PDA

View Full Version : Temperatures too high?


JimmyWang214
01-12-05, 08:40 PM
I'm running a Athlon 64 3200+ (Winchester) on a MSI K8n Neo2. I have a Thermalright Xp-90/Vantec Tornado combo for cooling with the requisite Arctic Silver 5. However, my temperature readings via Ntune say that my idle temperature on minimal fan (Fan controller is key when you're running a Tornado) is around 48 and when on full blast, its around 42. Haven't checked the load temperatures but my temperatures seem kind of high given that most people who have the same setup are having temps in around 30 idle. Is it possible that I put too much AS5 on the cpu or what?

Thanks in advance

Viral
01-12-05, 09:25 PM
Yes it is, check that the HS is seated properly also. Besides that, what are ambient temps? I have no idea where you are located or if you have aircon or not, so obviously you can't expect too much when your lowest obtainable temp is much higher than other peoples right now (although chances are that's not the case).

If you haven't already, read the AS5 application guide.

JimmyWang214
01-12-05, 09:48 PM
Yes it is, check that the HS is seated properly also. Besides that, what are ambient temps? I have no idea where you are located or if you have aircon or not, so obviously you can't expect too much when your lowest obtainable temp is much higher than other peoples right now (although chances are that's not the case).

If you haven't already, read the AS5 application guide.

Ambient temperature is 30, and yeah I read the AS5 application guide, but I might have smeared the AS5 prematurely since mounting the XP-90 is a bit of a hassle without some jiggling.

zoomy942
01-12-05, 10:10 PM
it all depends on how your airflow is. i have an antec superlanboy and my idle cpu is about 43 C. my gaming temp is about 50 C at the most. so, its warm, but not hot by any means.

superklye
01-12-05, 10:28 PM
is the temp threshold for the A64 line the same as the XP line?

JimmyWang214
01-13-05, 06:36 PM
it all depends on how your airflow is. i have an antec superlanboy and my idle cpu is about 43 C. my gaming temp is about 50 C at the most. so, its warm, but not hot by any means.

I'm using the Lian Li PC60 case, but I guess i SHOULD have a higher temperature since I'm only running technically one case fan, not including the two mini-fans that blow over the hard drive. I think everyone else has at least 3

Tr1cK
01-14-05, 09:20 AM
Id like to know what are considered max temps and voltages as well for my 3500 winchester. I can run 2.5 all day long but it gets up to 56c and thats at about 1.62 volts.

Ninjaman09
01-14-05, 10:03 AM
Your temps sound perfectly fine to me, Jimmy. I wouldn't worry about it.

Dazz
01-14-05, 11:14 AM
It's MSI's BIOS they suck they are crap and don't detect it correctly. It's ok on some boards and not on others.

superklye
01-15-05, 12:45 AM
is the temp threshold for the A64 line the same as the XP line?
?

rewt
01-15-05, 12:56 AM
is the temp threshold for the A64 line the same as the XP line?

Generally speaking, no. Many Athlon64 chips, the max die temp is about 70C. Compared to desktop Athlon XPs around 85C max.

However the mobile Athlon64 and mobile XP chips can withstand much higher - up to 100C.

superklye
01-15-05, 01:26 AM
Generally speaking, no. Many Athlon64 chips, the max die temp is about 70C. Compared to desktop Athlon XPs around 85C max.

However the mobile Athlon64 and mobile XP chips can withstand much higher - up to 100C.
holy crap...and are the 64-M chips also socket 939?

bkswaney
01-15-05, 01:33 AM
Generally speaking, no. Many Athlon64 chips, the max die temp is about 70C. Compared to desktop Athlon XPs around 85C max.

However the mobile Athlon64 and mobile XP chips can withstand much higher - up to 100C.

WOW... the moble chip rocks heat! ;)

kev13dd
01-16-05, 02:15 AM
**Edited by jAkUp**

Was this comment necessary?