PDA

View Full Version : barton cpu compatibility..


demonized
11-25-02, 02:34 AM
i read on the frontpage that the nforce 2 would probobly support the barton CPU, will it be the same with KT333 and KT400 motherboards?

newbenji
11-25-02, 02:53 AM
Dont count on it. maybe the kt400. But via will soon release a new chipset i think.

/Benji

Smokey
11-25-02, 01:39 PM
Well I was just reading the MSI forums today, and they say that the KT3 will not support the new AMD cpus with 166FSB but the KT3-2 will :rolleyes: Qs with my board and many others on that forum, Sandra2003 reports that my board does in fact support 166 cpu and 166 FSB, so I guess we will have to see someone try and see what the outcome is. FYI not all the KT3 motherboards have the same chipsets according to Sandra 2003.

SocketAzzWipe
11-25-02, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by demonized
i read on the frontpage that the nforce 2 would probobly support the barton CPU, will it be the same with KT333 and KT400 motherboards?

I can bet a Toonie($2 Canadian) that KT333/KT400 WON'T support Barton...since Bartion will be 200mhz raw FSB...KT333/KT400 can't handle a 1/6th PCI divider...
Nforce2 on the other hand doesn't even need a divider...so Barton will work for sure...

stncttr908
11-25-02, 07:56 PM
It looks like my next system will be nforce2...

Dazz
11-25-02, 08:02 PM
The KT400A / KT333A+ does when they come out lol

Smokey
11-25-02, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
The KT400A / KT333A+ does when they come out lol

There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?

StealthHawk
11-25-02, 09:38 PM
Originally posted by Smokey
There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?
i think it was made official at Comdex...could be wrong though.

SocketAzzWipe
11-25-02, 11:19 PM
Originally posted by Smokey
There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?

They say that initially it will be 166...then eventually 200mhz...

GodzillaFan
11-28-02, 11:31 PM
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe
I can bet a Toonie($2 Canadian) that KT333/KT400 WON'T support Barton...since Bartion will be 200mhz raw FSB...KT333/KT400 can't handle a 1/6th PCI divider...
Nforce2 on the other hand doesn't even need a divider...so Barton will work for sure...

But most Nforce2 boards wont even run 400fsb/400mem stable. unless you want to run barton with 400fsb/300mem. Which would be even slower then 266/266. :rolleyes:

I dont see a bios update increasing high mem/fsb stability. But I guess anything's possible.

SocketAzzWipe
11-29-02, 12:13 AM
Originally posted by GodzillaFan
But most Nforce2 boards wont even run 400fsb/400mem stable. unless you want to run barton with 400fsb/300mem. Which would be even slower then 266/266. :rolleyes:

I dont see a bios update increasing high mem/fsb stability. But I guess anything's possible.

What? What stability?
Infact, Anand has said that they Nvidia had Barton running stable at 200mhz FSB...
I'm just the messenger...tell Anand that he's wrong....don't tell me.

SocketAzzWipe
11-29-02, 12:17 PM
Here is a dude's 3dmark score...running at 199mhz air cooled with 1.8volts...

http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=5120647

GodzillaFan
11-29-02, 05:02 PM
I see that... Im thinking of picking up some XMS3200/3500 and testing for myself. My crucial maxes out at 195mhz

memory is so expensive now... :mad: I think I bought the memory I have now for ~$40/256 stick...