
01-03-05, 07:32 PM
It sounds like the ram is just newer high density memory and your board doesn't like it.

We sell single sided 256's of sd where I work, and they only work properly in some boards.

Buy some lower density memory double sided memory and it'll probably be fine.

Daneel Olivaw
01-03-05, 08:06 PM
Indeed, seems your system is a first generation p3 or athlon, if boot says you have 128 mb, then your mobo can't take single side 256mb pc133. Happened on my 440BX.

superklye
01-03-05, 08:18 PM
I'm really surprised people are actually still using non-DDR SDRAM.

Daneel Olivaw
01-03-05, 08:35 PM
Hmmm, you dissin' my 1.6GHz P3?
I'm really surprised people are still using soundblaster live! cards...

superklye
01-03-05, 08:44 PM
Hmmm, you dissin' my 1.6GHz P3?
I'm really surprised people are still using soundblaster live! cards...
Hey! I wasn't dissing anything/one! I really am surpised. :-\

And I know, the SBLive! sucks.

GamerGuyX
01-03-05, 09:22 PM
I'm really surprised people are actually still using non-DDR SDRAM.

Well some people (like my dad for example) use there computer for nothing but internet and the like. Any type of memory is good in those cases.

Daneel Olivaw
01-03-05, 09:26 PM
Hey! I wasn't dissing anything/one! I really am surpised. :-\

And I know, the SBLive! sucks.

I should've put a smiley on that. :) I'm really really looking for a way to plug my 1.6GHz P3 in a post.

I'd like to see a surpised smiley, is this one surpised?: :afro2:

$n][pErMan
01-03-05, 10:15 PM
Wait .. SD-RAM still exists?!?! :p Acctually... I still have 32 megs of the old EDO sitting around. 4 sticks of 8mb :-D

Cota
01-04-05, 12:43 AM
I should've put a smiley on that. :) I'm really really looking for a way to plug my 1.6GHz P3 in a post.

I'd like to see a surpised smiley, is this one surpised?: :afro2:

I tought P3 topped at 1.3ghz

Treason
01-04-05, 01:34 AM
Damn it!

I have a P3 450 on a 440ZX Trigem Napoli-2, a P3 500 on a 440BX Abit BE6, and a P2 350 on a 440BX Asus P2B. They all report 128 mb with this ram!

These computers are used for internet browsing and word processing only.

I'm kind of reaching, but would any of you know what intel chipset SLOT-1 motherboard would support this type of high-density single sided SDRAM?

Daneel Olivaw
01-04-05, 07:30 AM
The only Intel I know of supporting this ram is from the Tualatin era. i815 and VIA apollo pro 133T.

Tualatin P3 reached 1.4GHz with 133 bus, celeron P3 reached 1400 with 100 bus. I overclock my 1.3 to 1.612. so I'm kinda fooling around with you all. :)

nIghtorius
01-04-05, 04:21 PM
[pErMan']Wait .. SD-RAM still exists?!?! :p Acctually... I still have 32 megs of the old EDO sitting around. 4 sticks of 8mb :-D

Sure SDRAM still exist.. they are in countless tastes...

SDR, DDR, DDR-II...

I think you made a mistake for relating SDRAM to SDR.. actually it's not related.

it's officially..

SDR-SDRAM (Single Data Rate - Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory)
DDR-SDRAM (Double Data Rate - Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory)
DDR-II SDRAM (Double Data Rate II - Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory)

so... SDRAM is still very alive. but FB-DIMM are coming!!
FB-DIMM stands for Fully Buffered Dual Inline Memory Modules.

more info @

http://www.elpida.com/en/news/2004/12-20.html

FastM
01-04-05, 04:48 PM
I see it alot where work, crappy part is the Double-side 256meg PC133 peices are almost double the cost of a single sided version 256meg version.

superklye
01-04-05, 05:17 PM
more info @

http://www.elpida.com/en/news/2004/12-20.html


...they will offer unprecedented speeds up to 4.8 Gigabits per second (Gbps) data rate, equivalent to 6.4 Gigabytes per second (GB/s) data bandwidth.

Huh? Since when do fewer bits = more bytes?

And whatever happened to XDR RAM?

Daneel Olivaw
01-04-05, 05:35 PM
there should be eight bits to a byte.

Starscream
01-04-05, 05:48 PM
I'm kind of reaching, but would any of you know what intel chipset SLOT-1 motherboard would support this type of high-density single sided SDRAM?

I haven't seen any. With intel chipsets anyway.

There might be some via chipset boards that'll see it, but I doubt it.

Treason
01-06-05, 05:38 PM
You're right. I'm going to need a Socket 370 motherboard.

:mad:

superklye
01-06-05, 06:00 PM
there should be eight bits to a byte.
yeah, that's what I'm saying...so how does 4.8 gigabits = 6.4 gigabytes?

rewt
01-06-05, 06:24 PM
4.8 gigabits = 600 megabytes

yey! I can divide :angel:

lol

nIghtorius
01-07-05, 07:41 PM
4.8 gigabits = 600 megabytes

yey! I can divide :angel:

lol

actually this make me wonder "what kind of process" is used to get to 6.4GB/s with 4.8Gbps?

I probably going to email them with the question how they get from 4.8Gbps to 6.4GB/s..