PDA

View Full Version : Far Cry Help Me PLZ


saweetnesstrev
02-02-05, 06:52 AM
I try Enabling r_TexNormalMapCompressed 1 in console but it sends a tell??

also how do i enable Geometry Instancing :(

saweetnesstrev
02-02-05, 07:03 AM
I really would like to know :D sorry

saturnotaku
02-02-05, 07:12 AM
Bump 10 minutes after you post one more time and you will be gone. Dig?

saweetnesstrev
02-02-05, 07:13 AM
:( it was 11 mins sir! sorry!!

JaxMacFL
02-02-05, 09:45 AM
I try Enabling r_TexNormalMapCompressed 1 in console but it sends a tell??

also how do i enable Geometry Instancing :(



Don't forget the "\" at the beginning: "\r_texnormalmapcompressed 1"

Of course without the quotes.

macatak
02-02-05, 11:20 PM
I benchmarked Far Cry with that command enabled and the scores dropped by about2-3 seconds so i'm not sure if it helps in-game or not, try it yourself with this Utility, under the Specific tab you can enable/disable normalmapcompression http://www.hardwareoc.hu/index.php/p/news/cid/3/y/5851.html

Gentle
02-03-05, 12:57 PM
I was more impressed with the command...

\r_hdrrendering 7

Than the compressed thingy...

Also, geometry instancing is automatically enabled on Geforce6 series cards I believe. Might need a new(er) driver, but I think if you read the readme with the 1.3 patch (you do have the 1.3 patch, don't you?) it talks about it being enabled automatically...

Gentle

JaxMacFL
02-04-05, 10:35 AM
If you use the: 'r_hdrrendering 7' make sure the AF and AA in the nvidia control panel are set to 'application-controlled' and image settings set to 'high quality'. Also the in games video options, AA setting must be turned off and water setting set to 'ultra'. I found that a setting of 'r_hdrlevel 0.400000' vise 0.600000 eases the load on the graphics card some with negative quality hit.

s-flow
02-04-05, 11:11 AM
I was more impressed with the command...

\r_hdrrendering 7



Agree, absolutley fantastic!
Im playing the game for the 3rd time with HDR and having a
great time.

Gentle
02-04-05, 03:29 PM
If you use the: 'r_hdrrendering 7' make sure the AF and AA in the nvidia control panel are set to 'application-controlled' and image settings set to 'high quality'. Also the in games video options, AA setting must be turned off and water setting set to 'ultra'. I found that a setting of 'r_hdrlevel 0.400000' vise 0.600000 eases the load on the graphics card some with negative quality hit.

I don't need to worry about disengaging all the fluff stuff as I never enabled it to begin with. I just told it to run "High Quality" and all that and was good to go.
(I mean my machine isn't one I would use antialiasing on anyway...)

Gentle

macatak
02-04-05, 07:16 PM
Here's how the different levels of HDR affect the FPS on my setup:
HDR01: 47.23 fps
HDR02: 58.82 fps
HDR03: 47.17 fps
HDR04: 47.05 fps
HDR05: 46.92 fps
HDR06: 42.98 fps
HDR07: 42.83 fps
HDR08: 39.41 fps
HDR09: 39.39 fps
HDR10: 52.53 fps
HDR11: 52.28 fps

hypertek
02-04-05, 07:21 PM
hey whats the numbers do to HDR? I set mine on 7 but im getting around like 40fps like yours and not too happy with it.. but I love the graphics... should I set to 02 or 10 and still have the same graphics? i never messed with teh HDR too much besides puttin it on 7.

macatak
02-04-05, 07:39 PM
Each number applies various effects of HDR, you'll just need to experiment to find the one that suits you. You could also try d/loading the Benchmark Utility(link is in my earlier post) and running the different levels of HDR, the Utility has an option where it takes a screenshot at the end of a benchmark when using HDR so you can compare images. Here's a comparison between HDR2 and HDR7
HDR2: http://img237.exs.cx/img237/9005/hdr21ie.jpg

HDR7: http://img203.exs.cx/img203/654/hdr77jo.jpg