PDA

View Full Version : Unlocking my 6800GE with rivatuner 15.2?

Synergy
01-05-05, 06:04 AM
Ok I, like a few others out there bought this 'great' deal GT card only to find out its 12 pipelines and 5 vertex shaders. :mad:
Basically I need/want more performance from my card and I should not be CPU limited on my 2.8C @ 3.3GHZ running a gig of corsair xms3200xl

So what's the deal with this unlocking business. Is it for real? I've read all I can on the net and that's maybe three threads and there seems to be this 50% success rate flying around and some very happy ppl including a few 6800GE users.
I've never done anything like this before and want to know what the worst case scenario is. If it turns out like a too high overclock with artifacts and things like that do you simply remove the mod and the card is ok again? I read that the card is fine in some places but some ppl think it will be screwed after.
Also is it actually gonna give me better performance in games? I find it can't 'quite' hack doom3, HL2 or farcry on the max details which is what I expected from this card.
I have bought an NV5 arctic cooler for this card, it's sitting right here cos I don't know if its compatible with this card. Does anyone know before I open it? I would hope that the basic screw positions are the same on this card for GT/ULTRAS.

Thanks,

Syn

Synergy
01-05-05, 06:15 AM
http://forums.guru3d.com//showthread.php?threadid=108905&perpage=10&pagenumber=5

this is interesting from that thread:
Asus V9999 GE 16x1, 6vp

@stock 390/1.09 using 66.70 ForceWare:
12x1, 5vp 3DMark05: 4615
16x1, 6vp 3DMark05: 4936

with no artefacts.

also:
My AsusV9999GE is running 16x1,6vp beautifully. Success! Oc'ed to 420/1100 too. Am so happy. Benchmarks of doom3 and both 3dmarks also show improvements to a 6800ultra level.

Then there's this happy guy:
http://www.olegator.com/softmod/index.html

Seems like an easy soft-mod to do, but I am cautious with my PC!

Syn

Mud
01-05-05, 06:24 AM