PDA

View Full Version : raising 3d vgpu


gram_vaz
01-26-05, 11:06 PM
will upping the vgpu help me oc? i'm currently stuck at 390mhz for core.

also, will it help me in unlocking? when i use rivatuner to unlock i get a weird shadowing effect on the screen with certain areas in games and i also get white dots.

look what omniextreme tells me about my bios. what can i safely raise 3d vgpu to? and why can't i edit memory timings?

http://img174.exs.cx/img174/8739/untitled6wx.jpg

john19055
01-26-05, 11:18 PM
Yes it can help you overclock farther, but in the long run it is not worth it,because alot of people that have done this found in a few months their card went out,IMO I would not do it just overclock as much as you can with default voltage.

MUYA
01-26-05, 11:19 PM
It coould help you shorten your Graphics cards life. Be very careful when volt modding dude.

gram_vaz
01-26-05, 11:40 PM
k, it seems 6800gts use 1.2v for 3d. why is that? 6800nu are basically nerfed 6800gts so why does 6800nu use more vgpu for 3d?

[edit] it seems omniextreme was reporting wrong voltages. using nbitor to mod.

hypertek
01-27-05, 12:50 AM
your smoking crack dude! depending on some gts run on 1.3 and some on 1.4.. those bios editors are not exactly true, they are Third party, meaning someone outside of the chip manufacture had to learn all the stuff and try to use thier best judgement as to what is what..

editing a bios with the different versions of NiBiTor will show different voltages.

gram_vaz
01-27-05, 01:18 AM
i'm a madman! a madman i say!

well, i'm a little pissed off that my pipes wouldn't unlock without artifacting and my core oc would only reach 390mhz stable. i'm just trying to get all i can out of the card. i'm hoping with the vgpu to 1.4 artifacts when my pipes are unlocked will disappear or that i at least can get a higher core oc.

changed vgpu to 1.4 and got this, i don't know exactly what i'm looking at. before the vmod rivatuner showed core vid as 1.0 and now it's 2.0.

http://img199.exs.cx/img199/6844/untitled3vy.jpg

Roliath
01-27-05, 01:55 AM
heck mine says this
is that normal??
http://img187.exs.cx/img187/9567/image17jm.jpg

EciDemon
01-27-05, 01:59 AM
If you get artifacts with the extra pipes enabled you will still get artifacts if you volt mod.

There is no 100% guarantee that the soft mod will work on all cards as some of those locked pipes really dosent work.

Nu cards run at 1.2v despite what the bios editor say. I dont think its common that you volt mod nu cards.

390 core speed is not that bad either :)

I currently run mine at 385, just to be safe (Ive had it succesfully run faster but it felt unsafe to me)

Optimummind
01-27-05, 02:02 AM
I've had my BFG 6800GT OC flash-modified since the day I bought it and it's stable. My current speed is 435/1100.

I DL'ed the newest nVIDIA Ultra reference BIOS, modified the hex values using Hex Workship, and gave my card 1.4 V throughout all operational modes. The clockspeeds were set to 420/1100.

To get 435, I'm using Coolbits.

If you have good cooling, increasing the voltage shouldn't degrade your card a lot. Mine's been flashed since July of 2004.

gram_vaz
01-27-05, 03:49 AM
woopee!! got my core stable 420mhz. 420/800 oc. haven't tried the limit of my ram. i'm too afraid to oc my ram any further.

[edit] haha! spoke too soon. had to knock off 10mhz off the core but i'm still happy with 410mhz.

latinmike
01-28-05, 09:17 PM
I,m not doing all that I can do 435/1100 :cool: , with coolbits but I,m keeping it at 410/1100 :cool: that good enough for me. :rolleyes: :cool: