PDA

View Full Version : Resident Evil 4 (1.11.05)

Pages : [1] 2 3

Mr. Hunt
01-08-05, 12:34 PM
Well this game should be on store shelves on the 11th or 12th of this month (next Tuesday or Wednesday) and I was just wondering who was getting it? It is coming for the Gamecube first, and PS2 is going to be getting it a few months down the road.

Anyway... I preordered mine last month and they gave me a demo and the game is pretty cool. I have been a big fan of Resident Evil games since the first one on the original PS. This one is very different though.

No zombies, although the new "Ganado" are VERY cool and it is a nice change of pace since they are smarter. They will put their hand in front of the face to stop you from getting a headshot, they will place ladders going onto roofs/into windows to get into a house where you are (if the door is barricaded). They will run after you and throw axes at you (of which you will have to shoot out of the air to stop from hitting you). There is also a very cool "chainsaw man" who has a sack over his face and carries a chainsaw. He will kill you instantly if he gets close to you by sawing your head off.... it makes it very intense when you are searching through the different houses and keep hearing his chainsaw and then he is right behind you :).

New setting... it is somewhere in Europe and it takes place in a village. The village seems like it varies though (judging from the trailers). I have seen places where there is a big lake (which has a nice looking boss fight judging from the trailers) and a big castle.

3D gameplay (again). Well Resident Evil: Code Veronica was 3d (instead of prerendered backgrounds) but that was it... they went back to Prerendered for other things. But now it is back and it looks great. The aiming is a bit weird because of how your lasersight is... but I like the control over the camera and the fact that I shouldn't get too many "death by camera angles" in this one.