PDA

View Full Version : HL2 in offline mode?


MX/MX400
01-06-05, 10:02 PM
Is this possible? I heard there was a way to do this but I can't remember what it was. I got my files dl'd and authenticated via Steam back in November, but now when I try and play in offline mode I get some error message saying it can't be done (though it lets me start up CS:S, HL1 and everything else in the silver package).

GamerGuyX
01-06-05, 10:04 PM
Is this possible? I heard there was a way to do this but I can't remember what it was. I got my files dl'd and authenticated via Steam back in November, but now when I try and play in offline mode I get some error message saying it can't be done (though it lets me start up CS:S, HL1 and everything else in the silver package).

OMG (omg)

YOGIx213
01-06-05, 10:19 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=42876

MX/MX400
01-06-05, 10:24 PM
lol ok thanks, I wasn't sure if it had to authenticate it every time or not but guess so. No HL2 over break 4 me then :(

1337_Like_ThaT
01-06-05, 10:27 PM
(welcome)

boxterduke
01-07-05, 01:33 PM
what i do if i do not want it to connect is unplug the network cable to disable the NIC card.
When you start steam is going to ask you that there are no connections and if you want to continue. just click on yes and you should be fine