PDA

View Full Version : Unclear about Memory timings and Multiplier


zoomy942
02-02-05, 10:42 AM
I am getting my new Epox board today, and i have seen around the web that i should set it to 1T memory timing. i have never seen that before, but it may be somethiing i already know and this is just a different term. what is 1T or 2T talking about?

Also, i have never had a mobo where i could change the multiplier on my cpu. is it still like the old days where the multiplier is locked? or can i change it?

OCForums_Osirus
02-02-05, 02:12 PM
1T and 2T is really based on system stability.
1T is for performance in benchmarking, generally will net you higher memory bandwidth marks.
2T is for everyday use, and not having to worry about high performance causing unstability, will also net you lower bandwidth marks.

With my system for example, if I run 2.5-4-8-4 1T in Sandra, at a CPU speed of 2.6ghz (note this is using 1:1), Ill net on average 7.5gb/sec
if I run 2.5-4-8-4 2T at 2.6ghz (1:1) Ill net on average 6.8-6.9gb/sec.

Multiplier changing on the motherboard is only allowing you to go down. I see your using a 3000+ with has a multi of 9x, you cant go up, only down. people set the multi lower to test out how high you can get the mhz on the ram. so if your running 9x289, your CPU speed will be 2,601mhz, to achive the same with a 8x, you would have to run 8x325.

Hope this explains it for ya!

zoomy942
02-02-05, 02:14 PM
beautiful, no i get whats going on. I'm not as much of an overcdloker as i used to be since i realized how m,uch i LOVE AMD Cool and Quiet.

i'll play with the stepping thing when i get my epox up and running tonight.

Is it to be expected that my system will be unstable at 1T? and it doesnt hurt the hardware does tit? just makes it unstable...

OCForums_Osirus
02-02-05, 02:29 PM
well that all depends, if you wanted to run at the stock speed of 1.8ghz, with 1:1 (200mhz:200HTT) at the timings of 2.5-3-5-3 1T, then no it wont make it unstable. It only makes it unstable at high memory speeds. Like I cant run at 312x9 at 3-4-8-4 1T, but I can run 312x9 at 3-4-8-4 2T, and have it stable. One thing to note though, if you plan to overclock at all, and you go above 250HTT, make sure you set your HT to 3x.

keith33
02-02-05, 05:24 PM
I stably run my system at 1T because the performance increases are HUGE. I've never gotten a memory error of any sort or applications crashing with 1T. You're better off to relax the timings and stay on 1T than tighten them and go to 2T. Or you can just buy some really tight ram and run 2-2-2-5-1T like me :D BTW, not overclocking yet.

Nutty
02-02-05, 05:29 PM
Anyone know where the 1T 2T command option is in the NF7-S bios? Dont recall ever seeing it. Though my ram says it should be at 1T anyway..