PDA

View Full Version : Is 11.3v on the 12v rail a problem?


vambo
01-27-05, 05:53 AM
I suspect I know the answer, but Speedfan is reporting between 11.1,and 11.3 on the 12v rail.My 550 psu is a bog standard cheapo unit supplied with the case.Am getting freezes every hour requiring a reboot.The other values as far as voltage are a bit on the low side.
Specs
Sparkle 6800GT.
ASUS A8V Deluxe.
IGB Kingston.
AMD 3500.
Suspect I need a higher end PSU.

gram_vaz
01-27-05, 05:57 AM
it shouldn't exceed +/-5% deviance.

Morn
01-27-05, 06:15 AM
Better to be over than under.

Filibuster
01-27-05, 07:51 AM
A quality power supply is always reccomended, but put a meter on it. Speedfan (not just Speedfan though) was telling me the same thing and it was actually 12.00V idle / 11.88V under load when read by a Fluke multimeter. Of course, if you are actually having lockups its definately worth checking (I wasn't, but it scared me).

Speedfan also told me my 5V was going up and down from 2.8V-6V...so who knows.

You also don't want to be over 12.6V or you risk damage that way too.

robhancock
01-29-05, 10:10 PM
Assuming the reading is accurate, 11.3V is definitely too low. Just say no to cheapo PSUs, especially with high-end graphics cards..

mustrum
01-30-05, 05:59 AM
Get a multimeter. Speedfan reports anything but correct data. I have 2V onmy 12V rail according to Speedfan. :D

Jwoc
01-30-05, 01:07 PM
I have the 6800GT (BFG). I was having trouble with studdering every 10 to 15 seconds, mostly with Joint Ops. BFG asked me to down load Everest and my 12v rail was around 11.5. They told me that was the problem. I tried 3 different power supplies and finally found the X Connect the only one to keep me over 12 and now no more problems. Good luck...

Starbuck
01-31-05, 12:23 AM
I agree with the above, my A8N-SLI reports 11.52 from the MB. My multimeter says 11.95 under full load. From my experience, don't ever trust what the MB says, measure for yourself prior to purchasing expensive replacement equipment or you might be fixing a problem that doesn't exist.

$n][pErMan
01-31-05, 01:13 AM
I use the program that came with my motherboard and it says 11.9v. If that helps :-p

hyakki
01-31-05, 04:39 AM
you need to use an external voltage reader as the mainboards build in voltage readouts arent always accurate,

john19055
01-31-05, 12:06 PM
I have found the voltage reading in the BIOS to be pretty right,but if you are looking in to getting a good power suppy ,IMO I would go with the OCZ power stream even the 430w OCZ is better than most all cheapo 500w no name brands.Plus you can ajust the 12v rail if needed.

Headbust
01-31-05, 04:11 PM
18 is a minimum for high range cards

vambo
02-01-05, 07:31 AM
Down loaded Everest.
It's reporting 11.90v on the 12v rail,switching between the two I still get 11.30v with Speedfan...go figure.
Will try the BIOS and a Meter.