PDA

View Full Version : What gaming resolution for 6800nu?


Samduhman
01-21-05, 06:59 PM
Hi,

Installed my new Leadtek 6800nu and toyed around with my games a little to see how high I can crank up the graphics. Doom 3 now plays fantastic.

Anyway I play all the lastest and greatest 3D, Strategy, Racing, RPG, etc games. What is the recommended resolution, AA and AF for my setup and this card? Is there a general setting that works for most games? My old 9700pro worked well for me at 1152x864, 2AA and 4AF.....until the games of 2004 hit. Thats when I knew I needed an upgrade.

Thanks

wrugoin
01-21-05, 07:09 PM
Hi,

Installed my new Leadtek 6800nu and toyed around with my games a little to see how high I can crank up the graphics. Doom 3 now plays fantastic.

Anyway I play all the lastest and greatest 3D, Strategy, Racing, RPG, etc games. What is the recommended resolution, AA and AF for my setup and this card? Is there a general setting that works for most games? My old 9700pro worked well for me at 1152x864, 2AA and 4AF.....until the games of 2004 hit. Thats when I knew I needed an upgrade.

Thanks

I see we have very close to the same setup. With the 2004 games: FarCry, Doom3, HL2, Sims2, Vampires:Bloodlines, PoP Warrior Within, I game at 1024 and just add a bit more eyecandy. I keep my settings at 4xAA 4xAF. At those settings I can game with nice FPS and still have great picture quality. Though I say this as person where performance is more important then quality. I like the games to look good, but for me, 1600x1200 4xAA 16xAF is overkill. So, If you don't like 1024, I'm sure you can raise it to 1280 and game with ok frame rates, but the 128mb of memory will limit us on how high we can set the FSAA at the higher resolutions.

BioHazZarD
01-21-05, 07:10 PM
I use 1280 resolution with no aa at the moment.

Mr_LoL
01-21-05, 07:25 PM
i think optimal settings will be 1024*768 with 4aa and 8af. well thats what i use for all my games :)

toxikneedle
01-21-05, 07:46 PM
It always depends on the game, I use 1280x960 on most games cuz thats my desktop res . For example my HL2 runs @ 1280x960 w/ 4aa and 4af