PDA

View Full Version : Lighting defect in Half-Life 2


muaddib
02-09-05, 03:49 PM
Hello.

Recently I was playing HL2 to test some new settings I applied, stabillity etc...
I came across with a door while my flashlight was on and I noticed some kind of an IQ interruption (attached to post).

It happens only on certain textures in the game.

What could it be?
- 3DAnaylze interference?
- RivaTuner DX/Texture options? (I ticked all of the boxes for DX7/DX8+ options)
- Drivers? (don't think so because I tried both 71.80, 67.66, still no go)
- Too high clocks (VERY unlikely)

Please help me out on this.
Thanks! :afro2:

TierMann
02-09-05, 03:56 PM
Looks like what you have there is an ad banner problem ;)

That link goes to a banner. Maybe you can't link directly to an image on that server.

Edit: Oops. You fixed it allready :)

muaddib
02-09-05, 04:06 PM
Yeah I know (annoying server).
So I attached it to the post.
Any ideas?

Gentle
02-09-05, 04:08 PM
That looks like the lower quality shaders...

What video card do you have?

Gentle

muaddib
02-09-05, 04:16 PM
6800GT.

What do you mean by Low Quality Shaders?
So maybe I should turn off 3DAnalyzing?

saturnotaku
02-09-05, 04:20 PM
So maybe I should turn off 3DAnalyzing?

You shouldn't have needed to run it in the first place. HL2 will automatically detect the 6800 GT as a DX 9 card and run the appropriate code path.

Gentle
02-09-05, 04:21 PM
Why are you using that program with a 6800GT?

Gentle

muaddib
02-09-05, 04:36 PM
To force Low Precision Shaders, over the Steam forums they said it would help.
So I guess I should've asked the masters here, I'm uninstalling that prog rightnow.

GamerGuyX
02-09-05, 04:48 PM
I'm uninstalling that prog rightnow.

You don't have to uninstall it. Just don't use it with Half-life 2. 3DAnalyze is actually a pretty good app as long as you know what to use it for.

ViN86
02-09-05, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by hombre:
To force Low Precision Shaders

just wondering, if you want to force low precision shaders, then why are you complaining about the lighting?? :confused:

einstein_314
02-09-05, 08:41 PM
To force Low Precision Shaders, over the Steam forums they said it would help.
So I guess I should've asked the masters here, I'm uninstalling that prog rightnow.

Maybe I'm missing something but why on earth would you force low precision shaders on a 6800GT?!?! :confused: What did they say it would help fix?

Gentle
02-10-05, 02:58 PM
Hombre,

Can you tell us what kind of problem is happening with Half-Life 2?

Also, please list your specifications.

(Note, if you have less than 768meg of system ram, I have something to say to you...)

Gentle

muaddib
02-10-05, 03:00 PM
I told you guys before, I enabled that because the dudes over SteamPowered forums said it would help!

I just uninstalled that program, reinstalled game files and config, and that problem is gone.

I have a 6800GT, with 1gig of RAM.

racingx
02-10-05, 03:07 PM
I told you guys before, I enabled that because the dudes over SteamPowered forums said it would help!

I just uninstalled that program, reinstalled game files and config, and that problem is gone.

I have a 6800GT, with 1gig of RAM.

That just goes to prove that half the Steam forum members are Crack Heads (crazy)
Glad you got it all sorted out.

muaddib
02-10-05, 04:16 PM
Thanks man.
You guys are great :cool:

crainger
02-11-05, 02:09 AM
I told you guys before, I enabled that because the dudes over SteamPowered forums said it would help!

I just uninstalled that program, reinstalled game files and config, and that problem is gone.

I have a 6800GT, with 1gig of RAM.

As far as I know, some thought it might improve performance on Gefore FX cards only.