PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking with A8N-SLI


c3ham
01-27-05, 03:56 AM
hi i have been mucking around trying to overclock my system but i seem to have hit a wall with my fsb at 230 if i put it up anymore i loose my stability anyway im new to overclocking and i was wondering if any you Knowledgeable people could help me get over 230 stable

my current settings are
fsb : 230, core voltage : auto, HHT : x4, Memory 1T , 2.75v everyting else auto

any help would be great
cheers

jAkUp
01-27-05, 10:22 AM
Your lucky. I can't go over a 220fsb. Which BIOS are you running?

saturnotaku
01-27-05, 12:47 PM
Being able to run your memory at CAS 2 at an FSB that high is pretty damn good. You might be able to go further by loosening your RAM timings (probably gain an additional 5-15 by going to 2.5-3-3-7) and bumping up your CPU voltage though you have to make sure your cooling is up to the task.

c3ham
01-27-05, 04:53 PM
ok so my overclock is not so bad cool im running the latest beta bios 1004-001 but i could get that overclock with all the bios's i have tried which is most of them

and i just have the retail CPU cooler at the minute but im looking to buy a better one soon what do u recommend


cheers peeps :)

Dazz
01-27-05, 05:12 PM
Disable T1 CMD for T2 this tends to be the case for most people. SLi boards seem to have problems with high FSB @ T1, also you NEED a ATX 2.0 PSU to overclock decently trust me you really do!

c3ham
01-28-05, 04:01 AM
my psu is ATX 2.0

Dazz
01-28-05, 01:03 PM
Another thing you must update your BIOS with 1002 i could do 237MHz now with 1004 beta i am doing 300MHz x 5 = 1.5GHz HTT x 2 = 3GHz FSB

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=9935&stc=1

jAkUp
01-28-05, 10:12 PM
Where did you get the 1004 BIOS? It is not on ASUS's site

superbooga
01-28-05, 10:43 PM
Disable T1 CMD for T2 this tends to be the case for most people. SLi boards seem to have problems with high FSB @ T1, also you NEED a ATX 2.0 PSU to overclock decently trust me you really do!

Try changing the memory speed to DDR333. Going from 1T to 2T is a performance killer, upping your memory speed from, say 230 to 280 isn't going to make up for it.

superbooga
01-28-05, 10:44 PM
Where did you get the 1004 BIOS? It is not on ASUS's site

Try this thread:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=51328&page=3&pp=25

Dazz
01-29-05, 08:08 AM
I got mine from www.ASUS.de aka german site they tend to get all newest BIOSes first, Also the SLi boards don't like high FSB with T1 sadly :(
However the higher HTT makes the computer run a hell of alot faster :eek: could never really see it before as most boards crapped out at 2.2GHz but these are doing doing 3GHz :eek: Also i got my ADAT PC4800 today, yay great stuff so i can now do 300MHz 1:1 :)