PDA

View Full Version : using artic silver 5

toby1
01-26-05, 06:18 AM
hi i have a 6800gt at the moment in a shuttle sn85g4v2, and i want my card to be cooler so i can over clock a little more, will using artic silver 5 improve cooling alot on my chip or is it not worth it?

any other suggestion would be good to, im a complete noob when it comes to cooling :rolleyes:

mustrum
01-26-05, 06:28 AM
hi i have a 6800gt at the moment in a shuttle sn85g4v2, and i want my card to be cooler so i can over clock a little more, will using artic silver 5 improve cooling alot on my chip or is it not worth it?

any other suggestion would be good to, im a complete noob when it comes to cooling :rolleyes:
I wouldn't void the warranty just for applying AS5. Sure it helps but you wont get such a temp drop that you could OC further.

rewt
01-26-05, 07:26 AM
Take mustrum's advice.

As a side note, somewhere I read BFG Tech use AS5 on their cards from the factory. Dunno how true it is tho because I've never taken mine apart.

toby1
01-26-05, 07:29 AM
ok thanks for the advice look like i wont be getting any :)

rewt
01-26-05, 07:31 AM
It's still handy to have if you like building PCs. Good stuff to use on CPUs.

Morn
01-26-05, 08:15 AM
I doubt they are going to check if you applied AS5 if you want to use your warrenty.

s-flow
01-26-05, 09:00 AM
I`ll quote my self here..

With Artic Silver 5 on core and Antec Silver Formula 5 on the memory
I got a decent improvment.

Stock = idle 57/ load 82
NV Silencer (paste that come along) = idle 55/ load 77
NV Silencer (Artic cooling silicon) = idle 55/ load 76
NV Silencer (Artic Silver 5) = idle 52/ load 68

I used a fairly thick layer on the core and the same amount on the memory
and I tightened the screws hard to get decent contact.

These results is at fanspeed 50% in 2D and 80% in 3D.

:)

EDIT: I added one 80mm low-rpm papst case fan to move air out of
my case.. temps now= idle 50/ load 64

Im quite happy with it. :)

Tr1cK
01-26-05, 10:35 AM