PDA

View Full Version : Widescreen corruption issues with SLI'd 6800 GTs?


LineNoise
01-08-05, 01:29 PM
Can someone with a SLI 6800 GT setup confirm or deny what I've just read at the bottom of the page here: http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=a8nsli&page=5

I would presume even with a non-widescreen display running in a widescreen resolution would cause the issue.

I've got a system that is out of action due to damaged parts and part of the fix/update was going to be a pair of 6800GTs. However having read this I'm vary wary to purchase as I own a 23" widescreen LCD and the last thing I want to do is fork out the $$$s for two cards and a PSU only to find that widescreen doesn't work when gaming. :(

Also if anyone has experienced this in the past and has found a fix for it could you also let me know.

Thanks.

BladeRunner
01-08-05, 01:50 PM
Notice he mentions it was only happening with 6800 cards not GT or Ultras, and the 6600GT's were ok.

Pure speculation on my part as I don't have widescreen but it could be related to the same issues some were having with the GTO's

read this thread at #50

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=43015&page=4

LineNoise
01-08-05, 02:00 PM
Sounds a bit like it, odd that GamePC refer to it as a widescreen issue though and the article definitely reads as though they tested other resolutions. However the Asus 6800s they tested aren't on the certified list and that link has certainly eased my concern somewhat.

That said before I fork out nearly $2000 AU I'd really like to have someone (or three) run at 1920x1200 and say "No probs, go nuts". I've had a run of disaster hardware purchases and knowing my luck I'll get nailed again if I don't ask :P

BladeRunner
01-08-05, 02:15 PM
As said I'd do so for you if I could, It would be wise to investigate it further. Maybe try scanning all the 3d card forums and try some searches to see if there's anyone using a widescreen. Sure there must be quite a few with widescreen so you'd think we'd have had some posts about it by now if it affected 6800GT's / Ultra's. All that I can input further, is I've not seen one graphical or rendering errors with mine so far, but I've not tested as many games as jakUp for instance.. would be worth reading through his benchmarking topic if you've got the time.

I'm running the below spec..

Asus A8n-sli (stock other than NB sink redone with AS5)
Fx-53 @ FX55 (2600 13X200)
Crucial Ballistix 3200 1gb (2x512) (2.75v)
Leadtek 6800 GT (x2, consecutive) (stock)
wd raptor 10k 36gb (x2) raid 0
Enermax Noisetaker 600watt
XP sp2, 66.93's, bios 1002

LineNoise
01-08-05, 02:17 PM
Will do.

The only reference to something similar I can find is this: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=1098

That however isn't the clearest description but it is all I've found so far. Problem is the guy claims to have Ultras.

BladeRunner
01-08-05, 02:33 PM
Seems like our own private forum here :D

Anyhow this is probably not going to help much but read this topic

http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=31&threadid=1484878&enterthread=y

and the first one Last Starfighter links to, (esp the conclusion)

Someone in there claims to have solved his similar ultra problems with a driver, but of course we can't be 100% certain they were the same issue.

I think that original link you gave they were using 66.93's not newer, :confused:

LineNoise
01-08-05, 03:11 PM
From reading through that it almost sounds like there are a fair number of cards out there with SLI connectors that just flat out aren't compatible.

The one's I'm looking at (the XFX) are on the list over at http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_hardware_certified.html and I think all the cards people have been having problems with aren't on it.

BladeRunner
01-08-05, 03:59 PM
From reading through that it almost sounds like there are a fair number of cards out there with SLI connectors that just flat out aren't compatible.

The one's I'm looking at (the XFX) are on the list over at http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_hardware_certified.html and I think all the cards people have been having problems with aren't on it.

Yeah it does seem 6800 plain & GTO are potential hazards SLI wise, but it should be emphasised some of the stores were advertising these cards as SLi ready, (or showing SLi logos in their description).

I'm 90% confident you'll be ok with 6800 GT's esp ones on the nvidia compatibility list. Wouldn't hurt while waiting for your hardware to keep trying to find someone with GT ? Ultra's that has a widescreen just for some confirmation.


Butter Bandit

Was in jest really :) as we swapped those threads in a sort time span. It helps to have SLi of course, but most of the info I supplied was gained from reading topics and reviews...just being interested I guess ;)

kahloq
01-08-05, 06:27 PM
Im on the other side of it. I have widescreen 30" LCD, but not SLI. Sorry

shawn1998
01-08-05, 07:06 PM
I don't have a wide screen monitor, or I'd definately test it out for you. On a side note, I haven't had any issues (other than driver issues) with the two BFG 6800gt OC's in SLI mode. I have an NEC 22" crt monitor and have tried out every resolution supported with no graphical anomolies.

Shawn

BladeRunner
01-09-05, 06:36 AM
On further digging around it appears nVidia are not helping this with their own fudging of the details on their sites, (unintentional I'm sure, but I doubt that would comfort those having laid out the cash due to the misinformation)...

If you go to their UK site http://www.nvidia.co.uk/page/sli.html

I have a screen shot of this saved HERE (http://www.zfz.com/pictures/sli/nvidia_01.gif). in case they change it all, notice the link text I highlighted in Green.

Now that says and I quote;-

These PCI Express-based GeForce 6 Series GPUs support SLI technology:

GeForce 6800 Ultra
GeForce 6800 GT
GeForce 6800
GeForce 6600 GT

If you click the link you'd expect anything detailed to support SLI, but it details all the PCI-E cards inc GTO, 6200

now go to the USA site http://www.nvidia.com/page/sli.html

There's a screen shot of the page HERE (http://www.zfz.com/pictures/sli/nvidia_02.gif), the extra link text highlighted in pink

Same basic page but they have the extra link text about certified products. the link goes HERE (http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_hardware_certified.html)

The link goes to a list that only includes 6600GT 6800GT & 6800 Ultras.

a saved version HERE (http://www.zfz.com/pictures/sli/nvidia_03.gif)

To me this is misleading at best and unnecessarily confusing for the average buyer. On the one hand they are implying all PCI-E cards will work, esp the UK site, but on the US site at least, show another link contradicting this detailing the cards we know work. probably just a web site error but all the same daft it's not been spotted by their staff. I'll try sending an e-mail to them but probably wont get any response.... now if only I still had Jen-Husn Huang's e-mail address :rolleyes:

JGene
01-09-05, 11:46 PM
1920x1200 @ 60Hz is 138MHz of pixel data. I know that Single-Link DVI has a limitiation of 165MHz but I do know that a lot of GeForce 6 cards have issues running above 1600x1200 @ 60Hz (115MHz). ATi is not much better for the same reasons.

Anyways, I'd guess that maybe the video corruption issues aren't so much a widescreen problem but maybe because of high resolutions? I just had one guy e-mail me this past weekend about getting his GeForce4MX to work with his Sony SDM-P232W 23" LCD. He was saying that the newer drivers blocked 1920x1200 and nVIDIA's response was:

On some older drivers, we did not correctly meet the specifications for DVI compliance. The older drivers would allow the DVI output to run out of speciification which is why you may have been able to "overclock" the TMDS transmitter on your Geforce4 MX card to operate at higher DVI resolutions. Only graphic cards which feature a Silicone Image external TMDS transmitter chip on the card can officially support the 1920x1200 resolution digitally.

I run 1366x768 on my Sharp LC-37G4U without issue, however I do not run SLI.

BladeRunner
01-10-05, 04:21 AM
You could be right obout the higher res, but I thought we were more concentrating on this part of that review, mentioned eairlier in the text, either way need more end users with widescreen LCD's & SLI I guess :confused: :-

Keep in mind, this kind of effect only happened with two GeForce 6800 cards installed together and with SLI mode enabled. A single GeForce 6800 card did not show these problems, nor did two GeForce 6600 GT cards in SLI mode. This effect only also occurs in 3D mode, as our 2D desktop image did not show any signs of this effect. It also happens on both analog and direct digital monitors. Perhaps nVidia or Asus could clue us in as to what's happening here.

hooj
01-10-05, 04:29 PM
I've got two Leadtek PCIE 6800 GT's (which are on the Nvidia certified list) in SLI on an Asus A8N-SLI deluxe and i'm having all sorts of widescreen problems.
I can't test any suggestions as im away from home for a week, but heres my problems.

Attached to a Dell 2005FPW flat panel at 1680x1080 via DVI no DX game works properly at this resolution with SLI enabled. Windows is fine but when DX games that actually utilise SLI are run, the screen kinda shifts up and down, once every second.
HL2 is a good example. Change the res to something other than 1680x1080 and the sli works fine.
OpenGL ie Doom3 in SLI work fine, though as doom3 doesn't support widescreen the image is streched.
DX games that dont use SLI Battle for Middle Earth is one, work fine at 1680x1080.

I have tried all available drivers including beta's and none of them have sorted the problem.
Bios updates from Asus have done nothing either.
I have a new 600W OCZ powerstream on its way to replace an 480W Antec True Blue so that maybe the cause.

Either way I can't run the games I bought the system for in the optimum res for my screen.

BladeRunner
01-12-05, 11:59 AM
Found this while surfing not sure if it's related or useful...

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=120539

|JuiceZ|
01-12-05, 12:36 PM
I've got two Leadtek PCIE 6800 GT's (which are on the Nvidia certified list) in SLI on an Asus A8N-SLI deluxe and i'm having all sorts of widescreen problems.
I can't test any suggestions as im away from home for a week, but heres my problems.

Attached to a Dell 2005FPW flat panel at 1680x1080 via DVI no DX game works properly at this resolution with SLI enabled. Windows is fine but when DX games that actually utilise SLI are run, the screen kinda shifts up and down, once every second.
HL2 is a good example. Change the res to something other than 1680x1080 and the sli works fine.
OpenGL ie Doom3 in SLI work fine, though as doom3 doesn't support widescreen the image is streched.
DX games that dont use SLI Battle for Middle Earth is one, work fine at 1680x1080.

I have tried all available drivers including beta's and none of them have sorted the problem.
Bios updates from Asus have done nothing either.
I have a new 600W OCZ powerstream on its way to replace an 480W Antec True Blue so that maybe the cause.

Either way I can't run the games I bought the system for in the optimum res for my screen.

ouch, hate to hear that man :(

Hope thats driver related or else my upgrade path is gonna be detoured for a while.

SH64
02-06-05, 01:21 PM
May i ask those with the widescreen issues (6800GT/U owners) if they are still getting the same problem when SLi mode is switched off ??