PDA

View Full Version : Corsair Xpert = Drool !


Pages : [1] 2

SH64
01-07-05, 04:45 PM
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=20567

it gave the INQ a sneak preview of its brand new memory product, that we report exclusively on here today.

The line is called Corsair Xpert, and it features an incredible alpha-numeric display across the top of the modules. The modules report the temperature of the RAM, as well as their internal frequency and voltage. That's not all - using the custom Corsair Memory Dashboard software, you can programme the modules to say anything you want - perfect for all your case modders with windows in your systems.

Timings are 2-2-2-5 (DDR400) .

Review :
http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NzA3

man i so want a couple of these :drooling:

http://www.theinquirer.net/images/articles/corsairletters1.jpg

superklye
01-07-05, 04:50 PM
wow...that is so unnecesary, but so cool

rewt
01-07-05, 04:53 PM
that ram runs hotter than my CPU overclocked 500 MHz with stock hs/f

lol

circuitbreaker8
01-07-05, 07:42 PM
PC rice :D.....

Qinstaller
01-07-05, 08:00 PM
HardOCP has a review up of this ram!

SH64
01-07-05, 08:05 PM
HardOCP has a review up of this ram!

Ahh thanks .. i was looking for a review for it .
BTW heres the link :
http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NzA3

superklye
01-07-05, 08:31 PM
the review says it'll likely be $20-40 more than the Corsair pro series...how much does 1GB from the pro series cost, ballpark?

MikeC
01-07-05, 08:38 PM
$275. to $384.

Nutty
01-07-05, 08:48 PM
Who cares, it looks awesome!!!! :D

SH64
01-07-05, 08:53 PM
I got my 1Gig of Pro series for around $310 .. hmm so i need to shell out something like $350-$400 to get the Xpert . i just hope they become available soon before i spend my money on somethin' else :|

superklye
01-07-05, 09:03 PM
wow...$400 for 1GB? That's insane! Why not just spend a few more bucks and get 2GB?

jAkUp
01-07-05, 09:23 PM
OMG thats so awesome! My pro is awesome too but this is even better! Totally sweet

Only problem is I assume it will not let you use 2GB's because it blocks the slots :(

1337_Like_ThaT
01-07-05, 09:27 PM
Wow, that is some awesome stuff!!!! Completely a marketing gimmick since it is basically the same memory as the XLL series from Corsair (with customizable LED lights)...but i'd still buy it :D Hell I had spent $430 on my 1GB Corsair Pro 500 memory and dont' regret 1 penny of it. I'd make it so my Xpert memory would read "My PC OwnZ Your PC" LOL :p

SH64
01-07-05, 09:30 PM
Wow, that is some awesome stuff!!!! Completely a marketing gimmick since it is basically the same memory as the XLL series from Corsair (with customizable LED lights)...but i'd still buy it :D Hell I had spent $430 on my 1GB Corsair Pro 500 memory and dont' regret 1 penny of it. I'd make it so my Xpert memory would read "My PC OwnZ Your PC" LOL :p

I'm was already planning on upgrading my memory because i'm going for some serious overclocking (instead of my suxxor Kingston Value RAM i have now) . so the Xpert just came right on time !!! :D

besides my case has a whindow to see through & its right next to my monitor so i will see whatever i write on that dashboard :angel:

SH64
01-07-05, 09:38 PM
Only problem is I assume it will not let you use 2GB's because it blocks the slots :(

Yeah i suppose so . that was mentioned in the review . but whos gonna use 2GB anyway ?

Of course on most motherboards that use a 2x2 DIMM configuration, you will only be able to install two display units, not that you would need more anyway. The height of the display unit should ensure that you can still install four sticks of memory in just about any motherboard given the proper headroom.

circuitbreaker8
01-07-05, 09:52 PM
400$ for that ram is crazy. Its just corsair XL with LED's...


OCZ Platinum revision 2 > all


Try hitting 320mhz 1:1 with cas 2.5 then talk!

|JuiceZ|
01-07-05, 10:01 PM
wow...that is so unnecesary, but so cool

lol so true :D

jAkUp
01-07-05, 10:19 PM
Yeah i suppose so . that was mentioned in the review . but whos gonna use 2GB anyway ?

Maybe someday ;) By then we will probably all be using DDR2 anyways I guess...

Rakeesh
01-07-05, 10:40 PM
You know, having all of those extra lights in a case just adds to the heat problem.

Viral
01-07-05, 10:49 PM
Corsair got my money in 2003 and I wont be giving them anymore for at least another year. Lights or no lights.

Riptide
01-07-05, 11:00 PM
:lol2:

I hear that Viral. OCZ got two kits of 3200EL out of me last year - replacing them won't happen for at least another year.

Qinstaller
01-07-05, 11:33 PM
actualy an LED produces verry verry little heat. hardly even enuf to tell by touch.

Rakeesh
01-07-05, 11:53 PM
actualy an LED produces verry verry little heat. hardly even enuf to tell by touch.

Not necessarily the LED itself but the light that it is emitting. If you ever take a laser thermal sensor and hold it on something for about a minute, you can watch the temperature increase on that spot, and LED's emit much more light than lasers do.

bkswaney
01-07-05, 11:56 PM
Man that is like soooo cooool. :D

1337_Like_ThaT
01-08-05, 02:46 AM
Not necessarily the LED itself but the light that it is emitting. If you ever take a laser thermal sensor and hold it on something for about a minute, you can watch the temperature increase on that spot, and LED's emit much more light than lasers do.

So I should worry if my case temps jump from 45.0 to 45.1 degrees???!!!! :o
Seem like its time to buy the Waffer PC Air Conditioning unit LOL :D