PDA

View Full Version : My SLI Setups and some deep thoughts.

Pages : [1] 2

Veger
01-27-05, 10:32 AM
Hi all,

Just finished my two SLI rigs. Getting over 20K on 3dMark 03 on my main one, and on my office machine at my place of work is over 18K on 3dMark 03.

-->The reason for the two rigs is that I am a computer technician who tests this hardware for my customers, as we build high-end gaming, audio computers etc.. I have been doing this for over 5 years and have been working on computers for over 20 years. Way too long -- go crazy with this hardware. That is the only reason, one is sufficient. hehe<--

Pictures coming soon... :)

Hear are some issues that I have ran across with my main one so far:

1) Removing the pci-ex cards is a pain on the Asus board that is the only negative. You have to be very careful with those plastic locks, because with too much force you can break them, very flimsy.

2) Shimmering is present on certain games and resolutions, for ex. HL2 1680 x 1050 which is 16 x 10 the game moves up and down slightly with the Nvidia 67.66 beta drivers. with the 66.93 all is well. Still testing out games.

3) SLI setups do not like widscreen lcds (DVI). As certain resolutions such as 1680 x 1050 have this white line going from left to right at the very top of the screen. It hates 1680 x 900. Lower resolutions have no problems. Hopefully new drivers will fix this. Also SLI supports less resolutions than when you are not running in SLI.

4) Two 6800U and 6800GT are not that bad when it comes too being noisy, it is that dam ASUS fan on the south bridge I believe, man that thing sounds like someone is knocking on your head. 8000 RPM :eek:

5) The Asus board doesn't like having all the memory slots taken with the same memory. Itriedputting in 512 sticks in all of the slots that are the same for a total of 2gb but it just beeped at me - :(