PDA

View Full Version : Hammer to hold 100 million transistors! WOOT!


ReDeeMeR
11-27-02, 06:15 PM
link (http://news.com.com/2100-1001-975510.html?tag=fd_top)

Wo0t! wo0T!

StealthHawk
11-28-02, 12:26 AM
ok, the CPU with 1MB cache, obviously a server version, is ~100 million transistors. how many transistors is a "normal" consumer Hammer then?

ReDeeMeR
11-28-02, 10:38 AM
It says they both wil use up to 100m transistors, but the server chip(Opteron) will have 1MB of cache, I wonder if it'll be possible to make Opteron as a gaming chip?

thcdru2k
11-28-02, 11:26 AM
no only the 1mb cache hammer will have 100 mill transistors

styles-T
11-28-02, 03:46 PM
yes but can this still be used for desktop/gaming purposes??

StealthHawk
11-29-02, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by !plonk*
yes but can this still be used for desktop/gaming purposes??
of course it can. but it will come with a hefty price premium, like the Athlon MPs compared to normal Athlons.

actually this 1 MB cache Hammer is like the high end of the server part, if i'm not mistaken. meaning, that a more accurate price descrepancy would be like a 512K cache Hammer as an Athlon MP.

StealthHawk
11-29-02, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by ReDeeMeR
It says they both wil use up to 100m transistors, but the server chip(Opteron) will have 1MB of cache, I wonder if it'll be possible to make Opteron as a gaming chip?

no, it doesn't say that they will both have up to 100m transistors. where did you read that? The 1MB version--the chip that will contain 100 million transistors--will mostly be sold into servers and be marketed under the Opteron name, sources say. A smaller version with 256KB or more of cache and an integrated memory controller will be marketed to desktops under the Athlon 64 name.

it is clear that the 1MB version has 100 mill transistors. and it implies with no doubt that the consumer Hammer has less.

ReDeeMeR
11-29-02, 06:35 PM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
no, it doesn't say that they will both have up to 100m transistors. where did you read that?

it is clear that the 1MB version has 100 mill transistors. and it implies with no doubt that the consumer Hammer has less.


nm lol :p

Feanor
12-06-02, 12:50 AM
Originally posted by !plonk*
yes but can this still be used for desktop/gaming purposes??

Umm, that would have been like asking "Can you use a Pentium II Xeon for desktop/gaming purposes, vs a more standard PII"? (Well in it's day.) Of course it can, adding more cache doesn't mean the CPU is using a different instruction set architecture or would require a recompile for the software to run. If the program is compiled to run on one, it will run on the other. x86-64 is x86-64 whether one has 256 KB, 512 KB, or 1 MB of L2 cache.

Uttar
12-07-02, 07:01 AM
I wonder what's the logic/cache ratio on this CPUs... Probably around 85% cache?


Uttar