PDA

View Full Version : 1920 x 1200 on 6800 Ultra via DVI?


flurry
01-20-05, 05:13 PM
Anyone run this setup? Want to go bigger lcd than my 2001 fp @1600x1200 DVI. Curious if these cards can drive one of the new wide aspect lcd's such as the PremierePro or the HP 23"ers. Native 1920x1200. ne1?

Thanks,

Flurry

GlowStick
01-20-05, 05:17 PM
The answer is yes and No.

99.9% of the Ultras you will find out on the market use this setup for the DVI ports, one runs off the Chips Internal transmitter, and one runs off a third party transmistter.

The port that runs off the external transmitter will beable to use Reduced Blanking and run a display at 1920x1200@60Hz, while the other port will only beable to run a panel at 1600x1200@60Hz

Hope that helps!

flurry
01-20-05, 05:24 PM
Ok, thanks! :) Question. Does that fall under dual dvi single link support?
If my card supports that, it should work?

Flurry

GlowStick
01-20-05, 05:31 PM
Ok, thanks! :) Question. Does that fall under dual dvi single link support?
If my card supports that, it should work?

Flurry
Yes, Your card has two DVI ports, but they cannot work togehter for super high res monitors.

But Like i said, your Ultra will run one panel at 1920x1200, and the other is limited at 1600x1200.

flurry
01-20-05, 05:36 PM
Gotcha! Thanks much :D

Dr.Nick
01-20-05, 06:23 PM
The answer is yes and No.

99.9% of the Ultras you will find out on the market use this setup for the DVI ports, one runs off the Chips Internal transmitter, and one runs off a third party transmistter.

The port that runs off the external transmitter will beable to use Reduced Blanking and run a display at 1920x1200@60Hz, while the other port will only beable to run a panel at 1600x1200@60Hz

Hope that helps!


That is interesting, thanks for the info. But how can one tell which port runs off the external transmitter?

GlowStick
01-20-05, 08:45 PM
That is interesting, thanks for the info. But how can one tell which port runs off the external transmitter?
Well the cool thing is DVi monitors are plug n play, kinda like usb so you can just test it.

Otherwise Id use this logic.

The ultra pcb is exactly like the gt accept they need to change the vga port to dvi, so im gonna assume that the 'spot' that would be the vga port has the external transmitter.

Salad
01-21-05, 01:00 AM
I am running a 9700Pro with a 23" Apple Display (1920x1200 and a CRT. The CRT seems to do 1600x1200 fine. There are other resolutions available but I cant relly tell if it looks like it should. Im on a 17" CRT and only runn it up to 12x10 sometimes...my 6800-128 also worked at this res and monitors...