PDA

View Full Version : What to upgrade next...


Matthius
11-24-02, 04:57 AM
Okay, so my computer is crap, and im upgrading it slowly. dont ask why, but i am. But what should i upgrade first? motherboard, ram, cpu? im guessing most of you would say motherboard and cpu...

MY COMPUTER:

AX6L Aopen motherboard
500mhz celeron cpu
192mb sd ram
geforce2 32mb
crap sound blaster sound card
52 speed cd drive
40x48x.....something im getting it next week.

yeah, yeah, its crap, but i dont want to waste all my money on a new one cause im getting a new one, but thats not at my house....too hard to explain, but i want the one thats 5 feet away from me to be good...what should i upgrade first! i'd like an order for all those...

The Baron
11-24-02, 08:40 AM
mobo, cpu, and ram.

madthumbs
11-24-02, 09:50 AM
Sound card, dvd burner :p

nin_fragile14
11-24-02, 09:52 AM
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
mobo, cpu, and ram.

^^^^

FastM
11-24-02, 12:25 PM
Mobo, CPU, Memory AND PowerSupply

thcdru2k
11-24-02, 12:29 PM
all at the same time of course...

Ryo-Ohki
11-24-02, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by Matthius
Okay, so my computer is crap, and im upgrading it slowly. dont ask why, but i am. But what should i upgrade first? motherboard, ram, cpu? im guessing most of you would say motherboard and cpu...


Since there have been so many technological steps since the day PCs like yours ruled the world, upgrading the mobo is the obvious first step. :)

It means a different chipset (in a word a new CPU), a different kind of RAM also.

So you've got your minimum required upgrade package.

Then, FastM is right when mentionning the PSU, since modern components (especially the graphic card) are power-hungry. We're looking at preserving future scalability. A new case might also be in order depending on the one you're currently using (essentially for better airflow and overall system temperature).

After that, your choice. You can choose to get a new graphic card. Your new mobo will in all likelyhood support ATA-100, if not ATA-133, so it would be interesting to get a bigger, faster drive which can take advantage of it. Options are countless.

pelly
11-24-02, 01:16 PM
A great option for you would be the inexpensive ( but loved ) ECS K7S5A motherboard.

It accepts both SDRAM and DDR memory ( so you can use your current 192MB and upgrade to DDR in the future ).

The best part would be the price....Newegg.com has the mobo on sale for only $56 with free shipping!

Add to that an Athlon XP 1600+ ( that overclock like a champ ) for only 56.99 shipped free and you've got yourself one healthy upgrade for less than $115!!!

( spend the money and get a good power supply though....it'll help when you go overclocking that Athlon XP )

:D

ragejg
11-25-02, 12:43 PM
1600's don't OC well unless you mobo OC's well!!

<ahem>

That ECS mobo doesn't OC well from what I've heard in these forums, although it sounds like to many that it's a great starting point...

And Pelly, if you're not careful, I'll go to the darn feedback forum and start a long, laborious thread about you giving **** advice!

JK

:D
:D
:D

Replace Celeron 500 w/Celeron 950-1.3?
Upgrade RAM to 384 or more?
GF4MX420 PCI if that mobo's PCI only... some OC decent...

This combo set up correctly would bang out UT2k3 @ 800x600 Low detail, BF1942 @ 800x600 med. detail, Quake 3 @ anything, etc etc you get the picture... Is that the performance you're looking for? Cuz if not then ECS all the way (unless you wanna OC)...


...yes I've heard about the OCer's BIOS, but realize some users' apprehension on that topic...

pelly
11-26-02, 05:42 PM
Er....I'd think twice about a few of those suggestions rage.... :p

Don't waste your time ( or money for that matter ) on a PCI graphics card unless it is your only option...Furthermore, with the rescent prices of cards dropping, you can opt for a GeForce4 Ti4200 for almost the same amount as some GF4 MX's...a huge performance boost for little to no extra money!

Chances are, you'll be using a new mobo in the very near future which will have an AGP slot. This will allow you to use a much faster card and will provide a good platform for future upgrades.

With the falling prices of today's "high-end" CPU's with larger cache, it seems crazy to opt for a Celeron. Here, the cheapest Celeron at Newegg ( 1.1Ghz ) is $45 compared to the MUCH faster XP 1600+ for $54. That will certainly be the best $9 you've ever spent!

192MB of SDRAM is plenty for the time being...It is almost a sure bet that you'll be upgrading to DDR in the near future...why waste money buying memory you'll ditch in the future? Instead, use that money to buy DDR memory which will improve performance and not be obsolete in a year.

OC'ing the system is an option...though in stock form, you'd still have MUCH better performance. For an increibly low price, you'd have a huge performance increase and would be more than happy with the results...

Let us know how things go and what you end up doing...

Good luck!!!


:D

Matthius
11-26-02, 06:00 PM
err, thanks for the help. but what i have isn't actually that bad. i can run battlefield 1942 with almost no trouble...seams strange to me. ull well, ill just get a new mobo and cpu + case, cause mine gets dusty pretty fast. and i didn't realize how crap sd ram was compared to ddr untill i went too my friends house, we experimented by replacing different parts in my computer with parts in his, bla bla bla. thnx for the help

pelly
11-26-02, 08:11 PM
Glad we could help!

Just out of curiosity...two quick questions...

What resolution are you playing BF1942 with......and what GF2 card are you using?

:confused: